We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 Months’ on, And All’s Well at the Langham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
WA
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“12 Months’ on, And All’s Well at the Langham”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Before the CCTV video camera became the default mechanism of assuring personal protectiveness, there was the home burglar alarm. Its job is to reassure the inhabitants within that, as the night gets darker and more foreboding, those within can sleep on unmolested by an unwanted intruder. Going back even further, the job of community protector fell to the Town-Crier. His job was again to reassure people that, as the hours of night ticked by- “All was well!”

A lot can change in a hotel in 12 months!

New management, new employees and worst of all, some bright spark pipes up with, “new ideas” on doing things. Usually, these “new ideas” have the effect of spoiling what you had originally enjoyed about the experience in the first place. I am happy to report that in the last 12 months, there have been no “new ideas” at the Langham- resulting in a wonderful experience just how you remembered the last one was and the reason why you returned in the first place.

My wife and I returned to the Langham over the Christmas/ New Year period. Again we had a club room on the 10th floor. As I said in my last review of the hotel - if you are going to stay here, treat yourself to a club room and enjoy the facilities it offers!

It is a bastion of claim and relaxation, staffed by a group of men and women who are among some of the most hospitable, obliging and friendly hospitality professionals we have ever met. Nothing is ever a problem.

They are backed up by a housekeeping staff who keep the rooms immaculate. In fact you get a real co-dependent, “family feel” about the entire hotel, each department working together to deliver you a hotel experience par excellence.

So after a day in Auckland shopping and a wine or two in the club room in the evening. As you relax in your very comfortable bed on the 10th floor, if you happen to hear a bell striking the hour outside your window, and a faint voice in the distance. Don’t be alarmed, it’s just the Auckland Town-Crier reassuring you that: “All’s Well” with your choice of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,578
    1,127
    392
    108
    64
See reviews for
490
2,096
254
972
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night as a special treat for my husband's birthday. It turned out to be an excellent decision :) Special happy birthday plate and chocolates in our room on arrival, all staff extremely efficient and very helpful. Our dinner in "Eight" was memorable and we only have nice things to say and beautiful memories of our special weekend "away". Thank you to all at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandMeringue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were doing a 3 week tour of NZ and thought we'd start in style by booking into the 5 star hotel The Langham. It looks very grand when you enter reception and our room on the 8th floor was king size and beautifully decorated. They had upgraded us as we were honeymooners which was very generous of them. We were rather surprised to have secured a room for as little as $150US and at this price was great value. The bed was amazing, one of the most comfortable I've been in.

Still not sure why these 5 star hotels can't offer complimentary WIFI when the local 2 star Ibis does. Otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Langham in Auckland is a great choice when staying in the heart of Auckland - it's central to K Road, to Ponsonby, the city and the restaurant strips around, it's also close to the marina and the harbour and a great spot for morning walks before you start the day - but be mindful it's quite hilly!
i've stayed at the Langham in Auckland three times per year for business trips over the last three years, and every time i return, the staff remembers me, they're prompt, coureous, helpful and the hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. There's the beautiful spa there, which is open until 10pm, great after a long day of work, and the gym is open 24 hours. A smoking courtyard downstairs next to the bar and valet parking.
This hotel tries to fulfill your needs upon your stay, and i've had no problems with room service, valet parking, wakeup calls, room cleanliness, housekeeping or any other requirements when one is staying at a hotel - esp on a work trip when you don't want the bother or the hassle of little issues!!!
Definitely recommend this hotel for any Auckland visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here as a luxury break after spending a few weeks in a camper van on our way home. To be honest given the price I expected a lot better. At nearly $300 NZ a night give me a $50 cramped camper van any day. At least we'd have a better view. We knew the place was old but putting some nice furnishing on the bed does not make up for dark, small rooms with even smaller bathrooms. For the most part the staff were accommodating and friendly especially some of the staff at 8, which unfortunately was also a little disappointing. At the end of the day it is an expensive buffet. I am not opposed to a buffet (the hyatt Canberra does an awesome one) but 8 was more quantity than quality. So all in all a bit of a disappointment. Maybe we should have tried DeBrett. Next Time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We booked this hotel for our last few nights in NZ because Trailfinders were able to get us a great rate... it was a bit of a shock coming to such a big city hotel after spending the previous two weeks in hotels and B&Bs with at most 6 rooms. We need not have worried though, although it was a big building to walk around the service wa friendly as well as efficient.

The restaurant was excellent and we have to recommend the not inexpensive option of the all you can eat buffet featuring cuisines from around the world. Whether your thing is sushi, barbecue, sweet or savory there will be something here to completely satisfy.
Breakfast was a bit expensive but there are local cafes offering a sensibly priced alternative.

We were departing late in the evening and the hotel not only minded our bags but provided towels and let us use the hotel spa to freshen up and change before our taxi arrived to go to the airport.

The location of the Langham is not great, it is out of the centre and the walk is all up hill... in the evening the rear of the hotel is frequented by "self employed ladies" from time to time but it is safe if seedy. The good news is that the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to and from the waterfront so there is no need to walk if you plan carefully.

The hotel has extensive conference facilities but there was no conference in progress when we stayed... the atmosphere may be far busier when thre is one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Outstanding service, went for afternoon tea which was very nice but the cocktails we had afterwards were out of this world 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulellis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing