We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 27, 2011

From the moment we hopped out of our car, the service was fantastic! We were given a tour of the hotel & all the amenities. We were also shown where things were in our room. 5 star luxury. Bed turned down with chocolates, slippers beside the beds. What a way to be spoilt & feel very special. We dined at Eight restaurant & that was fabulous. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puket135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,932 - 3,938 of 4,372 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed at the Langham twice in 2 weeks, and on both occasions, it was excellent. From the greeting by the valet and reception, via the relaxed opulence of the room, to the sheer choice of food for a quality breakfast, I found it was exactly what a five-star hotel should be. The swimming pool is great, the location may not be to everyone's taste as it's quite a steep walk back from the waterfront (but I quite liked the effort!) but it only takes 15 minutes, or there is a shuttle bus. I would definitely return to this hotel, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydnLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here at the begining of NZ tour so very tired when we arrived from UK found it v restful bobbing in the rooftop pool and the SPA was very serene. The hotel was welcoming but found it hard to figure out the opening times of the "pub". It was a little further out from central Auckland than expected but the free bus and friendly driver meant this was not an issue. Try a jump off the Sky Tower to start your NZ trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed in this hotel three times during a tour of New Zealand (organised by Scenic Tours who were fantastic and I would highly recommend them). The hotel is not large and the rooms can be a little on the small size (as you would expect in any city hotel) but the staff were fantastic and I would not fault the service. We were upgraded to a an Executive Room on one of our stays and the extra room and facilities made the stay even more memorable. The restaurant (called Eight) is one of the best I have ever visited. It is a buffet style but everything is cooked in front of you. You can have as many courses as you like from fish to curry and then to roast. The sweets were wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsworth2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Positives:
Nice rooms, comfy bed, quiet, good service. Restaurant - called 8 is very good for dinner. Room service also very good. Small business centre is quite good. Nice buzz in the bar and in the restaurant.

Negatives: They don't seem to have wireless throughout the hotel. The phone charges for local calls are ridiculous. I made a local call thinking it would be $1.50 and i was charged $28. They would not adjust the bills when I queried it and said that i was not aware of the charges. I was told " it is in the compendium" . Despite everything else being excellent, one small thing like this, and the poor judgement of staff in not resolving it can put one off. what a shame.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travelOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed there for 2 days. We were booked for executive room and got an upgrade upon arrival but it was too late after our late flight to find what did that actually mean. The room was of good size and everything was in the best order including mints at the pillows :) Sleep quality was superb thanks to double windows. Internet I guess should be free at that price bracket. We used our mobile internet instead. The meal prices were quite inflated so as an option we used outside eateries, even corner deli offered hearthy breakfast. Location although not quite central offered us a chance to explore city when on the way down town (literally). Swimming pool offered quiet space with excelent service. Everything was perfect. One thing though that bothered us was a bathroom ventilation issue - not effective so steam was settling everywhere. The mirror was treated with some demister since there was a free spot right in the middle. Hotel admin apparently is working on that issue already.
Overall, it was very elegant hotel with nice lobby - freshly cut flowers gave it extra points :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrzaszczAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

After two weeks in New Zealand experiencing less than desired standards of hotel accommodations we found ourselves at the Langham and immediately wondered why we didn't just stay there for the whole trip! In New Zealand it is common to find hotels rated well above what the rest of the world expects. At the Langham the world standard is the minimum standard. Our room was immaculate, our room attending superior and the attention throughout the facility to detail was phenomenal.

The whole package was more than we expected. My wife called it this way, Ritz Carlton look out.

If there is a con it is that you are a bit away from the Wharf area for cruise ships, but the hotel has a shuttle and is within the $.50 bus zone so getting around town is simple. Turn the con the other way and the hotel is in a quieter area with easy access to the Motorway. Double glazed windows resulted in a very quiet stay (we did hear the fireworks from nearby, but at such a muffled level, that it took us a moment to ralize the we had a light show out the window.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland Central, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $137 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing