We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane area
1 review
“Service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Did not appreciate a false fire alarm approximately 3.15 am. The room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom did not have hand rails etc., and clambering over and into a bath for a shower was difficult. Room service efficient and satisfactory but selection from menu very limited. Front desk staff appeared more intent on "gossiping" amongst themselves and guests were left to struggle with large amounts of luggage.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dendad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear dendad,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Rydges Auckland.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the false fire alarm. This is a very rare occurance for the hotel and was unfortunately caused by a manual fire switch in one of the corridors.

I would also like to apologise for the display of unhelpful service by our reception team during your stay. I can assure you that this will be followed up on to ensure we do not experience a repeat of this.

Thank you again for your comments,

Regards,

Emma Davies
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    887
    289
    89
    32
See reviews for
274
850
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on my first visit to Auckland. I was contemplating between Rydges and Hyatt. I am glad that I picked Rydges. This was my first time staying at a Rydges hotel. My room had an L shaped window which had a corner window facing the Sky Tower. It was nice to look out and watch the jumpers go down the tower. The hotel is in good location. It is not next to a busy street, so it was quiet inside my room. The bed was very comfortable and overall the room was clean and tidy.
From the hotel, you can easily walk to the Sky City to catch the hop on/hop off bus. Also, you can walk to the harbor where you can try out many different restaurants as well as walking distance to the ferry building. I tried the Lamb Shank dish at Mecca restaurant, it was good.
Some tips to first time visitors to Auckland:
- Join the Rydges priority to get discount on hotel rates
- Use the express shuttle from airport. Get the round trip ticket to save money. Just tell the driver to let you know the nearest stop to Sky Tower. The hotel is a block away from Sky Tower.
- Check the travel/activity center inside Sky City. I saw some discounted tours/activities
I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again next time I visit Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuyajojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear kuyajojo,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges Auckland and your time in Auckland City.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Regards,

Emma Davies
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Having been staying at a number of Rydges hotels over the last 18 months, I must say Rydges Auckland is not at the top of my list of preferences. The room I stayed in was quite small compared to other Rydges hotels, and so were the restaurant and bar (which to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt, were only temporary until the renovations are complete).

On the plus side, the location was perfect and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear ng_ryan,

I am sorry to hear that Rydges Auckland is not what one of your top preferred properties in Auckland at this stage.

I can assure you that with the renovations that have just been completed on the cafe & bar area, that these areas are now very spacious.

It is great to hear that you found our team friendly and it would be great to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland to experience our new facilities in the near future.

Regards,

Emma Davies
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Booked a double room on Qantas Ready Rooms. Was advertised as having city views - our room looked straight into an office in the building next door!

Room had 2 small double beds which had the noisiest starchy sheets, so when we moved slightly we woke each other up.

When our room was made up on the second day, the teabags weren't replaced so I rang room service to ask for some more. The lady who didn't speak great English told me I had to come down personally to the restaurant to get some, otherwise they would charge me to come to the room! I was so frustrated I rang Reception who sent someone straight away (no charge, of course).

As a Rydges Priority Club member, I was entitled to a late checkout. It seems the staff didn't care about this. One of them was knocking on our door at 10am to check if we were still there. About 5 mins later someone was ringing out room (we didn't answer). Another 10 mins later someone else knocked on our door again to which I told them we were leaving soon but weren't we meant to have a late checkout? He said yes but didn't explain why they were trying to push us out the door. Extremely annoying & left a bad taste in our mouths.

Having said all this, the hotel is close to all the shopping & a short walk to the Viaduct, so a great location... if that makes up for everything else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-hussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear Holiday-hussy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay of Rydges Auckland.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced during your stay. Each issue will definitely be reviewed with the relevant department to ensure it is rectified.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland on a brighter note in the future.

Regards,

Emma Davies
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Good Deal: My mother and I stayed at this hotel in mid-July, 09. We got an incredible deal - NZD 276 for three nights in a Superior Double Room with Buffet Breakfast included. We had earlier booked the room at a higher rate. We found a lower rate on hotelclub and used the best rate guarantee from Rydges to get a free night stay and they also matched the rate (NZD 138). Although hotel rates are much lower during winter,we believe this was an incredible deal.

Location: We initially chose this hotel because of it's location. When we arrived at the hotel, we were certainly not disappointed. The hotel is located across the street from Sky Tower and you can reach any of the attractions in the CBD by 10 minutes walk such as Queen Street (shopping street), the wharf, Sky Tower, Victoria Market, etc. The location is the best part about the hotel.

Room: We had a Superior room with two double beds. Beds were very comfortable. Room was very spacious. Our room faced the Sky Tower. Other than that there was no "view". The room looked fresh and new. Bathroom looked dated. They should replace the bathroom mats. You could see fungus on it. There was a minibar (which we did not use) and ample supply of tea, coffee, and milo. We never ran out of them, even when we had several cups of coffee/tea.

Hotel: The hotel was being renovated during our stay. The reception was moved to the first floor. On our departure date, they were painting the entrance and people were not able to use the main door and had to squeeze themselves through the door that the concierge used. Not very convenient, but I don't know what else they could do. We did not use any other facility offered by the hotel.

Buffet: Breakfast was good, but we won't buy it separately at NZD 30/person. We had it included in our rate. There were a variety of hot and cold foods, although they did not change anything during our 3-day stay. On the final day we were bored!

What did we see?: We visited all tourist places in the CBD. For places that we couldn't reach by foot we used the LINK bus (costs NZD 1.60/person to any destination). The green coloured LINK bus goes to most tourist attractions. We went to Auckland Museum (Domain) and Parnell. We took a tour package from Great Sights to see the Glow Worm Caves in Waitomo. Trip was fine; but we were not able to do the boat ride because the river was flooded. This package was booked by the hotel staff. They were very helpful. The tour bus picked us up from the hotel and also dropped us off.

Transportation: We came to the hotel using a shuttle (NZD 36 for two people). It is cheap, but a group in the shuttle went to a suburb of Auckland and it took us ~1 hour to reach our hotel. Otherwise, it shouldn't take long if all people in the shuttle are going to the CBD. We went to the airport using Discount taxi (NZD 35 if paying by cash). Make sure you arrange this taxi in advance (talk to the concierge).

Conclusion: We had a positive impression of the hotel. The location was fantastic. The room was great and very comfortable. In terms of value for money, we got more than what we paid. Service was very good. We would certainly come back here, but this time in Summer. Winter is a not a good time for NZ sightseeing. Sign up for Rydges Priority Guest card (it's free) and you get some benefits (late checkout at 1 PM, etc.)

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigmetrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel is in an excellent location. A pleasant 10 - 15 minute stroll from the Britomart (train and bus station). Note that the Britomart is across the road from the Wharf where the ferries leave from to go to the islands in the Auckland Harbour. Some renovations happening on the ground floor of the hotel so check in is temporarily located to the 1st Floor. Not an issue at all. I spent one night here with my Mother. We visited Sky City which was a five minute walk away. We found a lovely Food Court close by for dinner. Many places to choose from for meals. Accommodation was two queen size beds (could have been doubles!) and we paid about $120.00 for the night. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
Dear kiwi1963,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Auckland.

We are happy to advise that our brand new reception area is now complete and is located back on the Ground Floor in its original location.

We agree that our location is perfect for access to the Sky Tower & Casino and the harbour where the ferries and Britomart are based.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland in the future.

Regards,

Emma Davies
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Hotel only one block from restaurants, sky tower and hop on , hop off bus pick up point. During our stay reception moved from ground floor to 1st floor. Restaurant extremely over priced for breakfast and dinner. Hence no one there. Had a room with a disabled bathroom which I requested. Bathroom modern but floor flooded and could not shower alone. Needed help from my husband as no chair or close rails to access towels. The last night we stayed the toilet would not flush and had to get housekeeping to fix it while we went out for dinner. This problem was rectified when we returned. The rooms were adequate size and had undergone renovations. Location is good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing