We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good rooms, well worth it”
Review of Cordis, Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cordis, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hotel has a lot of helpful staff, vey little waiting time. Rooms good, styled old world Britain. On site restaurant serve v good food. Room upgrade to Club if you can get it is well worth it for the extras and free evening cocktails and canapés. On site spa and relaxation centre is excellent, moderately pricey. excellent free shuttle service to Auckland waterfront. Not the cheapest room rate, but when you consider the service and freebies in club it's extremely god value.

Room Tip: Upgrade to club so you can use club lounge on 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blended_Bunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,859 - 3,865 of 4,403 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Staff are excellent. Rooms clean and tidy if a little dated. Terrible views over the back side of the building, what a shame. Great shuttle service to downtown area with very helpful drivers. Their service puts most overseas hotels to shame.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a room overlooking the roof top at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereswally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful week in Auckland. We booked the “Linger at Langham 5 day package” through their website and received complimentary breakfast (worth $28 per person, per day), free in-room internet access, an upgrade to an executive suite on the fifth floor and the use of the spa facilities including the gym, outdoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

This was fantastic value for money - for around 80 NZ dollars per person per night we stayed in a luxury hotel and had an unforgettable experience. It is one of the best places you can book if you want a memorable stay in Auckland. We have enjoyed visiting NZ but were very tired of overpriced basic motels which often do not provide free internet or sky TV and the room has to be vacated by 10.00am without breakfast.

At the Langham the staff are welcoming, charming, courteous, attentive, friendly and genuinely helpful, it is evident that they take pride in what they do. They made us feel special without being intrusive, Nicky at the reception is a real gem.

The ambience of the executive room is elegant and well appointed, the attention to detail is outstanding. The marble bathroom was luxurious with everything we needed including mouth wash and a leather box containing dental sets, sewing kits, combs, nail care kits, talcum powder and even a shaving kit.

We loved the curtains, very beautiful and practical because they can block out the light completely and the double windows (with about 20 cm gap between them) completely block out the noise from the street. The turn-down service includes two bottles of water and chocolates each night, what a lovely touch.

Breakfast in the “Eight” restaurant was delicious, a huge buffet with an excellent variety, almost everything you can think of including a white chocolate fountain, and the service second to none. A huge thanks to Corinna, Gigi, Joddy and last but not least Kevin who makes the best waffles in the world!

We loved swimming in the rain and under the stars, sunbathing in the lovely terrace and relaxing in the glass covered outdoor Jacuzzi. Auckland is lovely and offers tourists all sorts of entertainment, the only great disappointment was the dinner at the Fortuna Buffet Restaurant in Sky City, the food was not fresh and mostly cold, the service awful and the atmosphere cold and basic - this place is not a restaurant but a low quality canteen and would not recommend it to anyone.

The Langham however exceeded all our expectations. There is nothing to fault in this hotel and we look forward to returning – even without the special deal package we would never consider another hotel when in Auckland.

Room Tip: The “Linger at Langham" package through the hotel website is a fantastic deal and includes brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorylorylory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed at this wonderful hotel during rugby world cup. First class all the way. Staff were all amazing. Hotel amenities are great. We stayed in standard king room and it had everything we needed and more. Location is at top of hill, BUT there is a courtesy coach down to city centre and back every half hour or so, and this was most helpful. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Lovely lounge area adjoining lobby, which serves small meals and drinks. breakfast is superb. Ask for any type of coffee on arrival, and then just graze to your hearts content. Highly recommend the waffles (in shape of silver fern) they are delicious and as light as a feather.We did not use any other facilities as we were out and about with RWC attractions. the concierge and front office staff are amazing. Concierges especially a hughlight. We asked for help from 2 and they were faultless. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all placed guests first. airbus express from airport was16-00 each way per person and stops in front of Hotel.

Room Tip: Iwould think all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Langham for the last two nights of our five week honeymoon in New zealand and It was an absolute delight! We booked online via their website and got a very good offer. the only negative I have is that during booking I requested a room with a view and a late check out. The late check out wasn't a problem but then room we were initially put in had a view of a roof - not the romantic vista of Auckland I had envisioned! however, one quick phone call to the duty manager (Carlos i think) and this problem was immediately rectified with a complimentary upgrade to the sixth floor (where the rooms with views of the city start). The room we had was fantastic, real 5* luxury with incredible touches like a whole box full of various toiletries and a very reasonably priced mini bar. We had a delicious room service meal, lunch in the amazing restuarant Eight n(I'm not allowed to say any more about how fantastic this was as my husband wants to write a seperate review, taht probably tells you all you need to know though!) and we finished our stay with afternoon tea. I had been to Fortnum and Mason's in London for afternoon tea as part of my hen do, the one served at The Langham was far superior to it! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the location is brilliant, although there is quite a steep hill in to the city so it's best to take the complimentary shuttle if you are a little unsteady on your feet.
All in all it was the perfect way to end our amazing trip around New Zealand, I can't wait to try The Langham in London for our anniversary next year!

Room Tip: Free internet available on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ffion Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed here four days in Sept 2011. was generally pleased with the experience. room was well maintained and spotless. but it did seem a little dated for a room at this price range -- dark color furniture and walls, drapes, kind of low ceiling, pretty basic toiletries (ie bar soap not liquid soap). but the furniture was all in excellent condition, the flatscreen easy to navigate, and the bed comfortable. view (from 5th floor side of bldg) was nondescript -- across the street at an office building. I was there for a conference and their facilities were convenient and well maintained. Buffet breakfast was nice but at NZ$ 28 wasn't a bargain. NZ$ 75 hotel luxury car to airport was excellent value (same price as taxi coming in). the lobby and other public spaces were lively and well maintained. i didn't use the other facilities (gym, restaurant, spa) -- can't judge.

The only thing i'd note before staying here (apart from the slightly dated room decor) is the location. It's at the other end of the Auckland CBD from the harbor -- and up a slight hill at that. Now, that's probably not more than a 1.5 km walk to the harbor, and it's a straight shot down Queen St, -- and it's easy enough to find a cab if you don't want to walk. So the distance by no means should be disqualifying. But if your main purpose here is tourism and you want to wander around by the harbor and the views and see why they call this the "City of Sails," then you might want to consider a hotel that's actually down by the water. That said, it looks like there are a number of office buildings up by this hotel, so if it's a work trip, this location might make sense.

If you're gay, though, this location couldn't be better. Auckland's gay bar row on Karangahape Rd (aka K' Road) is just out the hotel's back door and down the block a bit. From what i could tell, the Langham was the Auckland luxury hotel closest to those bars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Conveniently located and excellent accommodation. I stayed here for a week and having access to the 'Club lounge' made life easy and indulgent.

Room Tip: Club rooms give you access to the convenience of the club lounge. The extra price is more than compe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand (Formerly The Langham, Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $137 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for guests who value heartfelt service and engaging experiences, Cordis Auckland is located in a lively uptown area, within walking distance of the city’s museum, galleries and shops. The 411 modern rooms and suites are meticulously tailored to your way of life. Thoughtful extras and stylish interiors reveal a genuine attention to detail, with the latest in connectivity including complimentary high-speed Internet (15MBps) and a free-to-use smartphone in every room with a built-in city guide. The contemporary Eight restaurant and sophisticated Lobby Lounge offer stylish places to dine and socialise, while peaceful Chuan Spa and a heated roof-top pool create the perfect urban retreat for guests to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cordis, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
Cordis, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing