We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good hotel”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Service was fantastic, very helpful. We stayed in a suite and they do a great job. We had room service, which was very good. Breakfast was included and we went downstairs, it was very busy but the selection of food and service was fantastic. The pool is worth a visit too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,198 - 3,204 of 4,442 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights recently in an executive room. Perhaps expectations were too high but when they call themselves the finest in Auckland we expected a little better. An earlier reviewer suggested requesting a refurbished room which we did but were not given one. Our room was small, dated but clean. Pillows were plentiful but lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was very very small and way past it's use by date. Shower over bath with a shower curtain. Clean but dull and tired looking. The shuttle bus into town was appreciated and ran to schedule. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our staff pleasant, as providing a quality service for our visitors is very important to us. We take pride in presenting a clean and comfortable room for all our guests, although our suites in particular offer more space and a higher standard of décor, so might be more suitable for your needs.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Definitely love the late check out but the pool, breakfast, gym, steam room were all lovely too... No need to leave the hotel for anything except dinner! (& even that is apparently very good at Eight)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlhaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Looking for a nice weekend break in Auckland and chose the Langham again. Selected a package including Club Room, Club access, parking, dinner and breakfast.

Welcome was warm and efficient, clearly the valet parking attendant radioed as we left the car as we were met and the door and welcomed by name, a nice touch, we were guided to the reception area where the receptionist also welcomed us by name and was already printing our our booking details. That's class Langham!

Room was on level 8, very tidy and nicely furnished. The absolute highlight of the room is as expected the bed, although I am sad to say it has ruined all other beds for me!! I have spent time actively looking for a comparative bed so comfortable it is! I went to the trouble the following morning to pull back the sheets to see what sort it is. A Sealy Posturepedic Langham Bed, they have their own model. I will find a comparative model!!

The bathroom was good, only complaint was water pressure not fantastic and no fan/extraction in bathroom. Really need to do something about this to be honest as it is like a sauna by the time you've had a shower! Nice complimentary toiletries and really useful box of essential items like toothbrush, shaving stuff, etc which was useful as I forgot my toothbrush!

Spent the afternoon in the Langham Club lounge, well worth the upgrade to access this. Will definitely do it again. Complimentary tea, expresso coffee, afternoon tea, cold drinks, etc. Really nice.

We returned in the evening to relax, canapes and a complimentary bar available. Very relaxing and enjoyable to sit in the lounge and look over the city enjoying the hospitality. Service staff were very attentive and friendly.

Had dinner at 8, reviewed this separately, it was great!

Went into the city for a walk after dinner and when we got back went back to teh lounge for a coffee and view the city at night.

Had a very enjoyable sleep in that fantastic bed!

Breakfast again in 8, great selection, reviewed separately.

Had a late check out so could relax in the room prior to leaving.

Sad to leave and already planning next visit!

Only other slight issue was this was our second stay and we were not advised on the Club 1865 and actually though membership was automatic, so given we've stayed twice I called to inquire about it only to be told our initial stay doesn't count was it was 9 months ago and they can only go back 6 months which is a shame as we'd be well on our way to the next level of membership!!

I am a huge fan of the Langham and really enjoyed the stay, will choose it again in a heartbeat and also recommend it to everyone I talk to!




Had dinner at 8, was great and have reviewed that separately.

Room Tip: Go for the Langham Club upgrade, well worth the extra money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your positive words, and we are pleased to have made your weekend away a special one. We believe in delivering personal and friendly service to every guest, so it’s good to hear you received such a warm welcome. Our Sealy beds (called Blissful Beds) are always very popular with our guests, so much so, we have recently started selling them through our Flavours of Langham outlet. Do feel free to contact our staff for help with this, should you wish. We shall look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent the weekend at the Langham with the main purpose of my daughter, myself and her bridesmaids getting ready for her wedding. We had a slight problem with the room that we had chosen however when I said that at reception, within 10 minutes the staff had found the perfect suite for us. It was such great service from the time we checked in to check out. Loved staying there, we felt special and the staff were just awesome.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank BevAnne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had been recommended to stay at the Langham and on arrival we were given the option to upgrade. We did upgrade and found the Club facilities excellent. We have had Club facilities in some of the leading hotels of the world and these were as good or better than any we have experienced before.We will look to stay in a Langham hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra-buckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and we are pleased you found it worthwhile to upgrade. Our Club level offers some great additional benefits, including complimentary drinks and canapés, breakfast and internet – not to mention a 24hr butler service! It really does take luxury to the next level, so we agree, it’s worth the extra. We shall hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overall our trip was enjoyable. I was a bit disappointed with the size of the room. The toilet and bathroom together was a little dated but overall the cleanliness of the room was satisfactory. A complimentary bottle of wine was included in our package which I asked on booking in could be served with our dinner at EIGHT that night. On arrival to our room we found the bottle had already been left there and no one came to take down to the restaurant for dinner. The location is fine as the shuttle was available should the need arise to go downtown . The staff were amazing everyone we spoke to were poilite and helpful. The EIGHT experience started off well but toward the end of the night our table hadn't been cleared of dishes and we had to ask for this to happen. Breakfast at EIGHT the next morning was very disappointing. The food was cold and some of the food had been sitting so long had become dry. A few grizzles but the experience was still worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $118 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing