We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little change in 9 years, still good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Little change in 9 years, still good.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had stayed at the Langham some time ago on our last night of a NZ trip, and on this occasion on the first. Quite old fashioned decor, but comfortable rooms with good beds allowing a good if rather short sleep. My one criticism is that we had ordered a maxi cab with the night clerk for our group of 8 to get back to the airport, and in the morning, no cab and no record of it having been ordered. We ended up having to pile into regular cabs, which ended up being quite squeezy with our regular bags and walking gear. Will probably be back in another 9 years!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,602
    1,133
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,109
257
986
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Langham punches well BELOW its weght. The two 5 star aspects are its prices and the pink tweed suits worn by young ladies wandering about the foyer. We have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world, but never felt so shabily treated.
From arrival onwards, the hotel started to chisel money: did we want to upgrade the room, taking credit card details (use of which incurred a 2% surcharge), etc. Afternoon tea is $45-55, fixed price dinner is $80-100, breakfast is $39-49. Hot food in the restaurant is served on cold plates and although there is much from which to choose, overall is not good quality to justify the price.
The rooms are disappointing, and we were moved twice in three days because of faults. Lights not working, holes in a towel, dirty surfaces, peeling windowsill varnish, tangled electrical wires causing trip hazard, defective extraction fans in bathrooms...............
Beds were comfortable.
The shuttle downtown is useful and a cost saver, but despite reception saying it runs every half hour, it doesn't.
Overall: has potential to do better, the workers are pleasant, but there is a clear lack of senior management and leadership, and the hotel must stop the impression of overcharging and rorting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJBPNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I came here for a business engagement, so it was a visit that needed some uninterrupted time, efficiency, practical support and flexibility for me. I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are well appointed and the business facilities are great.. All staff are discreet and respectful and I appreciate that too - however they are marvellously flexible and helpful. The hotel is located centrally, which means meetings with business contacts and colleagues is easy. For an informal meeting the lobby bar is really great and to entertain clients in the award-winning restaurant was a total pleasure. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are pleased to know that our staff helped to make your business stay efficient and pleasant. We have many business travellers at The Langham, and we know how important it is to provide support at a practical level. We agree, The Winery is a great spot for entertaining clients – a very relaxing ambience. Thank you again for your positive feedback and we shall hope to host you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent 5 star luxury but with bonus of lovely friendly professional staff throughout the services Loved the swimming pool spa centre great location to restaurants and upper queen st . Will be back try 8 restaurant within the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwichrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at the Langham for one night in a standard king room while going to a formal Ball

Room comfortable, beds very comfortable, in room facilities excellent. Lots of nice little touches in the room and around the hotel which made the experience feel a little special

My wife ordered room service lunch which was very good quality

Breakfast in the hotel was very good. Staff all very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Park Suite. This room had great living space and a separate bedroom space. The bed was very comfortable and overall the living and sleeping space was great. The one big let down was the bathroom. The suite is basically 2 normal rooms joined into one and the door to the bedroom section is present but locked. The bathroom is tiny and the shower was old and pretty bad. I am only 6' and my head was scraping off the shower head and I had to stoop to shower.

One huge plus point was the club lounge. This was an excellent place to relax, have snacks, canapés or breakfast and you can also enjoy n evening drink.

Room Tip: The club rooms are worth the extra money for lounge acces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotish-exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stay in the Langham in Auckland a few times a year. We always stay in the 'Club' as it is such good value, and you are really looked after. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave, nothing is too much bother. The breakfasts are fantastic, the club drinks in the evening are lovely and so is the food that accompanies them. The team that work in the Langham all seem to have been there for ever which probably tells its own story, they remember you from previous visits and really make you feel special. The pool area with the different steam rooms, saunas and spas is very pleasant, even on a winters day. We love staying there and will go back, and we live in Auckland as well!!!

Room Tip: They all seems to be good, so don't worry too much
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing