We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We Had 3 rooms here, all imaculate, twin for the children and two kings for us and friends.
Pool, jacuzzi fabulous, only thing was pool food and beverage service painfully slow, though the quality of the food is excellent.

Room Tip: floor 6 is great though 8 has lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    1,088
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,047
243
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night just been, our 4th time on the 'five star eight escape' package. As always the service was absolutely impeccable with polite and friendly staff. This is by far away our hotel of choice in Auckland, and although the hotel has no water view the facilities (out door pool, spa, restaurants) more than make up for it. The breakfast buffet and dinner in Eight restaurant are well worth it, and even though it is $40 per head for our 7.5yr old for dinner, because of the good value package this additional charge is still worth it. Highly recommend this hotel to others and can't wait to go back. The ONLY complaint: their overseas call centre is terrible (which is not the fault of the Akld hotel). Either book online or go direct to the hotel - don't go via their call centre if you can avoid it which last time I called was answered by an operator in Texas who was supremely unhelpful. Having said that - this is the only hotel in Akld we stay at as it is the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sky tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumntaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is one of the best hotel me and my wife ever stayed in. We love it so much that we have planned to spend at least a weekend a year in this hotel and we actually live in Auckland.

Service - Great service and very friendly to us. No problems here whatsoever.
Value - Slightly expensive but the experience makes up for it.
Room - Decent size and very comfortable bed. It also has great soundproofing towards the outside although the sound from the hallway can probably be improved a little.
Location - Central location and close to the city centre.
Spa - One of the best spa facility around Auckland.

Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2012 during a tour of NZ. As it was part of the tour, our meals were included and the choice and quality of food in the Eight restaurant was very good.
Loads of choices for breakfast. Dinner was a number of cook stations covering steak, seafood, salads, curries, pasta and more, plus a good choice of desserts. You could go up as many times as you wanted which was nice as you could sample lots of things.
Our room was comfortable and clean.
Drinks were expensive, but not surprising for a hotel like this in the centre of Auckland.
Could walk down to the waterfront and shops in around 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixpenceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We live in auckland and stayed at The Langham for New Year's Eve. It's one of the few truly 5 star luxury hotels in the city that's actually affordable (not sure why the Hilton at the Viaduct Harbour is so $$$$).

From the minute you walk into the lobby you feel like you've left the city behind. The lobby car is even more plush and we enjoyed some delicious (but expensive) champagne cocktails.

The pool is phenomenal - it's on the roof and absolutely beautiful. They have servers walking around so you can order food and drinks in between dips. The ONLY criticism we found is the lack of umbrellas - it was really hot and in full sun, so some umbrellas would've been a really nice touch. That's my ONLY critique!

The rooms are plush and very traditional - a nice change from the uber-modern starkness that's trendy in other hotels. I love the bathrooms - marble vanity, lots of fun litte toiletries and a lovely shower.

The double-glazing on the windows provided a nice barrier from the traffic outside.

We always feel pampered when we stay at the Langham and this trip was no exception!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We enjoyed all the spa facilities to the full. 20 minutes after checking in we were inthe spa pool, followed by spells in the big pool, sauna and steam room. Luxury. The bar was lovely, and breakfast the next morning was excellent. A wonderful mini break all in all.

Room Tip: Ask for north facing, or towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is usually my Auckland base when I am in the country on business. I stayed here three times in 2011, once in Feb, March and then again in May.

Each time the experience was similar - fantastic! Rooms are large and well appointed and the free wifi and upgrade that you get as a 1865 club member is a great bonus. They also always try to get you to your room if one is available if you arrive before the official check in time, which is a great bonus - a lot of hotels will make you wait on principal. As a regular traveller this is a great benefit of staying at the same hotel.

Location is nice and central and the hotel offers a free shuttle bus to downtown Auckland every half hour, though it is an easy walk, mind you if your are shoppting you might want to get the shuttle back or taxi as the hill can be steep in parts.

Well worth a visit next time you are in Auckland

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing