We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Auckland Central
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,844)
Filter reviews
2,844 results
Traveler rating
1,133
1,185
360
120
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,133
1,185
360
120
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tower great location chocolate fountain valet parking buffet breakfast new zealand queen street central location free wifi hotel restaurant late check harbour view nice room mini bar inner city comfy bed auckland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,844 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As to be expected from Rydges after previous stays the rooms were brilliant and easy walking distance to lots of restaurants. Dee at reception went above and beyond to assist me with queries I had and was a lovely personality to be greeted by!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Locationsmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Billing12, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Locationsmatter for your kind comments and review. We are lucky to have such a talented woman like Dee working with us ! I have personally thanked her and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

Superb location.. a stone throw to reverse bungee and sky tower and casino. Metro Countdown is nearby and lots of food and restaurants. Reception Staffs could be more spontaneous and they look solemn ☹️
Great room otherwise and welcoming chambermaids make the rest all worthwhile

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank TsuyoshiToda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Billing12, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you TsuyoshiToda for your kind comments and review, the team and I appreciate the feeback even the solemn reception staff :-) I have shared your feedback with them and I am sure with some luck we may seem some more spontaneous laugher and joy from them over the coming weeks and months. The hard working every joyful housekeeping team were thrilled for the shoutout we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

This hotel welcomed us - Dee was amazing booking us in and despite our booking being for the day before soon had everything sorted even though virtually 100% full. service was excellent. Was lovely to return to the hotel after dinner to find a welcome back platter with a bottle of wine - first stay for us in the Auckland, however we have stayed numerous times in Wellington, Christchurch and Sydney Rydges - always a consistently excellent experience.

Room tip: Book early for better views from room
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wontoksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Billing12, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you wontoksmith for your kind comments and review - we are grateful to have the very talented Dee working with us. I have personally thanked her for her efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

It's centrally located which makes getting to restaurants easy. There are some great staff who go out of their way to offer good service. The reception staff, honestly could not be bothered. We arrived early after a 30 hour trip and they wouldn't let us check in early. I get it, they weren't ready, we were early, but they couldn't do anything for us AT ALL before 2 pm. Not only did they tell us we were SOL, they really didn't offer any alternatives. We got more help from the i desk. Who was super helpful by the way. We talked to other tourists who said they also had grueling trips and their hotels were happy to let them check in early.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AdventureSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Billing12, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Thank you AdventureSeeking for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that your arrival to the hotel was impacted by the lack of empathy and attention of the team on the front desk. I did look into the day of your arrival and unfortunately there was very little movement in and out of the hotel and that impacted our ability to be able to get a room ready ahead of our usual check in time. I will however ensure that the team acknowledge how better communication and awareness to your long journey would have enhanced the experience. We hope you manage to have a great stay in our awesome country with a safe trip home. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

The room was lovely, a bit small but that's ok, we were on the 5th floor facing sky tower. Brekkie had so many options, valet parking is worth it. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean room. Rydges is great! We always opt to stay at Rydges because of the great service.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traceyaralder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Billing12, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Thank you traceyaralder for your kind comments and feedback. The team and I were thrilled to welcome you back to the hotel and we sincerely do appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews