We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRULY 5 STAR IN EVERY RESPECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“TRULY 5 STAR IN EVERY RESPECT”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The LANGHAM certainly knows how to treat people. The old saying about going the extra mile does not apply as all the staff seem to have been trained to go an EXTRA 10 MILES AND MORE. We have over the years tried nearly all of the so called "FIVE STARS " in Auckland and I would never ever return to some of them ITS A NO BRAINER The LANGHAM WINS HANDS DOWN IN EVERY RESPECT. We've just come back home & we're off back up again on the 2nd of May. THATS HOW GOOD IT IS !!!!! THANKS LANGHAM FOR EVERYTHING. RUSSELL & MORAIG BRIERLEY, TAUPO.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you Russell and Moraig for your warm words. It’s always a pleasure to welcome back our regular guests and we are delighted that we are able to make your visits to Auckland so special. We shall look forward to welcoming you again in May.
All the best
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    1,088
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,047
243
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Location is decent, so is the lobby, but the rooms and bathroom have an old dated field.
Breakfast had a good selection and staff were pleasant.
Not a bad choice in the CBD, but needs some upgrades to the decor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The only downside to this hotel was the location, which was a bit away from the waterfront and up some hills. This was compensated in part by a shuttle, but not ideal.

The hotel itself was fine though, good size rooms and excellent staff. Pool and spa were very good (if surprisingly far from the lifts).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I'm here at The Langham for a second time in the same week, so it clearly did something right. Helpful and friendly staff, good service and good facilities. Rooms are nice too, a little dated for the price of the hotel but comfortable, clean and with good beds for a good nights sleep. What stops this hotel getting five starts for a 'brilliant' review is my dining experiences here. A meal was arranged throughout my first stay last week by the concierge, but he booked us straight into the fine dining restaurant without mentioning the other dining option (Eight) and the sort of food on offer there. Whilst the fine dining experience was nice, it was also incredibly expensive, the a la carte portions were unusually tiny (I've dined in many a similar restaurant) and the food took up to an hour to arrive, two hours for the entire meal to be served. Pretty yes, pretty sparse? Definitely. Almost $30 for a bite sized neck of lamb and an unnecessarily artistic smear of mashed potato. My parents had flown all the way from the UK, I was surprising them with dinner at The Langham, it was supposed to be such a special evening but was ruined by a very disappointing overly priced dinner. This is a chef trying too hard for a Michelin Star, producing pretty food that would need to go a lot further to satisfy any appetite. The bill with drinks was almost $300NZ, but we left the hotel SO disappointed, my surprise sort of ruined and went for some more food elsewhere. On the first morning of my second visit today, breakfast was equally disappointing in Eight; it was over-facing, greasy, the dregs of the buffet with a hefty $40 price tag. The Langham is letting itself down with food nowhere near the quality required to justify all other aspects of the hotel and the inflated prices. With a blown surprise and a few dollars lighter having spent plenty and tipped the concierge, tonight I will be eating out. Such a shame, this hotel has so many things right, but 'fine' dining here blew a big event and disappointed me at breakfast, surely there are no two greater things to get right than that.

Room Tip: As not to be road facing if possible, secondary glazing is pretty good but there are quieter rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTraveller1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and service and for your feedback about our restaurants. We do apologise that you were not made aware of the option to dine at Eight as an alternative to our finer dining at Palm Court. We shall continue to encourage our staff to make guests aware of all their dining options, to assist them in making their decision.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great stay in one of my favourite hotels, consistently good - great service. Rooms are well furnished, comfortable beds, quiet location. The hotel is centrally located - only 5-10 minutes by taxi to Newmarket.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
774 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked through our travel agent, and on recommendation. Maybe this was our mistake and we would have had a better welcome had we booked independently. The receptionist was "sniffy" that we had a voucher and was over-officious and blunt. Not a great start to our stay. Concierge was helpful but his English was hard to understand, but the door staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. Our room was large but dated, though the turn done service was great. However, we found long black hairs in the bath, the basin and on the side in the bathroom - had it been thoroughly cleaned after the previous guest? Overall the hotel tries to be too American, but without the American welcome or attention to detail, but that maybe is its main cliental? It has huge public spaces, two expensive restaurants and a sports bar where food is more modestly priced, but is rough, noisy and unwelcoming. We ate in Eight on the Sunday evening, since finding a decent restaurant open on Sunday in Auckland is almost impossible, and found the food excellent, but at over $90 each for a buffet with no drinks, it should be. Serving staff were perfect. The Langham is at the top of Queen Street, very off centre, and whilst there are excellent and inexpensive buses into the CBD and areas of interest, K Street is itself seedy and unwelcoming, with people sleeping rough just around the corner from the hotel. The same member of staff checked us out after our three night stay - again very dry and curt: she stated that she was from Berlin, and needs to lighten up. A real shame that The Langham neither lived up to our travel agents recommendation nor the reviews. Previously we had stayed at The Stamford, a central location and an upgrade to a club room. Guess which hotel we would return to?m

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. It is certainly our intention that every guest is warmly welcomed and farewelled, so our apologies if this was not your experience. Providing outstanding service is important to us, and we do have training programmes in place for our staff to encourage them in this endeavour. We have also passed on your feedback to our front office and housekeeping teams.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice size room. Bath with shower en suite. Rooms were very clean. Turndown service with chocolate nice touch. Staff was terrific from front desk to concierge. Free shuttle to and from hotel to harbor area at designated times--save walk back up a fairly steep hill.

Breakfast was expensive and no coffee machine in room, but lots of good coffee shops within easily walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintravel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing