We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old fashioned service and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
north coast NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned service and hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great service from check-in to departure. I got a good deal on-line (at the hotel website) that included breakfast and Internet for aprox $160 NZ$ / night.
The breakfast at 8 was great. Lots of variety, so was happy to return every morning of my 5 night stay. Also had good coffee/ cappuccino, which is often not the case w hotels.
The rooms are not really furnished to my taste - kinda old fashioned or more for my parents generation - but v clean and well maintained.
The steam / sauna / swimming spa was wonderful - well exceeded my expectations.
Parking is extra $35/day
Highly recommend for others, esp if you can get an inclusive deal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wassenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for feedback – our online specials are always very popular! Many guests comment on how delicious the food (and coffee!) is at Eight restaurant, and our talented chefs work hard to maintain a high standard. Glad you were able to enjoy the Chuan Spa facilities – they are the perfect tonic on a wintry day. When you next visit, you might want to consider upgrading to one of our Executive suites, which have a more luxurious feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,065
    376
    98
    63
See reviews for
460
2,012
238
905
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Welcome service was excellent, car parking no problem. But the room - Oh my. Enough furniture for a small apartment in a hodge podge of styles, so much so there's hardly any room to move. (Why do they do it?) Went to their No. 8 restaurant expecting great things only to be confronted by diners wearing T shirts and jeans, not what we were expecting for our big night out.Seems to me Langhams are trying to convince themselves they are better than they are.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have nothing but praise for this wonderfully warm hotel,they have lovely decor, excellent service, very comfortable beds and we received wonderful treatment from all of the staff. I have just written a very poor review of a another hotel in Auckland, and as I had not done a review on the Langham previously, I thought this the perfect time. If you want to be treated with that extra little care then stay at this hotel I guarantee you wont be sorry

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights on a recent week long trip down under, one night at the start and one at the end. Very impressed with hotel; very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful particularly when we arrived for the first stay as we had arrived in NZ early in the morning and they made a real effort to get us into our room quickly. Only criticism is the lack of available parking with the valet parking a bit expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggytartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. Yes, we have a special Langham ‘Blissful bed’ that has been designed for the hotel, and we get a lot of positive feedback about how comfortable it is! I’m glad you found the staff so helpful – we do make it a priority to take care of our guests’ needs. Next time you stay, you can also consider the public car park adjacent to the Langham Auckland on Liverpool Street.
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed for one night and I was most impressed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in any hotel around the world. A standard room cost $189 which is medium priced but the room had dressing gowns and slippers. The outdoor pool was 29 degrees even on the cold winter's day I stayed there. The sauna was large and next to it was a good sized steam room. The neat thing was that outside the sauna I found a large bol of crushed ice to cool off with before entering the steam room!

Breakfast in the room was very good although a little pricey at $29 + $9 for a juice + $5 room delivery + 2% credit card charge. All in all the breakfast was $42 which is on the steep side

Staff were excellent and helpful.

The only very minor complaint was that the TV controller had delayed reaction. Perhaps the batteries had run down.

I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacific2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

finding Alison in wonderland in the bed side cabinet was the finishing touches to a fabulous stay. Perfectly suitated for short walk to the Auckland city Hospital.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunedinLetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

From the moment we got there it was fantastic. Fast check-in, friendly staff, stunning room, everything was a wonderful experience. Courtesy coach to the viaduct is a great idea. The only thing we did wrong was not staying longer to enjoy the comfy bed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing