We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for recovery after long trip from UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel room was extremely comfortable - big bed, nice sheets, blackout curtains, powerful shower, nice products in the bathroom etc. Appreciated the fresh milk provided in the fridge for making teas/ coffees. I used the heated outdoor pool twice (late May) and although not huge it was large enough for a decent swim. I also very much enjoyed the jacuzzi (outdoor), sauna, steam room and ice experience in the ladies changing room. The breakfasts were wonderful - I enjoyed fresh fruit, bircher muesli, poached eggs, bacon, cooked mushrooms and tomatoes, freshly made waffles and croissants during my stay. And there was a lot more besides. The only minor problem I had was on arrival - my husband had arrived a few days earlier and although he had let the hotel know my arrival date they seemed to have no record of this and were very reluctant to let me into his room.

There is a good coffee shop at the top of Upper Queen Street (Columbia I think), and I also went to a good (tasty and good value) sushi restaurant near the top of Upper Queen Street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildflower68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,353)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,552 - 3,558 of 4,353 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Langham for a couple of nights. I was well recivied and well taken care of. The standard is good, and the staff very good. I could recommend this hotel for a stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOLSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is first class! The room is comfortable, the sheets baby soft and the amenities top notch. It is quite a walk down the hill to the main drag. But there's lots of interesting stores and cafes along that boulevard. Along the way to the docklands area, you'll also find the official store for the All Blacks Rugby team for some to-die-for souvenirs. The club rooms feature access to the lounge where cocktail hour offers a great variety of appetizers, salads, fruit, and yummy tidbits. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was a lovely hotel and the front desk and concierge staff were friendly and very helpful. Room and maid staff were wonderful and even though the rooms were a little dated, they were kept pristine. Full amenities were provided and concierge brought anything needed in minutes. The only staffing issue I felt was in the Number 8 restaurant where I had to ask for things more than once and one of the buffet cooks had a bit of an attitute.

The only downside to this hotel is it is on the edge of the downtown 'grid' so it is a 15-20 minute walk down to the Harbour area. They hotel offers a shuttle service, but I did not take it because the times on the weekend were very minimal. Since it was Winter I did not have a chance to check out the pool and spa facilities.. maybe next time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahinMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We’re glad you received such exceptional service from our front desk staff and Concierge. We always enjoy providing an enchanting haven for our guests when they stay with us. Do try our shuttle service to the Viaduct Harbour the next time you visit. It leaves every half hour during the weekends from 10am till 9.30pm (there is a short break from 5.45pm-7pm). The Concierge can also recommend cafes and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Make sure you try our pool, too. It’s heated all year round to 27.5 degrees and the jacuzzi is very relaxing, too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Formerly the Sheraton, the Langham is a really nice hotel with good facilities, great service and comfortable rooms.

The downside is that it sits on the top of the hill and some way from the centre of Auckland - and more importantly - the great restaurants of Viaduct Quay.

It is located, however, adjacent to Karangahape Road (K Road to the locals) with its eclectic mix of bohemian establishments. Be warned, however, that at night time the area around the hotel becomes a red light district...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here heaps of time for confences. My stay here is so comfortable that if i would be choosing a hotel to stay in auckland city for pleasure, i would definitely stay here. Room decor is supereb, complete with all the bits and bobs. breakfast buffet is a feast!!! Yumyum

Unfortunately, i have not tried their spa/ gym yet, but its sure in my list for next time

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Langham in the past couple of month. The service here is wonderfull. When we were leaving for an evening out the porters were very helpfull & it was nice to have a friendly chat. We were checked in within minutes & the express check out is great. The rooms are exceptional & comfortable. All the little touches make this the perfect place for a night away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,524 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $138 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing