We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room name summed it up - "Serenity"”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 7, 2012

So having had a very nice and much improved experience here with our last stay (see my older reviews for the Langham) we booked ourselves in for the Chuan Journey experience: Suite, Executive Club access, 1.5hr treatments at the Chuan Spa, 1pm checkout and breakfast for two.

One word: Mindblowing!

The Serenity suite was truly exquisite! Soak tub with infinity edge, a shower with more jet/head/temperature options than anything I've ever seen (even in a spa), fluffiest bath robes, scrumptious toiletaries and bath salts and that was just the bathroom...

The lighting options were brilliant and made waking up or lighting different areas without disturbing your partner and the decor was incredibly tasteful without feeling over the top.

Bed was fantastic; comfortable without being too soft.

We chose to take breakfast in the 'Eight' restaurant vs the Executive club, simply for the choices offered downstairs. Wait staff were plentiful, attentive and seated us quickly and fresh coffee and tea was quickly on our table. 'Eight' has a rediculous amount of options and is always a treat for us. Even if you're not staying at this hotel, I recommend coming here for breakfast next time you want to spoil yourself in Auckland!

Chuan Spa? There's a reason it wins awards. I've had treatments here before but they really excelled this time and I left the spa after our 1.5hr massages feeling like I was floating on air.

We didn't utilise the Club room as much as we might if our suite was on the same floor as it but the ice creams were great and the staff during the evening canapes/cocktails were great. Only comment on this would be that it'd be nice to have soft drink or juice options during the day, rather than just tea/coffee.

Concierge was quick to respond to our request for bags and also enquiring whether we needed assistance with transport or a taxi for our departure.

Minor hiccup on checkout, with the staff not recognising the Spa charges as being part of the package but this was quickly attended to and a refund issued by the original staff member and with the front desk manager coming over to offer an additional apology,

It kind of summed up both our most recent stays at the Langham; the rooms are great, the bars & restaurants superb, the Chuan Spa mindblowing but its all brought together by brilliant staff who don't hesitate to go the extra step so that even if there is an issue, its so quickly fixed and an apology profusely offered that you barely notice.

We are already planning our next trip back!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be nicer and quieter, unless you're staying in a Chuan suite, in which cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,926 - 3,932 of 4,564 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Enjoyed a two night stay at this fine hotel. The highlight was the quality of the staff. No matter which section they all cared and went the extra bit to make sure our stay was memorable. Our room on floor 7 was quite and comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The hotel runs a shuttle bus each half hour to Downtown so you have no need to worry about taxis or public transport to get there. A top level hotel but they do charge a fee for credit card use,a common problem these days with service providers

Room Tip: We were informed at reception that having booked via Wotif.com we had a room on a lower level then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elseymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked on Thai points so the room was free. Nonetheless, the room was immaculate, had a good size, comfy bed, kettle, ironing board etc etc. More importantly, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They have a fabulous pool on the second floor which has partial salt water which we enjoyed, and a spa pool. The Spa offers 15% discount (but you need to double check on your bill that this has been applied) on any spa treatments. We had awesome massages which made both of our backs feel like they were part of our bodies again (!), and again, the staff were incredibly friendly and polite. Another thing worth a mention is the doorman. We turned up in a 12 year old wreck of a car we'd borrowed. The doorman did not bat an eyelid, simply politely asked "shall I park it for you" and the next day, went to retrieve it for us and had our luggage put in it while we enjoyed coffee in the lounge bar. A great overnight place for Auckland both for customer service, cleanliness, value-price, and the spa. Definately recommend this one and for those of you who have read my other reviews you'll know I'm pretty fussy.

Room Tip: Clean, pool, good service, great spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel had a great staff, and I found the service to be excellent from the time I pulled up in the car to the time I left. The rooms are bit dated, but still very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draym85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

we stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our trip to new zealand.

Check in - swift, we arrived early so dropped off our bags and returned later to collect room keys.
Room - we had a twin bed classic room on the second floor, felt it was a good size and was a quiet room. We had a newspaper daily and enjoyed the bottles of water and small chocolate at turndown service.
Spa/leisure facilities - we used the pool almost everyday of our trip (water was never as warm as we hoped!), and were soon recognised by staff withing a couple of days (nice as then we didnt have to sign ourselves in everyday).
The jacuzzi didnt work one day and neither did the sauna however we were still able to enjoy the other facilities - including the ice expereience!
staff - found all to be very friendly.

we didnt dine in the hotel during our stay so cannot comment on the food - we did want afternoon tea but sadly as we stayed just before christmas they were fully booked!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We weren't impressed by the Langham. Check in was fine, but we had decided to make our last our two nights stay in New Zealand a luxury by upgrading to Club and were quite upset to find out that the Club floor (10th) was closed for refurbishment and the Club facility transferred to a ground floor function room. We were allocated a room on the 9th floor, which was quite small. We queried this, having paid Club price, and were told all our rooms are the same size, which, if true, makes the Club package vastly overpriced. The Club facility in the Greys Room was just about OK, but it was dark and diingy in there with no atmosphere at all. The pre-dinner canapes were quite good, but the wine selection was poor and not plentiful. Breakfast in the same function room was adequate. The hotel is a LONG walk from the Harbour where most of the action is. The hotel does offer a free Shuttle service, which is good, but it finishes at 9.45pm, and only seats about 10 people. Didn't eat dinner in either of the restaurants, but found a nice little Italian just opposite the City Road entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at The Langham after flying from the UK arriving at bthe hotel at 9am. We were made to feel welcome and,as i had asked in advance, we were allowed into our room straight away. The room was fairly small but otherwise what you would expect from this class of hotel.
We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel; however we did have breakfast which wasn't a pleasant experience as the eggs and bacon were disgusting.
All in all it was a disappointing stay at what should be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabbycat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $126 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing