We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with super comfy beds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good hotel with super comfy beds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Langham is a reliable choice for someone wanting a quality hotel in a city. Although the rooms are definitely ready for a makeover, the bed was without doubt the most comfortable I slept in throughout a two week tour of NZ.

The staff were very helpful and were most attentive to ensuring the needs of guests are met. The front desk staff were great with their restaurant recommendations and we certainly appreciated the access to free Wi Fi that is available to any guest who is a member of the Langham loyalty program. Rooms are clean although its time to shed shower curtains. They definitely date the rooms and really need to go.

This hotel would have been really beautiful in its day and is still absolutely fine, but it's time for the opulence of the foyer to extend to the rooms.

Be careful with room service as there is an additional $10 for delivery to your room. That's actually pretty ridiculous.

The bar in the lobby is gorgeous. We didn't have time for high tea but it looked divine. Had drinks before dinner though and it was really lovely. The shuttle bus is a great value add as it's about a $12 cab fare to the harbour from The Langham.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Langham for 5 nights. We loved the room, although it was near the elevator it was very quiet. The staff are great. Although it's not in the downtown area they have a shuttle which leaves every half hour and drops you downtown and then picks you up every quarter to and at every quarter after the hour.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on 6th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Almost everything was perfect about this hotel. The lobby area was grand and the staff welcoming. The rooms were very classy with beautiful colonial finishes and furnishings. We loved the high tea experIence. There was a free return shuttle taking you to the via duct region as well as the hotel is about a 20 minute downhill walk to the via duct. I'd prefer to use this as a few shady characters populate Queen street in the CBD after dark. There are other 5 star hotels in the CBD with better locations than the Langham but the shuttle makes up for this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was of a very high standard. Rooms were comfortable and roomy. Bar area was fine and served good bar snacks. Breakfast was varied and offered everything you might want.

Only complaint would be that it is a 25 minute walk (downhill) to the port area which is where you sort of want to be. However there was a good and cheap bus service back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osbourne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Should you visit again, please do ask about our complimentary shuttle service at the front office. It makes it nice and easy for our guests to travel to and from Auckland’s waterfront. We shall hope to welcome you back next time you stay in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I both enjoyed the Complimentary evening drinks and canapes at the Club Lounge - they offered quite a variety of wine and soft drinks. Both drink and canapes were in good quality and the Club Lounge was very comfortable.

I have been to the outdoor pool for a morning swim which was included in the package. I was fascinated that the pool was a heated with comfortable temperature and the water has been added with healthy chemical. I also went for their Outdoor Jacuzzi / spa. It made me feel completely relax especially enjoyed being massaged by the heated water coming in all directions from the massaging jets.

The room and the bathroom were nice with good hygiene. The double queen's size beds were comfortable and the bed sheets were clean.

My wife and I were happy to recommend to others that this is an excellent hotel in New Zealand. Our stay is unforgettable and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed relaxing in The Club Lounge - it really does add that extra degree of luxury! We heat our salt-water pool year-round to 38 deg C, to make sure it’s a comfortable temperature for our guests. It's a great option for unwinding after a busy day’s sightseeing. We shall hope to see you back again next time you visit Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Love staying here. This hotel is consistently awesome and makes me feel really special. Outstanding service which is hard to come by these days. finishing touches in the room are just lovely and make you feel they have thought about your every need. The rooms are such great value. I would stay here every time if I can. The bill is never cheap but it's worth it as you are treated so well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our room on the 5 th floor was a King and gracious in size. Service is excellent in the hotel. The gym is lacking but the spa was tremendous. There is a shuttle bus which runs free of charge every 30 minutes to the wharf. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing