We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaun spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chaun spa”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The lady at the spa desk argued with me over payment and wouldn't let me leave even though my treatment was pre paid! She still wanted my credit card then after my partner arrived to show her the voucher she still wouldn't accept it and he ended up having to open up his personal banking details to prove he had paid. We were left embarrassed and infuriated and certainly not relaxed. I contacted the spa to inform them of the situation and the manager never bothered getting back to me.

Changing rooms were messy and floors were slippery and wet... Titles were missing from steam room and showers and shower heads not working properly. Met a friendly American tourist who also agreed asking "is this actually the best auckland has to offer..seriously??"

Won't go again and wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophiec722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are deeply sorry for the way you were treated. We have spoken with the staff member concerned and can assure you that this won’t happen again. We will be in contact with you shortly to apologise and speak with you in person.
Amanda Heger, Chaun Spa Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,534
    1,111
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,067
250
956
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had work in Auckland and booked a night at the langham. Rooms were nice, bed comfy, gold and pink fleur de lis motif adorning hotel 'goodies'.

Had an okay cocktail in the bar reminiscent of bubble tea - not a very extensive list. After deliberations and a walk around the smorgasboard restaurant Eight, decided to go for that as I couldn't decide what to eat and the a la carte was a bit limited. The range of food in the smorgasboard was innovative with a sushi bar, crepe stand, indian, dim sim, fresh cooked steaks, venison, sausages, a seafood stand, great salad selection, good looking pre-prepared desserts ( i had a crepe though). Reminded me a bit of the dinner at orbit (sky city) with a bigger selection. I don't think it was worth $85 a head! I had a selection of seafood grilled (and overcooked while I waited). The cheese selection was lovely.

in reaching to turn off the shower and adjust the temperature I hit my head on the stone facade (behind the shower curtain) of the bathroom dresser - stupid me - I did it twice!

When I went to pay I was told that if I paid by credit card there would be a two person surcharge which i found a bit ridiculous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kym007intheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is exceptional, I travel for work and play on a monthly basis and can't go past staying at the Langham Hotel, the service is excellent and beyond five stars, the rooms, atmosphere and facilities and excellent and world-class!

Room Tip: Try wot-if for the best price and the mystery hotel option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed on an indulgence package which included a night at the Langham, dinner and breakfast at their EIGHT restaurant and bubbly on arrival. From being greeted by the doorman in the top and tails to the staff at the restaurants, you were treated like royalty.

Upon check in I was advised our room had been upgraded as they had spare rooms available so that was a great start! The room was plush and filled with amenities with everything from bathrooms to shaving kits and even old fashioned talcum powder!

The highlight was the meals in EIGHT. What an amazing restaurant. A fixed price of $80 allows you to pick and choose from eight different styles of restaurants all in one spot, where the personal chef's cook your requests until your hearts delight.

From check in to check out the whole experience was amazing. Something very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaticAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Executive room at the Langham Auckland. The highlights of stay would have to be the spa and pool and also the buffet breakfast. We stayed at the jacuzzi and pool area, primarily the jacuzzi because it was winter time. Buffet breakfast selection was good and up to the five star standard. The room itself was comfortable, not too big but the most comfortable bed made up for it. Eight at the Langham is great for lunch too, a little bit pricey but again, it's the best buffet in Auckland. the Tiffin high tea also gets a special mention. My bridal shower was held there and since there were too many of us to sit in the tea area, we had high tea at Barolo. The setting was nice, plush furniture, curtains and nice ambience ensured I had an elegant bridal shower with the ladies. One downside would be the location, it's quite far from the nice restaurants in Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Recently stayed in The Langham for four nights over Christmas. We had been hoping for some rest and relaxation as we were only in town for a close friends wedding and had seen the sights on a previous trip.

The first nights sleep could not have been worse. After calling front desk to complain about a party in the room above (which was swiftly dealt with by security) we were then awoken in the small hours but people screaming and shouting out the back of the hotel. In the morning, when my girlfriend went down to "offer some feedback" on our stay so far we were upgraded to one of the rooms on the higher floors which have soundproof windows. I don't know why the lower hotel windows don't have soundproofing but our new room was quiet, comfortable and much better.

The remainder of our stay was really good, though I don't think we return to The Langham if we ever find ourselves in Auckland again. The spa was a highlight. Also, I believe all rooms in hotels such as these should have free wi-fi these days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hagi_Bhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased that our staff were prompt in sorting out the disturbance on your first night, and offered you an upgrade to make the rest of your stay more comfortable. Good to hear you were able to relax at Chuan Spa – it provides a welcome and relaxing haven for guests. We have recently changed our internet policy, making three hours of complimentary wifi available for guests in our food outlets and public areas. We also offer free wifi through our Loyalty programme, 1865. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

An overall good experience. Our room was in need of updating - especially the bathroom which still housed a 1980's (or perhaps even earlier) shower rose and faucet... However, we did acquire our room through a deal and chose the cheapest option available. The hotel's grand and elegant reception area makes up for any disappointments. I would recommend the buffet breakfast - the best and most impressively organised buffet breakfast I have attended. I would not recommend the room service menu (unless you like the texture and taste of rubber). Definitely take time out to enjoy their high tea...escape in the luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing