We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old lady!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a great stay at this beautifull hotel,the staff were excellent and very helpfull.The buffet breakfast is like a feast and would be hard to match.The room and the bed was very good and the pillows were excellent.We will go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,713 - 2,719 of 4,370 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

If I could I would give this property 4.5 stars due to the great staff members in the Club Lounge and customer care. We booked the Chaun Spa Suite, a beautifully furnished suite with separate lounge,bedroom and good sized wardrobe as you walk in the room entrance. As this was a return visit celebrating our anniversary we were greeted with a lovely bottle of pinot noir, fresh fruit, chocolates, nuts and water which was most appreciated.. The furnishing are velvety plush and in the Serenity suite done in purple tones. The bathroom is spacious with a very large spa bath for a long deep soak. The special shower is very nice as well with the over head and body shower. But we did have some difficulty with the drain and the spa jets did not work for us in the spa bath. The other minor complaint would be the wooden floor is lifting next to the shower, I am sure due to water spilling where it should not. We did not have any problem, but I did make sure the shower door was properly closed.
The club lounge was great and we enjoyed some good canapés and wine for cocktail hour and a good breakfast. It was a nice place to sit and relax before going back to the suite. The service was really good and the wine pours were generous.
The pool area is one of the best in Auckland as it gets all day sun, has a large spa and nice deck loungers. We wished we could have used it more.
The spa is first class, our treatment very good and we made good use of the sauna, steam and ice bath in the changing areas.
Valet parking and a late check out at 1:00 was included in this package.
Easy check in and out. Nice little boutique in the lobby. We did not visit the restaurant on this visit.
We will return. As others have mentioned the service is professional and does help the quality of the stay as I know the other room types can be a bit on the small side and the bath and showers are not separate.

Room Tip: For a special occasion try the Chaun Spa Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Sometimes a great stay is not measured by how posh and perfect a place is, but by the seemlessness of your stay. Check in, concierge, room service and dining staff were all faultless, particularly the lovely chap at valet. Excellent buffet although not included in stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Got a fantastic 3 night rate through air New Zealand so not a single complaint taking that into account however I hesitate to say its a 5 star hotel. The staff are truly excellent and without their professionalism this would be a bit of a let down.
The bathroom is smallish; I hate the over bath shower curtain which wouldn't be out if place In a seedy motel. The towels were old and 1 had a rip. ( see photo).
The main room felt cramped and air con not very effective. Room is a bit dark even with every light on.
The outside of the building is a non descript 1970's looking building and they have tried to make it look old worldly inside and it actually works quite well but a good spruce up is urgently needed. The tv had a few problems now and again with "waiting for signal" for hours sometimes.
On the plus side, the shuttle to the cbd is great and very needed in this hilly area. Also as said, the staff are great and this alone is holding it all together.
I really thought it would be better and wanted to like it more.
Opposite the hotel is "da Vinci" restaurant and the hotel has a copy of their menu but don't take it as a recommendation; it's aweful and I really hope the Langham stop promoting somewhere so bad;
For a similar rate as I paid I would definitely return otherwise I would look elsewhere.
Also, we had a feral family with kids above our room with very loud banging. On the second day of putting up with that I complained to the hotel and it stopped within 5 minutes so thank you for that

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay and it is good to know the staff were proactive in dealing with your issue. If you are looking for a competitive rate, we do have some great special offers on our website under ‘rooms’. We also offer a best online rate guarantee to ensure that our guests can enjoy the best possible rate when they book direct with us. We hope you will consider staying again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a very good stay here five years ago and so had the confidence to book stays here at both the beginning and end of our holiday. In many respects it is still a very good hotel, but in others rather off its best.

We booked the hotel's limousine for the ride in from the airport and that was an excellent tonic at the end of a wearying flight. Our executive room was very similar to the standard room and had views towards the high rise business centre, interesting but not beautiful.

The main difference we noted was in the revamped dining room, which we found to be noisy and rather full at weekends. The price of meals pushed them towards 'poor value for money' as the quality was not exceptional, although the choice was reasonable. The hotel seems to be catering for a different market to previous.

The bedroom is very well equipped and furnished, although not spacious. The bathroom is something of a disappointment with a smallish bath which has a hard raised rim; the ventilation was poor. A couple of minor issues were quickly and efficiently dealt with.

City centre parking is always expensive and the valet parking at 40 dollars per night in an open car park compared unfavourably with the adjacent multi story car at 25 dollars.

The cost of services and food seemed to me to be too much to the fore and could have been more discretely handled. I know that this is not a charitable institute, but I found the approach off putting.

It remains a good hotel, but for me, off its best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffrey_carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Langham is like an old friend - always great to see each other time away. The Langham is that friend with the best service and the most comfortable rooms that seemed to be design for the comfort of you. Again, Reception was a friendly breeze to a clean wonderful executive room. Its the second time my mother has stayed just down the hall from me and the Langham always makes sure we have a hoot. This time I tried the pool which is part of the spa. I was surprised - it was actually really cool and quite a sanctuary on top of the hotel. Love there breakfast as one of the best but this time service was a little pushy, brisk and then clumsy. The food is always great and get there before 8.30am and the crowds hit. Will def.be back!!!

Room Tip: Get an executive room - always a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sastudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was very pleased with my three nights at the Langham, mainly due to the professionalism and helpfulness of the hotel staff. My "classic" room was spacious and comfortable if a little dark and the bed was pleasingly firm but with a nice feather mattress topper. Bathroom is a little small for a top class hotel. Location of the hotel ensures some exercise if you plan to walk to the main shopping street or Viaduct Harbour due to the topography of the city, although there is a shuttle bus service if that presents a problem.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $139 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing