We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel with exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great hotel with exceptional service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in early May. He had business meetings in Auckland and someone from there had recommended this hotel. We arrived at 1:00 pm and they already had a room available. We chose to pay the extra and get a club room, and were not disappointed. The first room we were given,however, had a musty smell and the hotel moved us to a different room on our request. The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed. All the staff were very friendly and professional, especially Nadine, Judy and Andrew in the Club room lounge. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The hotel has a shuttle that takes hotel guests to the downtown area several times a day. This is a free service. The coincerge was very helpful in getting us tickets to a rugby match, and getting me a hair appointment at a local salon. We were extremely pleased with the service at this hotel and would highly recommend it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middleastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,455
    1,068
    377
    98
    63
See reviews for
462
2,017
238
906
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I got a secret hotel deal here and absolutely loved it. We enjoyed a Tiffin Afternoon Tea in comfy armchairs with brilliant, friendly service and real variety for your money. We had a standard room with an amazingly comfy bed, beautiful facilities and an evening turndown service (chocolates left on our pillows, slippers by the side of the bed). Lovely pool on the rooftop, not big but big enough. The one shame about the spa was that the sauna and steam rooms are in the changing rooms (which are obviously split into male and female) so my husband and I couldn't use them together. We had lunch in the Eight restaurant which was incredible - pay a flat rate (not cheap but as a treat well worth it) and help yourself to as much as you like from a variety of kitchens all cooked to your tastes. Drinks on top were pricey so choose wisely. There were only a couple of points which were a slight let down - in the bathroom the plugs etc were rubber or plastic rather than chrome which looked a bit out of place alongside the wood and marble. Also the public toilets on the ground floor were clean but very dated and looked more like toilets in a community hall rather than a 5* hotel. Other than that, we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at the Langham a week ago, when we arrived at the hotel early in the morning at 8 am with the expectation of only being able to drop off our luggage and having the need to return later in the day to check in to an available room. To our surprise our room was ready and available for us which made for a great start to our trip to Auckland.
We experienced upon arrival until our departure, exceptionally friendly, helpful and courteous staff. In my opinion the staff and service are more important than the aesthetics of a hotel and this experience made my stay a very pleasant and memorable one.
The room and all parts of the hotel were spotless clean, I didn’t think my room was very luxurious in comparison to other 5 star hotels I have been to around the world, but the cleanliness was all that mattered to me so I was happy. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was practical, and the mirror had a section that did not fog up which was quite convenient.
The food at the hotel is sensational, so fresh and flavoursome; we enjoyed eating from two of the restaurants as well as in room dining.
The pool, spa and sauna were a treat; it was nice to unwind after a long day out and about.
There is a free shuttle service that takes you to and from the hotel into a central drop off point in the city. This was handy if you couldn’t be bothered walking or getting a taxi.
The staff kindly and simply organised a shuttle bus from the hotel to take us to the airport which was at a fraction of the cost of going with a taxi.
The professionalism of the staff, the impeccable service, and the immaculate hotel made it a special stay at the Langham!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetLagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Third stay at the Langham in Auckland, and as always it has lived up to it's rating and expectations. It's a little removed from the CBD, but there is a free shuttle that takes you right downtown, and it's a nice walk if it's a nice day.

Restaurants are great (especially Barolo) and staff friendly, efficient and courteous.

Would recommend to business travellers and people just wanting a luxurious get away.

Think luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam_sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our second stay here and was just as good as the first time. Beds are so comfy with a topper pad made of goose down, didn't want to get out of bed.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobblyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We only managed to stay in The Langham for 1 night only, booked under Booking.com with very great savings (compared to the published room rate) . However, we had great experience with their hospitality from the bell boy to the front desk staff. Spacious room, super clean with comfy bed n pillow..great location in the heart of Auckland CBD.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

My stay was for only one night before flying out of Auckland airport, but the comfortable and all-accommodating service of the Langham's staff was extremely impressive, as was the breakfast buffet included with my room charge.

As an example of service, just before check-out and my flight, I went downstairs to grab a quick meal, at which time I remembered it was Mother's Day weekend, subsequently the popular Langham restaurant was packed with families. When I mentioned to the staff that I had only a short amount of time before I had to leave for my international flight, they rushed an order through the kitchen for me -- without my so much as asking. Really great.

Being a rare genuine celiac, I very much appreciated the all gluten free items on the breakfast buffet... never have I seen a gluten free station before at a breakfast bar. Awesome.

The gym was nicely outfitted (including kettlebells, which I missed from home and hadn't seen for weeks on my trip), which is an important hotel feature for many of us on the go for long stretches of time. My hotel room would not be described as lavish, but was very comfortable.

My only disappointment was that I could not have stayed longer to enjoy the service and facilities. Thanks again, I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing