We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a great hotel. I'd been watching prices for an overnight stay in Auckland for some time and had written off the Langham because it wasn't close to the port but when I saw a fabulous deal come up I did some research and found out 2 things. The airport bus service pulls up outside (so easy access to and from the airport) and The Langham has a free shuttle which will take you downtown and back at scheduled times - most convenient. The rooms were nicely appointed, spacious and comfortable, the stationery all matched from reception to the rooms and the buffet breakfast included in our package was excellent. The only reason The Langham does't get 5 stars from me is because check-in was extremely slow due to the rugby and a private function (bad planning).

Room Tip: watch for deals on Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,455
    1,068
    377
    98
    63
See reviews for
462
2,017
238
906
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Made the mistake of staying here when someone "important" was visiting. Continuously blocked from using the main entrance and sent to the "back door". Treated like a second class citizen. The rooms are small with uncomfortable chairs. However the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner was quiet and worked well. The room was quiet and clean. The room decor was - different. Think Liberace with a '70's color wheel. Staff were very nice - when they weren't questioning my right to be in the hotel (and may I add that I was dressed in a suit and look like your average 50 year old business person). If you are important or a VIP - stay here. Otherwise find a more relaxed and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

A Fabulous Hotel, facilities, pool apart ,were simply superb. Staff were excellent, so helpful and nice. No hesitation in recommending the Langham to all for quality and service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great hotel that never disappoints!

We will be staying at The Langham in other countries from now onwards!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Not enough time to compliment the whole experience from check-in to meals to assistance from the front desk. Am sold on the Langham brand and philosophy of business. Pricey but well worth the cost! Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvingmywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I travelled to New Zealand with our two sons last summer and we decided to stay in this hotel for four nights. We chose to stay in a studio suite connecting to a standard room. This kind of combination is made of a standard room opening to a big sitting-room with a very large dining area and business desk, opening to another standard room. In other words, my room was exactly the same of my children's room, there is no difference. I must confess that this was really disappointing to me, because the bedrooms are really really small and the bathrooms are less than 5 sq metres, with so few room to move comfortably and only one sink...The tub is very uncomfortable and there is no separate shower, even if on the web site it was reported that this suite has a separate shower. When I told it to a man at the reception he verified and then he said that the web site was wrong... Anyway there is nothing you could expect from a suite bathroom. The only difference with my children's bathroom, that is with a standard room bathroom, was the presence of Molton Brown bath products instead of hotel bath shower gel and shampoo. That's not enough to upgrade a standard bathroom to a suite bathroom. When I made my complaint about ther size of the bathroom to the person who took us to our room, she answered: "But you won't spend all your time in the bathroom! Will you?" What kind of answer is it? I was horrified by this rude attitude.
Nevertheless, the hotel has some British charme, especially at tea time (afternoon tea here is a must you cannot miss), breakfast is excellent, the personnel very gentle and friendly. I had a great cappuccino (really Italian style) every morning.
We were included in the Executive club, which offers the possibility to access a special lounge to sit and relax during the day, having some free refreshments and special aperitifs and a canape buffet from 6 to 8. Moreover you can have free internet access at the business centre.
During my stay I looked for some other hotel to stay for my next visit to New Zealand, but I couldn't find anyone to be a 5 star level hotel. I probably will return there because it is elegant and the personnel is gentle. The doorman Luciano was really kind and he took care of our luggage (12 pieces) in a very professional way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigrissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

A good quality hotel at reasonable price in central location (5/10min walk to the hub). Typical large hotel but treatment was very good - would definitely stay there again if was visiting NZ. Don't expect much of a view (no matter how high your room is).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing