We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay!”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at a Club King Room for 3 nights at the end of December 2010.

This is a classic 5* hotel, our room was spacious and comfortable with separate dinning/seating area. However, the hotel and rooms look a little tired.

The club service and food were very enjoyable. The buffet breakfast in the main dining room offered a great variety of foods. The staff was attentive, helpful and polite.

The location is not the most convenient; the Harbour and downtown area are a few blocks away. It’s walking distance but return is up a steep hill.

We had a pleasant stay but on our next trip we’d like to explore other hotels around the Harbour area instead.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,274 - 3,280 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for one night after a cruise. The hotel was packed because of all the passengers disembarking from the cruise. The pool area is very nice and the bar area was comfortable. The room was above average and the concierge was helpful. Three things about the hotel were disappoining: (1) Wifi is not included unless you join their club (2) the restaurant is not recommended - I can honestly say I was glad when the bill finally came and I could leave the restaurant as the it was so loud that you could hardly converse over the noise level. And the food was below average in taste, but way above average in price (3) it is quite a walk to the center of town, although the hotel offers a shuttle bus if you can time it right. All in all, it was ok for a night but wouldn't want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and we are pleased you were happy with your room and the helpful service you received from our Concierge. We do offer 3 hours of complimentary wifi in our restaurants and public areas, and this can be arranged with a staff member. We are sorry you were disappointed with your experience of Eight – it can be busy at times, but we aim to ensure that the food and service remain at a high standard. We have passed on your feedback to our food and beverage team.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Langham in Auckland and it was an enjoyable stay for sure.
The rooms are slightly smaller than expected for the amount you pay, but this is soon taken from your memory by the comfort of the bed- which is to die for in my opinion.

The price of everything relates to the amount you pay and the 5* price tag put on everything. The pool is very warm which makes it a pleasure to swim in.

The only small hiccups we had when we were there was the large amount time taken to check out and also the fact we only had a few glasses (as some where missing). Also the face that the parking only took coins (25 dollars in coins isn't ideal).

But good overall =)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We left our luggage and carry-ons with the front desk because checkin was not allowed before 3 PM. We were assured the bags would be in our room when we checked in later. We headed out to tour Auckland. (Great city) We checked in ~ 4:30 - no bags - about an hour later 2 bags showed up - no carry-ons. Porter said he would get them and return. About 1 - 1/2 hours later I went to the front desk. They could not find them; they had me go back into the storage room to look for them - nada. Finally they were located - my heart palpitations subsided as my expensive camera equipment and computer were in the carry-ons. Certainly not the expected service from a Langham Hotel and no apology for the anguish I went through.

Felt it was over priced - it is a top dollar hotel that prides itself on amenities and service - you would think in this day and age they would include wifi / internet access without a high priced daily fee for basic service. There were cobwebs over the TV in the room and a dirty towel was left in the sink after the room was cleaned. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: They offer a shuttle service every 30 minutes to / from the central business district which was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisingCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about the loss of your bags at check-in, and the issues you experienced with housekeeping, and we will look into this. An apology should have been made to you at the time, and I do apologise for the stress that this caused you both. We have also recently changed our internet policy and now offer 3 hours of free access for guests in our restaurants and public areas.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a Langham Club Room booked for two nights 26 & 27 Jan, the first night for groom (myself) and two groomsmen, the second night for newly wed couple.

To fit three people the first night the room configuration was supposed to be two single beds and a roll away bed. For some reason the roll away bed was not delivered as requested at reception and we had to request it again. This was not so much of a problem. The following morning I left instructions that the roll away bed should be removed and the room reconfigured to a king size bed.

Following our wedding reception we returned to the hotel and found that our access card for the room would not function. This was disappointing, but it was able to be rectified with reception, however it was very inconvenient. Once we regained entry to the room we found that the roll away bed was still there, despite the earlier instructions.

Overall these are not major transgressions, however you would appreciate that if you book a 5 star hotel for your wedding, you would hope that service would be 5 star. Unfortunately the service in this instance for us was not good enough.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at Cordis, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your wedding night stay. We are sorry that your instructions for the room configuration were not attended to correctly. As we do pride ourselves on providing a five-star service, we have passed on your feedback to our front desk staff. All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent most of my working year away from home and I regard the Langham as a second home. The staff are so professional, friendly and always happy to help with any request. The rooms are extremely comfortable particularly their Executive Rooms,which are palatial and luxurious. Restaurant "Eight" is sensational and innovative. Congratulations to the team at one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide for maintaining such a high standard.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank chookkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My first time at the Langham and it will not be my last. Very courteous, polite and helpful staff from beginning to end, nothing was too much to ask. We arrived the evening Andre Agassi had an event in The Great Room but despite the hotel being very busy check in was fast, parking was easy and everything was as you would expect. Our room was spacious and well appointed with everything we needed. The pool/spa area was simply outstanding. The warm salt water pool made for a great early morning swim followed up by a soak in the jacuzzi. My only complaint would be the bath with shower over was a little bit small and a very minor stain on one of the chairs. However both these things were minor and did not detract from the experience at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $136 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing