We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Langham sets the standard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Langham sets the standard!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for a University Graduation, treated my family to the Langham. All the staff went out of their way to look after us. My parents were very impressed and would stay there again. A big thank you to Judy (Club Lounge) and Carno (1865 Manager) who went out of her way for a smooth graduation. Had dinner at Eight, this is a must do and is an excellent experience. As always the Langham sets the standard for 5 star service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,578
    1,126
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,096
253
972
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

In a word overrated - I stayed 2 nights with work and on arrival was upgraded to an "Executive" room which was clean, but small. quite tired and very dark with large furnishings really dominating the room. Bed was ok, but pillows were thin and rock-solid.

With an interconnecting door in the room, I could hear everything that happened in the next room, including the pleasant noise of someone watching adult movies 24x7 and being intimate/belching/passing wind etc!

You could also hear anyone in the corridor (with a large gap under the door) - at 11pm one night the guy in the room opposite decided to go nuts, swearing at anyone & everyone passing - eventually after half an hour security turned up and persuaded him to go back into his room. I've felt safer in $50 a night American motels!

Overall staff were great and very professional, and the food/drink good (but very expensive).

Although The Langham seems to have this "posh" reputation it seems to attract more than it's fair share of troublesome guests - I can't see why you wouldn't pay $70 a night less (and pay half the amount for parking) and stay at The Heritage / Rydges / SkyCity etc which are much more pleasant overall.

Room Tip: Don't get an interconnecting room if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feetup619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we do apologise for the noise issues you experienced during your stay with us – the hotel can be busy at times. We would like to reassure you that we take our guests’ security very seriously and make every effort to ensure a safe environment. Wherever possible, we are also happy to accommodate requests for a change of room. For future reference, our Club Rooms are located on the upper levels of the hotel, and these are a good option for guests who prefer added privacy and quietness.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed a weekend at the Langham to attend a conference. The hotel is very much decorated in an ornate European style - no sleek modern sophistication here. The buffet breakfast is incredible, with everything you can imagine on offer. The service from all staff was very attentive without being obtrusive.
The lobby restaurant offers high tea, and although I did not partake, the tea and scones I did have were divine.
Our only complaint would be that our room had a distinct damp or musty odour. We didn't complain, but did leave the window open which assisted greatly. I suspect it is a plumbing issue, and the bathroom could do with a revamp.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is truly lovely. However the highlight for us was the restaurant. It is a buffet but you can pick out your items and they prepare it immediately for you. For instance, if you want a steak, or fish, you choose from the uncooked display and they will cook it to your satisfaction. They offered many unusual items as well. We loved it! The public areas on the main floor were very busy, perhaps too much so. They were often filled with people waiting to depart to the airport after checking out---so a bit noisy etc. We were concerned about the location at first but they have a free shuttle service that takes you to the main shopping area and from there it is quite walkable to the pier or other close spots. We enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I booked to stay at the Langham through the Wotif website for a special weekend away with my daughter . Having stayed at the Langham on a previous occasion I was really looking forward to sharing the luxurious surroundings with her.
On arrival we were greeted with very professional 5 star service. Our bags which we had left at the hotel earlier in the day had been transferred to our room to await us. Unfortunately things started to go downhill from here. Upon entry to our room on the 3rd floor we both noticed a definite smell which to us seemed like stale smoke.
I decided to ring reception to see if there was another room we could be transferred to. The reception staff were very polite and apologetic and said that the hotel was fully booked but we could possibly be moved to another room later in the evening after other guests had checked out. We decided that this was a good option. Shortly after the phone call we received a visit from a supervisor of the household staff who proceeded to speak very rudely to us stating that it wasn't a smoke smell and it was just old hotel smell! After quite a bit of debate she eventually offered to get a machine to put airfreshner into the room which we accepted, but both felt that it actually didn't make a lot of difference.
We spent the next hour using the spa and swimming pool which was very pleasant, but as we were going out for the evening we ran out of time to pack up all our belongings to move to another room so ended up telling reception we would just stay in our room as it would be too late to change when we returned.
We had a room with 2 single beds which were comfortable but I felt quite disgusted to notice the following morning that both beds were made up with just a sheet covering the mattress!! And there was black fluff in some of the creases on the mattress. I feel it is most unhygienic not to have mattress protectors on the beds and only wish I had noticed before sleeping on it.
I informed reception of my concerns on checkout and was informed the beds usually do have mattress protectors. Surely in a 5 star hotel these sort of mistakes shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we would like to apologise that the service you received was not up to our usual high standard. It is always our aim to treat every guest with respect and politeness. We would like to reassure you that it is our policy to have mattress protectors on the beds, and we are sorry this was overlooked. We do hope we will be able to welcome you and your daughter again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Love this hotel in Auckland. Never stay in hotel which can provided the same feelings and comfort as this hotel.
My first feeings since I step in my room - wow, very cozy and so cool.
Awesome bedding - slept like a baby, very helpful staff, good location in city.

Room Tip: any rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank August W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Its starts with good old fashion service with the porter opening your car door. My room wasnt ready so they took me to the 10 floor where there were complimentary light snacks and drinks. The decor is old fashion and this flows through to the rooms. They turn your bed while you are at dinner and leave a mint for your return. It has an air of swanky old fashion business types but if you dont mind that I wouls recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing