We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty solid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pretty solid”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was not the highlight, being rather small, but overall this is a nice hotel. The outdoor pool was heated to a very comfortable temperature and the adjoining hot tub was great. We loved that outdoor space and my wife enjoyed her spa experience there as well. Staff was excellent overall. Exorbitant valet parking is really your only choice here, which is not appreciated by anyone.

The proximity to all the K-Road food and shopping is a big plus, and within a few blocks you have lots of good choices. So that and the pool area are why I would stay here, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank some_honest_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are glad you appreciated the handy location and the excellent food and shopping choices on nearby 'K' Road. Our pool and day spa are always popular with guests, and a good way to relax after a day’s sightseeing. During the summer months, we have a great poolside drinks service as well. There are some public car parks adjoining the hotel and offering pay and display parking, so do ask about that option for next time. We hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,609
    1,133
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,111
258
988
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I love this hotel and often go there for their high tea and cocktails. The lobby is just beautiful. Having spent 4 nights there I dont think I would return for the accomodation. Im sure you can pay more to get a better quality room but ours was very dated and in desparate need of refurbishment for a luxury hotel. As soon as we were in our room we felt like we were in a different hotel. Thus, if you are looking for luxury accomodation I would stay somewhere else and just go there for the high tea! However, the pool and spa facilities are gorgeous. The hotel restaurant has a buffet but its $80 per person so not somewhere you would want to eat every night. On another note the service is pretty good, nothing outstanding though. There is a good complementary minivan service into queen street which proved to be rather handy and introduced us to the lovely hotel laundry man who I think was in charge of the drycleaning, what a delight he was!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in December 2012 .lovely hotel upgraded to a club room which offered many extras .dined in the Barolo restaurant which was super. The winery bar was a good place for a pre dinner drink ...the club room for afternoon tea and canapés nod drinks early evening was just fantastic ..great hotel great service great comfort thoroughly recommend .

Room Tip: A club room is well worth the extra money ...go for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splash24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the porter that opens the cab door, taking a look at your luggage labels to call you by your name to the receptionist who greets you by that name when you walk into the hotel the staff are brillliant. There is always a staff member available, they are friendly and efficient and they go out of the way to make your visit a memorable one. The hotel is old fashioned splendour with afternoon tea served in the winery and a piano playing in the background. Rooms are generous and well laid out - I always judge a hotel by their toiletries and these are exceptional! I was upgraded and got wireless too. The hotel is at the top of Queen st so is walkable to the city but they also put on a free shuttle. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Easy booking system, was able to communicate easily through email to make changes to our booking. Great for a special occasion, clean & well stocked, service was very good. Will hopefully be coming back for our first year anniversary :o)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k10_celestelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our room was a decent size and clean though the bathroom was small and desperately needed refurbishing. For the money you pay here (and you certainly do pay!!!) there are much better options in Auckland.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliemacclesfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small but nice.
Spa is very nice, jacuzzi is outdoors though.
Breakfast was great.
The restaurants at the hotel are very good options.
Service was very good.
Location is good for buissines travelers.
The hotel is very elegant. Compare to other Langham hotels like the one in Shanhai or London this one is not as amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dramercedesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing