We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SPA BUT THE HOTEL DIDN'T QUITE DELIVER..”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was treated to a night at the Langham and a beautiful Polynesian Spa. The hotel itself was a little disappointing. The staff were friendly and very efficient but my room was not ready until nearly 4.30 pm. Whilst waiting I enjoyed the heated pool which is great, as is the spa pool. The room was a little shabby and could do with a refurb. The movie I wished to watch "wasn't available" as I was eventually told after trying three times and then phoning reception. I had dinner at the Palm Court. The food was good but cold by the time it was served and after my main course, the table setting was whipped away. I was not offered dessert nor coffee, although I was offered another glass of wine. I had breakfast in my room which was good and delivered promptly. My experience at the Chuan Spa was faultless - the treatment, the atmosphere, the staff - well done.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,488 - 2,494 of 4,442 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night and we had a fantastic time! From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and the staff were highly efficient. We stayed in the Executive Room which was lovely. The bed was super comfortable, the room was clean and we had easy wifi access - dreamy! We also dined at Eight which was fantastic with an amazing selection of food and used the pool and steam room facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again if I had the chance! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noonie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at the Langham Auckland a couple of weeks ago for business and although I had a comfortable stay it lacked the sophistication I expect from the Langham brand.

My room was clean and well decorated, as per a traditional style Langham hotel, and I appreciated the efficiency of my delicious in-room dinner, however the lighting in the room was dim and not acceptable. As I was staying at the hotel for business I needed to work and 5 lamps and a hall light doesn't really cut it.

Breakfast was good, lots of options, and service from the staff was acceptable for this type of establishment.

Location was great for where I needed to be. Unfortunately it was raining pretty hard when I was there so I didn't get to venture too far away from the hotel in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellergirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your in-room dining experience and breakfast. We are making plans to refurbish our Classic Rooms and will be addressing the lighting issues when this takes place. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4nights. The hotel is located slightly away from queens street where the main shopping belt is. However, free hotel shuttle bus is provided to get to and return from queens street. Do take note that the bus runs on a schedule (ask for the time table from the checkin counter) and have only about 11-12 seating capacity. Staff are friendly here and they try to address your last name from the moment you step out of your airport transport. Overall, the stay was a pleasant one. If I have to find any fault, then it is the bed. Had a king size bed, which actually is made up of two smaller beds. That's fine but the mattress is too soft. You get those sinking feeling when you sleep on it. May not appeal to people with back problems.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms on the taller building. It has up to 10 level. Otherwise the highest floor is only 4le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank General_koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days, it was nothing short of exceptional! The whole Hotel has a very luxurious feel to it and the outdoor pool was amazing, our son particularly enjoyed it! The food was great, the staff were friendly and attentive.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Klaire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is nice enough, but after extensive travels around the world, I would stay elsewhere if you have a debit card. - I have not used a credit card for over 7 years - and filled 3 passports in that time staying at many hotels, but The Langham Auckland is the only one that I have encountered that cannot refund money held as a security when I checked in against a debit card. It has been over a month, and after numerous emails (and wasted time) they still have not refunded my security deposit. I had to provide my bank street address, and full account details as they claim they were unable to refund a debit card, which I have never heard of at any other hotel in the world - including others in NZ. If you use a credit card, I'm sure you wont have this problem, but like so many other people, if you only use debit cards, do not stay here!!

Room Tip: Most rooms view a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you Andrew for your comments. We can reassure you that we are making every effort to have the security refunded. We do have a policy in place that we do not place a pre-authorisation on a debit card as we are aware it holds funds against the client’s checking account. We sincerely apologise this policy was not followed in your case. We have addressed this directly with those involved to ensure it does not happen again. We have also been in contact with your bank, who are the ones holding the deposit, and have requested its release on several occasions. We will be emailing you shortly to discuss how we can best resolve the matter. Once again, our apologies for the delays you have experienced.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel as part of a conference. The hotel is located outside the downtown area but the hotel provides a great shuttle bus service complementary for guests. The shuttle bus runs to the city centre on a half hourly to hourly frequency. I would have preferred to walk the 15 minutes to the citycentre but the weather wasn't very good for being outdoors.

The staff were helpful although I found some staff knew much more than others regarding logistics like where the closest supermarket is or how long it would take to walk somewhere.

The rooms are very clean and the food served throughout the conference was of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zomp416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $118 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing