We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel is possible after all!”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

All you need to do it check into the Langham in Auckland, and you will be instantly transported back to the 1980s. I'm talking about the decor, not the service. The service is impeccable, but the hotel itself (with the exception of the fantastic spa and swimming pool that are very 21st century) is caught in a time warp, and let's face it, the 1980s were not a good decade...lots of ornately patterned carpet, brown walls, orange wood, dated furniture in the rooms and terrible piped music in the main lobby bar.

Having said that, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathrobe plush, the towels plentiful and fluffy, the rooms immaculately clean, and above all, the service top notch. From the porter who greeted me at the entrance through to the reception staff, concierge, housekeeping, and the technical support people in the conference centre, I encountered nothing but courteous, professional, charming service.

I could wish nothing better than for the hotel to undergo a makeover of the same quality as the top class spa and pool, and it truly would be a world class hotel.

The only other thing to note is that the hotel is not located down near the harbour, but at the edge of the Central Business District on top of a hill. The good news is that it's downhill all the way to the Art Gallery and the centre of Auckland, and if you don't feel up to the fairly steep uphill walk back to the hotel, they offer a shuttle service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,113 - 3,119 of 4,403 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose the Langham whilst on a business mixed with pleasure two days away.
The Hotel had been recommended by a friend who always stays here on business.
A bit flasher than most Hotels we might stay at, it was afterall a special occassion and we were not dissappointed. We are pretty natural and open couple and observations were that although more eloquent people with high expectations might normally stay here, the staff easily transitioned between the two styles. Customer service was second to none and that would be the most memorable thing we took away with us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took away a special memory of our staff. We love hearing how our staff members have helped to provide memorable service and a home away from home for our guests. We shall hope to welcome you again one day.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

5 Star- great staff,very clean and tidy,plus having the heated salt water swimming pool was so nice and relaxing,the food and bar selection is a very high standard and service. Everything about the place was so nice,plus they also provide a great car service back to the Airport. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Racey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good hotel but not very convenient for the harbour where most of the restaurants are situated. We made use of the free shuttle bus to avoid the trek uphill on the way back. Room clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We selected this place as the rates were reasonable and we wanted to kickstart our NZ trip with a stay in a top hotel so this was a good choice.The room was very comfortable and though the bathroom was a tad small this was no big deal.The hotel itself is a long walk from the harbour so the complimentary mini bus was a godsend.We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and though this hotel appears to be aimed at business people they are clearly used to tourists as well.The hotels leisure facilities looked very impressive though we didn't find time to use them as we were too busy exploring Auckland.All in all a great hotel and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at The Langham for a weekend in Auckland visiting friends. Service and rooms were excellent. The hotel also has a nice gym and swimming pool. Rooms were well appointed - comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and internet was included in my rate package.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arrived after long flight and were given free upgrade to a better room which was very good. Swim in outdoor heated pool helped with jet lag. Staff on reception were very helpful but could have done with more of them at busy times.
It's a 20 min walk to centre of town by the harbour but its downhill and the hotel run a free shuttle so you don't have to walk back.
The cost of the room was very reasonable. Where they make their money is on meals and drinks, both on the expensive side. Small glass of beer $10, breakfast was $24 I think for a continental, evening meal also expensive but the guy on the desk directed us to a good Italian directly opposite the side door of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,912 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $137 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing