We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Langham Hotel, Auckland”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is truly a 5 star hotel. The decor is "old fashioned grandeur", just splendid. The staff are friendly, professional and provide first class "old fashioned" service. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. You could actually open the windows to get some fresh air (something you can't do in a lot of hotels). We dined at the Palm Court restaurant in the hotel and had a superb meal. We will always stay here on future trips to Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,602 - 2,608 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

MY partner and I treat ourselves to a week at the Langham once a year usually we try to catch a concert or show while in Auckland too. I love staying here. The customer service is excellent and staff are always helpful. We often order room service which is always delivered on time and piping hot. The menu changes often and it is always a goal of ours to try everything because it is so good. Bar staff are well educated in wine and other beverages.
We always use the pool ( which is always clean as is the sauna) Service is always with a smile. The free shuttle is great for a spot of retail therapy too.They drop off and pick up. I always feel pampered and rejuvinated after a week here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzstar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here in the honeymoon suite and were upgraded to one of the best suites. The customer service was excellent by all staff, the lobby staff, the turn down bed service, the executive lounge staff on level 10....all brilliant. We thought the bed and furnishings were great but the hotel itself looked tired and needed a face lift.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

It is always a pleasure to stay here , they have the most comfortable beds out of all the hotels we stay in . Food in club lounge is great with some stunning wines .
This hotel really is home from home and as always we look forward to our next stay .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Langham in Auckland. From the initial greeting of the staff, to the concierge and everyone we dealt with the service was exceptional. The hotel is located somewhat of a distance from where most of the shopping and night life are located but provides a shuttle service that runs frequently and is exceptionally helpful. I'd like to cite an example of the level of service one receives at the Langham. We were downtown and heading to the shuttle when I tripped over a curb. By the time we reached the shuttle I was bleeding on my cheek and my nose. The driver was concerned and asked if I wanted a doctor to meet us at the hotel. I said it wasn't necessary. When we got to the hotel, two employees were there with a first aid kit and gave me an ice pack to use and then two hours later, they called our room to find out if everything was alright and was there anything else we needed. In addition to the service, the rooms are very pleasant, the ambiance of the hotel is very inviting, and the public areas are well designed. I would strongly recommend the Langham and if I am ever back in Auckland, the Langham will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacaconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent 3 nights here. It is a very classy hotel and the people that work there are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not big but they are very nicely appointed. Ours was on the 2nd floor down the hall from the gym and spa----perfect location. It was nice that the spa was open until 10 PM---great for visiting after a busy day in the city. The rooftop swimming pool was refreshing. We really appreciated the free shuttle service to the CBD. Easy to schedule and the driver was very prompt. Enjoyed dinner in the lobby dining area. great food and fast service. Would highly recommend if you want a bit of an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the big city but close enough to jump in when desired!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIAnnabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night and found the room to be quite comfortable. The lobby is beautiful. The staff are professional. Close enough to downtown, especially with the free shuttle. Highlight was the restaurant with 8 interactive stations and exotic items like kangaroo and ostrich cooked to order.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VM_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and good to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, Eight. We’ve made it our mission to source a wide selection of quality ingredients, and the range of international cuisines means there is always something for everyone to enjoy (even better when it’s cooked to order!). We shall hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $136 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing