We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for the third time, every time it is a pleasure to be there. Good service, quick front desk, bedrooms with everything U need etc. Will definitely be back.
Walking to the harbour down hill is a nice walk, uphill is a big battle!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,535
    1,111
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,068
250
956
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

stayed here one night on the 5 Star Fling package in a Executive room. the pool area was amazing, the bed was super comfy, breakfast was incredible. slight downsides was the TV in our room was really bad quality like took forever for the picture to come right when the channel was changed and it had a line through the screen (no biggie we werent there to watch TV!) and was ever so slightly disappointed with the Executive room, considering we paid more than the classic room it was very tiny, just had the absolute basic furniture and tiny oldish bathroom - would be surprised if the classic rooms are somehow more basic/tiny/empty - so i wouldnt personally bother getting an executive room again (unless i needed the free wifi!) Will definitely visit again thank you Langham Auckland!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Meg_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Five Star Fling – always one of our most popular packages. Apologies that your television wasn’t working properly. We always encourage guests to let us know if there’s any issue with a room, and we will do our best to address it. You’ll be pleased to hear we have just updated the televisions in the Executive Rooms on Level 7, and we have also introduced free internet for all our guests. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Decent location, nice hotel and amenities, very warm staff, but I'd stay at another 5-star hotel over this one for better value in the future (what you get for the price just doesn't jive for me)--like most of the 5-stars in the area, they charged for internet & parking ($40NZD a night!!), which drives me insane given the rates you are paying to stay there. Breakfast, thankfully, happened to be included in the room rate we had selected, and it was a fantastic spread that left nothing to be desired (freshly cooked eggs made to order, all the fruits and usual continental items, expresso coffee, and even a chocolate fountain (yeah, I know, no one eats that for breakfast, so I have no idea why they had it there, but it was cool anyway).

Note that there is a Wilson's Public Parking right behind the hotel that actually connects to their business center with much cheaper parking--the Valets will warn you about it because it's public parking and obviously a bit more risky than valet, but it's A LOT cheaper and we had no problems with our car, so I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed one night as guests for a black tie function also held at the Langham.

The turndown service was exceptional and went much further than the complimentary after-dinner mint. We had left the room earlier in the evening with our used shower towels draped wherever we thought they would dry before morning. On returning at the end of the evening all our bathroom linen had been replaced and the bins emptied of luggage tags, used boarding passes etc.
The staff, food, room and being made to feel special - everything about our short stay was the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyboomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived jet lagged from multiple flights from the East Coast of USA. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quite comfortable, the bathroom was well stocked with all the essentials, although the water temp in the shower could have been hotter.
The bottled water and candy each evening was a pleasant touch.
The Concierge, Roberta, could not have been more helpful. She is amazing- suggested 2 restaurants we tried and were very satisfied with both.
The location is a bit off the beaten path, but the free shuttle to the CBD is an excellent extra. Public transportation is just outside and easy to navigate to get around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Auckland, jet lagged, off a flight from UK via Hong Kong. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom had all we needed to freshen up and begin our holiday in New Zealand.

After a short walk around Auckland we decided to eat in the hotel - the international buffet option was excellent, with good cooking, but the quantity available defeated us. A single course from the equally appetising a la carte might have been a better choice.

Breakfast the following morning offered most international options and was, again, well cooked and presented.

We liked the Langham - and, having failed to pack everything, we impressed with their unstinting help in sending on our mislaid items to our next location on North Inland at no cost to us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend so it was very quiet. The hotel is not new but is very well kept, clean and has a nice atmosphere. During the weekend they serve a five o clock tea! We tried to have one on Sunday but were told that they ran out... :-(
Rooms have a normal size and comfortable and we enjoyed the chocolate at our bed every night.
There is a shuttle bus that takes you downtown every 30 min. Very useful.
We enjoyed our stay very much.
PS: had dinner at an Italian restaurant (I can't remember the name) but it is across the hotel and the meal was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing