We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in city centre”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Recently stayed at this hotel. Very central location and very much liked the new decor in lobby and restaurant. We had our fri night dinner in the restaurant and meal was superb. Very clean rooms and nice view from our room.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brnz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Thank you for your quick overview and posting on Tripadvisor, I am glad you had time to dine in our new stk grill restaurant and enjoy the chef's dishes.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

We are planning to stay in NZ for 6 months. Rydges is an excellent hotel base while we're looking for an apartment in downtown Auckland. We stayed here for almost 2 weeks. Only a block away from the Sky Tower and a 10 minute walk to the Harbor. Lots of places to eat in downtown Auckland. Check out the Food Alley right across from Stamford hotel and Ronnie's bakery (2 door down from the Food Alley).

We were offered a king size room upon check in. The room has a nice harbour view but the room itself is very small and the bed is not a king size bed by U.S. standard. Could not be bigger (if not smaller) than a queen size bed. We asked to be moved to a double bed rooms which we originally booked for. The Superior double bed room is much larger. The room comes with a safe deposit box, Coffe/tea, small fridge, plasma TV, and internet cable. Free wi-fi is also available but it's slow. The receptionist name Kristie was an angel. Had a hard time faxing some documents to the U.S. and she was super nice the entire time. The room comes with central AC and heating. Good sound proofing.

Overall we were satisfied with their service. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Thank you WorldPassport - we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel so much that it was a temporary home away from home.

I will pass on your great comments to Kristie, I am glad we could assist to look after you during your stay with us.

Enjoy your time in NZ

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We got a good deal for a king room recently refurbished. Place is clean, room is a decent size, staff are helpful and check in/out was quick. Only propblem we had was we were told valet parking was $28 a night or next door in the parking building was $20, we opted for the parking building. Big mistake! Went to take our car out the next morning and found out it actually cost us $80 for one night! Other than that which is of no fault to the hotel we had a great stay :)

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank PorkChop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Porkchop15 - thank you for choosing Rydges Harbourview Auckland, I'm sorry your carparking was so expensive, I will contact skycity car park to investigate this further.

Thank you again,

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I thought the rooms in the new wing were very small and dark, and we asked to be moved to a room with king size bed, as the new rooms only have doubles or twin. Hotel staff were very helpful in changing our room, but even though the older rooms have been refurbished, the bathrooms obviously haven't .The tiles were broken and hanging off the wall, the grouting was dirty, and although the bedrooms were clean I thought that the carpets in the corridors always looked liked they needed a really good hoover.
Woken up at 5:00am by the generator so not particularly restful night.
For the money I think there must be better hotels in Auckland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Dear Wilma4, thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you didn't have a great stay and for this I apologise, all of our new rooms have king size beds however they are NZ standard King size beds and not international. I will share your feedback with the team to address any cleaning issues we may have encountered during your stay with us.

Thank you again,
Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We booked one night at the Rydges based on reviews, location and price. The hotel was as we expected - the room was clean and modern with a nice bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. We were able to leave the car at the front to unpack before we returned it to the rental company, which was convenient.

Front desk was friendly and efficient. We had an electricity problem that was addressed within minutes.

Wireless Internet was very slow, but it was free so can't complain too much.

Before I made the booking, I enrolled online as a club member which gave an immediate 10% off the rate and a late checkout at 1 pm – a real added value.

Overall, very good value and recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2010

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you joined our Rydges Priority Guest Program to enjoy the discounts and late check out.

Thank you for being another happy guest!

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Nice basic hotel, steps away from the marina and all the 'touristic' stuff.

Rooms were ok and breakfast was quite basic.

It's ok for a stay or two in Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjGLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Thank you alexandrosg for your feedback, the Auckland Viaduct is great at this time of year with the summer months about to role on in, it will be the playground in Auckland for everyone who enjoys the water!

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel was centrally located, very clean and great price. I would definitely book this place again. Highly, recommend it for first time travelers or people who are a little nervous about booking hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Don't be nervous - staying at Rydges Harbourview Auckland is highly recommended and as you mentioned everyone will be "damn happy" with their choice here!

Thanks so much pwrmnky

Katie Scholes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $142 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing