We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Luxury :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Luxury :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Every time we stay at the Langham we feel special and pampered, some of that is to do with my 1865 membership (which I highly recommend) but even with out that it is just such a nice place to stay!

There is also a free shuttle down town and the food standard is incredible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,455
    1,068
    377
    98
    63
See reviews for
462
2,017
238
906
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked the Langham in Auckland for a short business trip on the basis of my stay in the Langham in Melbourne and was not disappointed. The Langham beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel anywhere in the world. The service was very good and the room was spotlessly clean. Some reviews of this hotel regard the rooms as dated, but I have always preferred my hotels in the grand older style, marble bathrooms and all.
The amenities are a treat, being those used in the Chuan Spa on level 2.
The first night I stayed the hotel was full of groups of teens in town for a Rhianna concert, so there was some concern it might be a noisy night, but I didn't hear a thing. Must be those dated thick walls!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco1974255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here on 2 separate occasions during a tour around NZ and this was my favorite hotel. Rooms are beautiful and large with classy decor. Staff couldn't help you more. Reception/lounge area is impressive and the little bar does high tea. The spa is fantastic with a big outdoor jacuzzi and heated pool, plus steam room/sauna & ice shower, with rope and slippers in your wardrobe. Hotel is situated next to a street full of Japanese restaurants - the best sushi I have ever tasted! And carrying on downhill, you reach the busy shopping area of Auckland. Perfect hotel for business of leisure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel to stay in. Fantastic spa facilities although you have to book ahead if you want a massage as they book out. King size bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable. The shuttle is fantastic. Don't leave the "make up my room" sign on your door though because it will be mistaken for "do not disturb" and your room will not be ready after you've been out all day. Love the Langham. It's fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoBella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Langham for two nights at the end of a brief museum tour to New Zealand. Originally I had booked an executive room but due to some administrative issue I was asked whether I would like a standard room instead, with complimentary breakfast thrown in. I agreed, but in hindsight perhaps I should have held out for my original choice - no matter.

The hotel itself is located around the corner from the top of Queen St., which is the main CBD shopping precinct. One can walk to the waterfront in 20-30 mins at a nice pace since its all downhill. The frontage itself is not inspiring, but the lobby and and reception areas are very chic - all stone and chandeliers.

My lower floor room was certainly very nice, clean, spacious and well maintained; there being enough space for a pair of armchairs by the window. The decor could be described as classic rather than modern. I personally would have preferred a more contemporary scheme. Of course, all the amenities which one expects from any decent 5* hotel were evident (i.e. coffee making facilities, mini-bar, extensive cable TV, iron etc etc). The bathroom was of a good size and clean, with excellent quality linen and toiletries. However, the bathrobes were heavily starched and felt hard and heavy rather than soft and comfortable.The wi-fi connection was disappointingly spotty and could definitely be improved! My dining experience was limited to room service (I never did make it down to breakfast) - a fresh tasting seared tuna with rice cakes and a fruit platter - very delicious, and promptly delivered.

All in all, the service was good and the room was nice. But yet somehow, I was slightly underwhelmed for my first stay with such a well-regarded brand. I cannot put my finger on it, but it seemed to lack a certain something. Nevertheless, this is a fine hotel and I would still recommend it.

PROS: Excellent and friendly service personnel. Delicious food.
CONS: Bit far from downtown Auckland. Bad wi-fi.

If my report helped in your decision-making, or if you just enjoyed reading it, then please take the time to click the "was this report helpful?" button located below. This is the only feedback I receive and I do appreciate your acknowledgement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ExLibris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel coincidentally when one direction were in nz to play their Auckland concerts. The 2nd floor is not swipe access and the general public can come and go as they please - which meant in this case hordes of teenage girls loitering outside our rooms at all hours, talking loudly and being self centred. Rooms 233 and 235 are the first rooms to be seen from the lift well, meaning we got all the noise constantly as the girls loitered hoping to spot the band.

In addition, the 'eight' restaurant is directly underneath these rooms and has wooden floors in that part - meaning every time someone moved or scraped a chair the noise travelled upstairs.

Although the duty manager was understanding, little or nothing was done to control restaurant staff after it closed (they scraped away willy nilly closing up and setting up the restaurant at 12am and 5am respectively). Security proved equally unable to control the girls - I did that myself by going out twice and grumpily telling them to move away and shut up.

I accept that this was unique to the band, but the noise from the restaurant is unacceptable. Unfortunately it's one of the few combinations of rooms with interconnecting doors, which we needed because we travelled with children.

The hotel is good quality but on this occasion I was left disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank antoniosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we do apologise for the noise issues you experienced over that weekend. We realise that it must have detracted from your stay. We will be following up on this.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were in Auckland to see Wicked and decided to stay at the Langham as it was within walking distance of the Civic and we had heard and read so many good things about the hotel. We were disappointed. Perhaps it was the room we were in but it was average. Our room was dated and seemed drab. It needed a makeover. On the positive side, it was a good size room, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. It just didn't live up to it's reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RestlessKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing