We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit stuffy and not centrally located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A bit stuffy and not centrally located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We weren't impressed by the Langham. Check in was fine, but we had decided to make our last our two nights stay in New Zealand a luxury by upgrading to Club and were quite upset to find out that the Club floor (10th) was closed for refurbishment and the Club facility transferred to a ground floor function room. We were allocated a room on the 9th floor, which was quite small. We queried this, having paid Club price, and were told all our rooms are the same size, which, if true, makes the Club package vastly overpriced. The Club facility in the Greys Room was just about OK, but it was dark and diingy in there with no atmosphere at all. The pre-dinner canapes were quite good, but the wine selection was poor and not plentiful. Breakfast in the same function room was adequate. The hotel is a LONG walk from the Harbour where most of the action is. The hotel does offer a free Shuttle service, which is good, but it finishes at 9.45pm, and only seats about 10 people. Didn't eat dinner in either of the restaurants, but found a nice little Italian just opposite the City Road entrance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,389
    1,051
    365
    96
    62
See reviews for
448
1,968
232
885
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at The Langham after flying from the UK arriving at bthe hotel at 9am. We were made to feel welcome and,as i had asked in advance, we were allowed into our room straight away. The room was fairly small but otherwise what you would expect from this class of hotel.
We didn't eat in the evening at the hotel; however we did have breakfast which wasn't a pleasant experience as the eggs and bacon were disgusting.
All in all it was a disappointing stay at what should be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabbycat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here on our last 2 nights in NZ at the end of November. A very elegant hotel, the rooms were just lovely and the bed the best ever we have slept in I would have liked to bring the bed home with me. The food was outstanding but we did have a farewell meal with the rest of out party in the Barolo Restaurant this was fine dining at its best.The breakfast buffet was excellent. The location of this hotel is a bit out of the city but a free bus service is provided by the hotel.
The staff were very helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecerningLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

wonderful and elegant hotel. exceedingly helpful and polite staff. good room service food. huge range of food to choose from at the breakfast buffet. the rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and good soundproofing.
i stayed for a 4 day conference held at the hotel and the conference food was the best i have ever had.
while some people don't like the location because it is not close to the viaduct, i liked being able to walk over to the Domain for some fresh air and greenery, and you can always catch a taxi or a bus to the viaduct. there are still plenty of options of places to go for dinner that are within an easy stroll.
my only advice for guests staying is to know exactly what you have paid for with your room rate. i knew for certain that mine included breakfast and internet. they tried to charge me for some of the breakfasts and internet when i was settling the bill but when i questioned this they quickly corrected the bill to remove these items.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingkiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very disappointed with my second stay here after a terrific stay the first time.Asked in advance by emailfor a quiet room on a high floor - ended up being given a room on the lowest floor (floor 2), right next to the lift well and on the same floor as the day spa. They did exactly the opposite of what I asked! When I again questioned at the front desk, I was told that it was indeed a quiet room. I could not believe it when I was then offerred the MacDonalds "upsell" - for an extra $50 , would you like us to upgrade you to an executive room". I did not ask for that!! Very stingy when I asked for an extra water bottle at turn down(they gave me one per room rather than 2), and was told no.
Key card problems and being locked out of room was annoying, food at Eight restaurant was plentiful but of poor quality.

Overall a really poor stay considering my terrific experience previously.
Very stingy behaviour and service I just didn't expect. Considering the organisation which paid for the room uses this as their only hotel in Auckland, I would have thought they would treat a corporate client better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travelOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very elegant hotel, lovely rooms! We had a view of Skytower from our bedroom which made it even more wonderful. The tiles in the entrance transitioning to bedroom was too fine and smooth which caused us to slip a few times. I called the concierge and they immediately brought a rug to cover it which shows how much they care for their guests. Thanks a lot! Get the Breakfast package. The best breakfast in our entire Aus-NZ trip. I would highly recommend this place. If we go back, we will definitely pick Langham over others.

Room Tip: Get the Breakfast package! Dinner & Lunch very pricey. Wouldn't recommend for every day of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamaDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey. UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

It is as good as the Ritz or Savoy in England, so enjoy a bit of luxury

Room Tip: No problem, all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DescerningTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing