We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - pity about the luke warm breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - pity about the luke warm breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

A great hotel and walking distance to everything. Skytower is 1 minute away. We had booked B&B on their website and this was the best price available. It included twin superior beds and breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel the very nice reception staff member who checked us in offered us a king bed which we accepted and were more than happy with. We were also able to get into our room at 11am instead of the usual check in time of 2pm. The room was nicely furnished and clean. The bed was a "Rydges Dream Bed" and it was just that. The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in in a hotel room.
The breakfast had an excellent selection of food both hot food and cold fruits cereals etc. The only complaint I had about the whole experience was that the hot food was only luke warm. By the time you had put it on your cold plate and taken it to the table to eat, the food was barely warm at all. This is very disappointing when everything else about the breakfast was excellent.
Apart from this the hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a central place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetuniaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
It’s always pleasing to read of such positive comments that support our passion of providing the very best in service and quality products to all our guests. We understand that our guests can arrive earlier than 2pm and all they want is to rest, so were possible our front desk will provide a room straight away and I’m pleased this was possible for yourself, plus you got to experience the Rydges Dream bed as soon as you arrived – yes they are truly fantastic!

We are very proud of our refurbishments, especially the breakfast buffet in STK Restaurant but it disappointments me to read that the temperature of the breakfast was only warm, this is certainly not the standard we strive for and I apologise for that.

Next time you are in Auckland please do stay again where I’m confident the breakfast will be just as you expect it.

Until next time, thank you

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    872
    286
    89
    30
See reviews for
269
836
138
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

"harbor view" is a slightly embellished - you need to peer carefully between the buildings to view the harbor. I found the room to be both dirty & cramped. By far the worst of 8 places stayed in whilst in New Zealand. Convenient? Yes. Would I stay again? A big fat no!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robski8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Despite the negative nature of your views you will be pleased to know that all our reviews are taken very seriously and your comments relating to the term Harbourview have been addressed, as you will see we are now Rydges Auckland. Your comments on your room being dirty is something that we can and will rectify, this is unacceptable and our Housekeeping team will be reminded to focus on the detail, to ensure this remains as an isolated incident.

With regards to the room being cramped I can only suggest that we have a range of accommodation rooms that vary in sizes and we would have appreciated the opportunity to show you any of these, on your next visit please ask.

With your concerns now rectified please ensure that you book your next visit at Rydges Auckland, so you can experience the improvements for yourself.

Sincere regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Located in a perfect location, virtually next to SkyTower & is in Auck CBD. Great rooms and matching superb staff service. One of the Best Places to Stay in Auckland.
Modern rooms & totally enjoyed the free WiFi Internet.
Really good value for money. Used nice & Quick valet parking. really convenient. And the beds are extra comfy... ;)
Also The STK on-site restaurant is well recommended. Excellent Staff & Great food. Loved the breakfast, very nice start to the day ;)
Didn't experience any problems at all....Great Stuff !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tspeiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
It sounds like you had a great time at Rydges Auckland and all your expectations were met, from the service offered by our front desk team to your experience at STK restaurant - which is what we take pride in – thank you.
Your views are appreciated by the entire team here at Rydges Auckland; your review has inspired and reassured them that the focus and training we put on satisfying our guests does get felt, as always you are welcome back.

Thank you

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

I came with high expectations, and overall they were met. The hotel is located very centrally - one block from the Sky Tower (my 8th floor room was directly under it) and less than two blocks from Queen Street. I can see that if you didn't know Auckland it may not look very good from the outside, but the neighbourhood is safe so long as you are smart, and appearances are deceiving.

Check in was excellent, as was the vallet parking ($28). The room (two twin beds) was well maintained and had plainly had renovations but there were a few suitcase marks on the walls. The tv was good and the bed just excellent!

Very little noise when trying to sleep (although I doubt the hotel was full). No noise from outside at all.

Check out was good, and the car was ready when requested, although it did take some time for him to answer the phone when I called to have the car brought round - that said, it was half an hour before checkout time....

I got a good rate online, and overall was very happy with the hotel, having worked in the industry myself, I know what to look out for.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Reviewer, it’s always encouraging to receive feedback from someone that is familiar with the industry – thank you.

You are right, the location of Rydges Auckland is excellent for those wishing to explore the centre of Auckland, which is something that everyone of our guests enjoys.
We focus on ensuring that all our services are streamlined to minimise the hassle for our guest, this is something that we are constantly enhancing and its satisfying for us to see that you found our check-in and check-out process to be very efficient. The delay you experienced in having the phone answered does concern me, this will be brought to the attention of the front desk team to ensure that what caused this delay for you, remains as an isolated incident.
Our online rates are typically the most competitive, its great that you benefited from these. When you are next staying in Auckland please ensure that you visit the Rydges Auckland website to secure the very best accommodation deals.

We hope to see you return soon

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

My second and last visit to an otherwise ok hotel blighted by the presence of pubic hair in the bed left by a previous occupant. Despite drawing management's attention to this along with the evidential hair, I have heard not a word.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charabanc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

It is extremely concerning to read of your experience with the unwanted hair that you discovered in your room. I can assure you that this certainly is not an indication of the standards we strive for and constantly deliver to our guests at Rydges Auckland. However in this incident we have not lived up to these high standards that we pride ourselves on and I apologise for this. It also concerns me with the lack of a response especially for such a serious matter, this is unacceptable and I can appreciate your frustration and disappointment.

It is disappointing to hear that this is your last visit, I would like to think that you would visit us again where we can prove to you, first hand, the improvements that we have implemented and the exceptional level of service that we deliver. This would also give me the opportunity to meet you and apologise in person for this experience. What you experienced should never have occurred and I can confidently say there will not be a repeat of this.

I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland but I understand this is at your discretion.

With sincere apologies

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Great location to watch fireworks from waterfront and Skycity. Bed was comfortable, breakfast (roomservice) was good, don't get scrambled eggs. Robes need softner in the wash. They offer valet and luggage service if your after that. Valet should be optional if you want to park your car. Reception staff good.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DnG-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Hello,

It’s great to hear that you managed to experience the fireworks in Auckland, the location of Rydges Auckland is perfect to experience the very best of the fireworks, as we are so close to the waterfront where all the action is. It’s good to see that our Rydges ‘Dream Bed’ prove to be very popular again, they are truly an exceptional bed!

Your comments in relation to the scrambled eggs and robes requiring more softener have been discussed with the appropriate department managers, as we do take all our comments seriously and by doing this we will improve. Your kind words on the reception team are always gratefully received and appreciated by the team.

Thank you and we hope to see you return soon to experience more fireworks.

Quenton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
376 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was convenient for down town, a few minutes from the Sky Tower and its prices were very reasonable. After we had booked, its TA reviews spiraled downwards and so we were not expecting much and wondered if we had made the correct choice. We were pleasantly surprised and encountered only one of the problems experienced by other reviewers (our room was not cleaned on our second day until very late in the afternoon – after we had returned from a day out). We arrived at midday having being flying for 30 hours and were really not in the mood to wait for a room although we knew we were early – we did not have to wait and we were quickly and efficiently checked in. Our quiet corner room on the 8th floor was clean and well appointed and the large bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. The view of surrounding office blocks was nothing to remember but at $112 a night, we were quite happy. On the two occasions I had to ask for something from the desk (remote TV control and more milk) both were brought to the room quickly. We picked up free wifi in the room (hotel publicity says it is only available in the lobby) and this was a really welcome added benefit. There are only a few free channels (including Sky Sports) available on the TV. Although the hotel has a restaurant / bar, we ate in the many cafés etc in the area because they were cheaper. Despite the hotel only “nearly” giving us a very good stay, we would stay here again and on the basis of our experience can recommend it for the traveller managing a budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for providing such an informative review of your recent stay at Rydges Auckland and I’m pleased that you did not change your mind after reading some concerning reviews.

At Rydges Auckland we take pride in the level of service we provide and it’s great to hear this goal was achieved and experienced by you first hand. The concern relating to the timing of the servicing of the room is a matter that was investigated and as a result new measures have been put in place to ensure this remains as an isolated incident. It’s great to hear that we were able to provide you with a room when you first arrived as I know that it can be frustrating to wait, especially after such a long flight, all you want to do is go to your room and rest.

Yes, after a long flight you would have found our Rydges Dream Bed excellent, I’m delighted that you found these to be super comfortable, like many of our reviews they all agree that the beds at Rydges Auckland are some of the best available.

Your concerns with service have been addressed with the appropriate department managers, as not following up on such simple requests, as you requested, is not acceptable and this will be rectified.
Rydges Auckland is subscribed to a hotel Sky TV Package, this included Movies, Sport and News channels, our guests usually find these channels adequate but I’m sorry it did not met your expectations and you were looking for more.

It’s great to know that you managed to experience STK which is certainly a very upmarket and stylish restaurant for any hotel – both the STK Restaurant and Bar are becoming iconic venues to eat or socialise at in central Auckland.

Finally, I’m pleased to know that you will most likely book us again, should you return to Auckland; it would be our absolute pleasure in welcoming you back – we can’t wait!

Best wishes

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges

Property: Rydges
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing