We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard and won't stay there again. Better value elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“Not up to standard and won't stay there again. Better value elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

The biggest turn off for me was dining in the Rydges breakfast area and see dusty dirty windows on the mezzanine floor all around. The blinds inside were also dusty in the dining area. The ground floor windows were clean. There was no construction visible in the immediate area concerned. The reason given was it will be cleaned later after building work is completed at another part of the hotel. To me that is a cost saving exercise at the hotel guests expense. Common sense would dictate that the immediate areas that guests use must be clean! Would anyone with pride in their homes invite guests to their own homes and have dirty dusty windows? Otherwise don't invite guests home!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for comments during your stay with us, I can advise the hotel has completed the refurbishment and rebuild and is now all open and sparkly clean!

The restaurant is now permanently located on the ground floor and we have a new restaurant grill concept, stk house bar & grill - my apologies you were not staying with us to experience our new product but I would like to thank you for your patience and understanding whilst we were completeing these works.

Regards
Katie Scholes
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    887
    289
    89
    32
See reviews for
274
850
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We arrived at 9.00AM and our luggage was put into a storage room as no rooms were available until after 12 noon, which was not a problem with us.

We looked around town until we returned at about 1.00PM, and was allocated room 609 I think, when we went to the room allocated (room 609 I think) we found that it was right next to the constructoion zone, where you walked over plastic protection sheeting.
From the room we could hear work in progress behind the locked off zone..
I went to the front desk and demanded another room and was given room 701.
As a point of interest, the hammering started each day at exactly 7.00AM for the three days we stayed at the hotel.

The room was nice, but when the next room turned on a tap in their shower or basin the noise woke us up as acoustically the plumbing is not isolated from the stucture.
We a;so found that the rubber bath mat was covered with black mould and the hand basin had dirty stains behind the hot tap also someone had dropped something in the basin and holed it which had a crck all around starting at the hole.

The location is good and all amenities are close by, that is the best thing we liked.

I would not recommend the hotel to anyone, because of the noisy plumbing and cleanliness.

We were not advised at the time of booking or checkin that the hotel was being refurbished which we would have thought was of importance, I question if the fire brigade is aware of building combustible building materials being stored in the fire escape stairs on each landing during the refurbishment works.
As a result of the passage way being blocked of on each floor they would also want to look at lengths of egress routes and plans on the rear of room doors that have not been changed to reflect the current situation in case of fire for safety reasons.

All the staff that we dealt with were courteous and neat in appearance.

I can be contacted on jenkins9@iprimus .com.au

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to post your review from your recent stay with us. I will email you a formal response from myself on behalf of the hotel.

The new development of the new Hobson Tower is days away from completion.

The hotel follows a strict fire evacuation procedure and all stairwells and exits are well clear of any building materials. We take this extremely seriously and recently conducted a full trial evacuation of the buidling where all aspects were evaluated and examined as compliant.

Thank you for your observations and I apologise for your experience.

Regards,
Katie Scholes
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

I'm from La Jolla, California (USA). The hotel was very clean and neat., not to mention the staff... They were very nice and curious. The room was excellent. Wonderful view of the bay. Downtown near all within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel. THUMBS UP!!!

Here with my 20yr old son. He really liked this hotel and would recommend it to his friends as well.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljsurfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, the staff really enjoyed having you over to stay especially whilst you settled your son into Massey University. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return in a few months.

Regards,
Katie Scholes
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Rydges Auckland for a couple of nights at the end of our trip to NZ. After having stayed at Rydges World Square in Sydney we were expecting a larger room, but that said we had enough room and had a comfortable stay. The downstairs area is very smart and we had the impression the owners were in the middle of doing up the rooms as well. If not it would be a good idea for them to bring the bathrooms up to date.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and are a credit to the hotel.

The location was convenient to downtown Auckland and an easy walk to most attractions. The Sky Tower is only two minutes away.

All in all a good stay and we’d consider returning.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments posted on tripadvisor after your trip to Auckland New Zealand, I'm glad you found our team to be full of kiwi hospitality with great service.

The location as you mentioned is ideal to be based in the city center.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Katie Scholes
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Friendly, welcoming staff - we booked a deal through Wotif that included a room upgrade, full breakfast for two and free valet parking. Room was tastefully decorated, I was a little dissappointed to see the shower curtain was dirty and was surprised there was no shower cap as the shower height was not able to be adjusted.
Couldn't fault the breakfast we usually stay 5 star but this was equally as good as any other hotel - 10 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The3RRRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback and your comments on the great value you experienced at Rydges Auckland through the package and your comments on our breakfast!

I have followed up on the standard of cleanliness in the bathroom and have rectified this, thank you again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

stayed in Rydges for 3 nights 22-26/01/10 and quite liked it. It is very conveniently located, right near SkyTower and a short 3 min walk to Queen street (shopping) and Viaduct Harbour (restaurants).
Rooms are very nicely refurbished, great beds - I slept like a baby, we had a room on the 10th floor which had a great view over the harbour and Auckland Harbour Bridge. Very clean and comfortable, great big bathroom, very nice overall.
The only thing I was a bit surprised about - you can use their two hip Macs in the lobby to do things on the internet etc but you can't print anything as there is no printer connected to them. This is very strange because most people use hotel computers to do reservations and check in for their flights online - that was the case with me, I checked in online for our return flight to Sydney but could not print our boarding passes! Had to go to Westin and pay 7 bucks for 30 mins, very expensive boarding passes they were...Rydges Hotel - please purchase a printer and connect them to your computers, this would be greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergeyvzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, February 7, 2010
Dear Sergeyvzen,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience especially the comfy beds and central location.

I have taken your feedback on board and we are looking into an option for the printers so our guests can print with ease.

Thank you again for this feedback, looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed with partner and 8yo, wasn't an overly big room, no balconies, but was tidy and done the job. Had valet parking included in the deal I got on wotif which was handy (parking station across the road), otherwise it would attract a surcharge.

I expected better given it's 4+ star rating, to me it was very similar to an Ibis. It's position to the CBD was the best feature, was 100m to Sky Tower and a couple of blocks off queen street.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RydgesAKL, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Sydmik, thank you for your feedback after your stay, the location is very handy to the sky tower and everything Auckland has to offer, I hope you enjoyed your time whilst visiting the city.
Regards
Katie Scholes
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing