We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior old world service and dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Superior old world service and dining”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

If you enjoy the best things in life, then this is definitely the hotel for you. From its high "tiffin' tea offering in the afternoon in the foyer to the fine attention to it's old world service, this is a hotel second to none in New Zealand. Concierge and front desk service was excellent - ready to provide anything we needed help with at any time of day. The 8 restaurant was very good with its offering of eight different culinary experiences within the one restaurant including chinese, indian and sushi. You can choose your own pieces of steak or seafood to be cooked fresh in front of you at dinner, or a crepe or omelette at breakfast which is a novel offering. We stayed in an Executive Suite Room which was opulent but comfortable with a great view of Sky Tower and very quiet as it was at the end of the corridor away from the lifts. Only drawback was the car parking in the public Tournament car park at the back of the hotel off Liverpool Street which was difficult to find at night and is a bit of a walk through a maze of conference facilities adjacent to the hotel with your luggage. Cost was $15 for overnight car parking with unlimited access to and from the car park. Location of the hotel is a bit removed from the main hustle and bustle of the CBD, which is a good thing from a quietness perspective, but also means that restaurants, cafes and other conveniences are a little more sparse than other parts of the city. King bed in the room was one of the best I have ever slept in,

Room Tip: Try to book a room on one of the higher floors and toward the end of a corridor if you are a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,609
    1,134
    395
    109
    66
See reviews for
494
2,111
258
989
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The professional attention to detail at the Langham is to be commended. We stayed in a Classic Room which was of good dimensions expertly laid out and furnished, plenty of storage, no loose wires, big screen TV and a generous bathroom. Cleanliness, service and efficiency in all departments cannot be faulted. Add to that a very comfortable bed, effective air conditioning and a window that can be opened. Generous gestures include a free bottle of water and a chocolate each night, and a complimentary morning newspaper. The bathrobes are big and generous too. Breakfast in "8" restaurant is one of the best we've ever experienced and we include Raffles, The Plaza in New York, the Connaught in London and the George V in Paris. The Chuan Spa and salt water swimming pool are excellent and included in the tariff. We will most certainly return.

Room Tip: Our room was 375, pleasing outlook of foliage and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend one night at the Langham with my son and would have liked to have stayed longer. It is such a lovely Hotel. I really enjoyed the Pool and Spa and the sheer luxury and would definitely go back again given the opportunity. Unfortunately was'nt able to dine there but would like to next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean. For the price I would have expected "something extra" to justify the higher price - but no real problems with the room.

The food was great. As a coeliac - I am used to some average gluten free breakfasts but I was really impressed with the GF food in the restaurant.

For a buisness traveller I was really disappointed with the wireless service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerX44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Langham, Auckland was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in- and being an ex flight attendant, I have stayed in many. From first contact, the service was faultless- they were friendly and professional and we were treated with so much respect. It was the little things that made this hotel stand out for me- the platter of happy birthday chocolates that were sent to our room, the bubbles, the bathroom amenities, the complimentary bottles of water by the bedside in the turn down service and so on. Myself and my partner both agreed it was well worth the money and we will definitely be back, I absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reublie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Recently stayed here for a conference and would definately stay here again. The service is second to none and the buffet breakfast is superb. The free shuttle to the end of Queen Street is very handy for restuarants and shops. As we had our 13 month baby with us we took my mother and had an adjoining room. There was plenty of room when you have both rooms but could see that if you had only a single room, it could be consider relatively small. The beds are the best I have ever slept in ... Would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

After a long few weeks, it was nice to end the trip in a luxurious (but reasonable) hotel. Excellent service, the room was quite nice and the bed very comfortable. We had dinner at one of the hotel restaurants, 8, and it was worth every penny.

Only issue was the lack of free shuttle service to/from airport. This would be very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveleroutofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing