We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

After our very warm welcome at reception we found our four day experience at The Langham was an extremely good one. Our Classic room was perfectly adequate and the bed would have to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in and we have travelled extensively internationally - great selection of pillows too. In line with many other hotels/motels of the same standard, we would like to have had a plunger coffee pot (or similar device) to make a real cup of coffee in our room, but it was not a major problem. Room service was very prompt and our meals were presented very well - the rose in the vase being a very nice touch. As guests in the Club Room one evening we were most impressed with the delicious, fresh and plentiful nibbles not to mention the choice of fine wines. Therefore we are looking forward to our our next stay at The Langham and it will definitely be on the 9th Floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romin-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,398
    1,054
    365
    97
    63
See reviews for
450
1,977
232
886
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

When you are a regular at a hotel chain, or particular hotel, it is always disappointing when that hotel changes the included services. It is always almost always the little things that build customer loyalty.
On arrival at the 1865 desk, (I am a Voyager member), on my most recent visit, I was informed that nightly turn down service (something I see as one of the differences between 4 and 5 star hotels), was now only included with club rooms and suites, the most expensive levels of accommodation. Was the room rate cheaper because of these changes?....No. Is the hotel now a mix of 4 and 5 star accommodation? ......not according to anything I have seen advertised.
I am not sure if these changes are across the Langham group, or just the Auckland Hotel, but as a regular guest I will consider my own loyalty to the brand when there are other very good 4 star hotels in Auckland, at cheaper rates.
When you change the services offered by a hotel you change the perceived value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we do value your loyalty as a frequent stayer and 1865 member, and we would like to explain the change in policy more fully. It came about as a result of our customer research, which showed a strong demand for free Wifi in preference to the turndown service. As the internet plays such a vital role for both our business and leisure travellers, the decision was made to introduce complimentary Wifi for all guest rooms, and to restrict the turndown service to our Club and Suite rooms. We genuinely hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

A very nice stay at The Langham. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I understand that it is a very classy / classic styled hotel but I think i'm more of a bright and modern styled room person. Very nice gym and the breakfast was certainly memorable! We've had the Langham breakfast in Melbourne before so we knew what we were in for but it was absolutely amazing, breakfast buffet, make sure you do it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

It was a very good stay, very comfortable and very nice. The bed is really the softest and most comfortable I've slept on or comparable to the very top hotels around the world. Service was quite good. Several times I've asked for toiletries though and they would just forget to bring it up to the room, but apart from that it was a good stay. Their restaurant seems to be very popular it was fully packed all mornings and evenings, but food there is absolutely delicious, so that explains it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNotes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
363 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Its a 4/5 star rated place and is pretty much what you expect. Well presented rooms/lobby. Our price inculded buffet breaffast at the 8 restaurant. The pool and spa was great as not much used. Parking is an issue, with very expensive public park next door. But bus stop right outside.

Room Tip: try the back facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Beautiful and classic hotel. A very comfortable bed, good sized room and lovely traditional furnishings. There is of course the hotel restaurant and 2 across the road but main restaurant areas are a little bit away, in saying this it was a 10 minute walk to Queen St which was very convenient and many more options around that area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 nights here as a surprise for my girlfriends 21st, she was absolutely blown away, and I was very impressed, travelled the world and this was one of the best I've stayed in especially for the price!
We arrived in the amazing lobby and where immediately upgraded, bit of a fuss around paying cash, but cleared up quickly!
We where greeted with a harp player by the elevator bank, and 'English tea' being served, all out little finger up and cakes on the tiered trays.
The rooms where great, although a touch on the small side, hate to think what the smaller one we'd been upgraded from would be like!
The black out curtains work, which is rare! The super king was just that, super and fit for a king, 1000 thread count sheets, down pillows, the works.
Bathroom wasn't spectacular, but the black marble everywhere was.
We had room service for breakfast, madly expensive but worth it, all the little jams, and the eggs where properly poached, toaster brought up so the English muffins where warm!
The spa, Oh my god the spa! The sauna, snail shower, icing station, and the swimsuit dryer was a cool touch!
Concierge service was impeccable, and we where given a free late checkout.
This is a great hotel, and my girlfriend will forever remember her stay here!
The atmosphere was a little "try to be fancy" like everyone there where doing the same thing we where, but that's hardly a bad thing.

Location isn't great for walking especially from town to there and it's very close to a bad strip in Auckland, but you won't want to leave your room or the spa anyway so that's not really a problem!

Completely recommend, and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing