We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfiest bed ever!!”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, comfiest bed ever!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here for one night before we set off on our trip round NZ. The room was spacious with a great view and the biggest, comfiest bed I've ever slept in (with great pillows). It also had a huge flatscreen TV. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and there was also lots of information on NZ provided in the room. If I had to say anything bad about the hotel it would be that the bathroom was a little disappointing. Other than that, I couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Liked — The room, view and location
  • Disliked — Poor shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank his7sec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
Hi his7sec,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Auckland. We are happy to hear that you found our beds the most comfortable ever and that our staff were friendly and helpful.

We hope to be able to welcome you back the Rydges Auckland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    916
    296
    93
    32
See reviews for
286
874
143
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and it was really a good choice, This is a newly refurbished hotel and has a very modern look, The bed is very comfortable and the room had LCD tv . The room we got has fantastic view one side to the sky tower and the other side to the harbour bridge.

The location is really good, you can find lots of restaurants, shopping and just 2 minutes walking to the sky tower.

I liked everything there and we had a very pleasant experience staying in this hotel.

TIP : you can get best rates from the hotels website and you can register to be a priority member and get 10% off its rates and also they have lots of promotion.

  • Liked — The Cleanliness, The Newly Refurbished rooms, The Bed, The View, Location
  • Disliked — No Pool, One of the restaurant waitress was very rude,
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NicoJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhysjonesauckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 11, 2008
Thank you so much for your feedback. I was very pleased to see that you had a great stay. I was surprised to learn that one of my team was less than hospitable and I will follow this up as a priority. For your information the hotel is continuing on the path of transformation with 2 new restaurants, gym, lobby, porte cochere & conference space along with 81 new rooms. Most of these projects will be completed mid way through 2009. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland soon.

Best regards

Rhys Jones
General Manager Hotel Operations - NZ & Fiji
Rydges Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Rydges in Auckland for a couple of nights in October 2008. The location was great - right in the middle of downtown. It was close to the Sky Tower, shopping, and many restaurants. While most things were within easy walking distance, you could also catch a bus nearby. The staff we dealt with at the front desk were efficient and helpful, and our room was very nice - large, modern (in terms of decor and room ammenities) and comfortable. Overall it was quiet, however there was a bit of construction noise during the day. The room was nicer than I expected for the affordable price we paid. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — modern, comfortable room, convenient location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sazoo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Booked for two nights here for a stopover stay to see the city. As others have commented, a great location close to the SkyCity tower and easy enough walk down to main streets / harbour area.

The best thing about the place was the beds (which is a good thing!) Although we weren't in a big room (2 doubles didn't leave much space) the beds were very comfortable and neatly laid out / clean etc.

We stayed away from the restaurant based on prices advertised in the hotel. In the closest side street between Rydges and SkyCity is a convenience store. If you go down this street and cross the road there's also a seafood asian restaurant (also serving other things - we don't eat seafood!). We got takeaway from there both nights for 2 for $20 and from our experience and the number of local asians in store, I'd say it's good quality food.

The Rydges overall though... Great place and great value for us too!

  • Liked — The comfortable quality bed
  • Disliked — Price of in-house food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank returning_the_favour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Good points:
- very central location (and perfect for the airport shuttle, which stops outside)
- modern, comfortable room
- good value: very reasonable cost.

Small grumbles:
- the hotel couldn't find my reservation on arrival, though it was ultimately straightened out.
- the daily internet charge is reasonable, but on check-out a surcharge for high usage was added to my bill, with no explanation of how I had exceeded the allowance (I hadn't been downloading any large files).
- the reception and restaurant areas are utlilitarian in an eastern European kind of way.

All in all, though, the good points far outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WillVill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Thank you for your review Willvill. I am pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay at Rydges Auckland however please accept our apologies for not being able to locate your booking straight away. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

This hotel was great value for money! I can't say it was in the most scenic part of Auckland, but it was in the center, very close to the Skytower, and handy for most things. The room was very modern and well done. We didn't include the breakfast in the rate, and having seen it, were happy with that decision.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bakerbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Hello bakerbass,
Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland. It is great to hear that you had a good experience whilst staying with us. We too believe that our location is very handy for both the business and leisure traveller. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Checked in to Rydges (booking on their web-site from England) after a long flight from San Francisco ,at 5 am. The checking in process was smooth and efficient with our bags being whisked up to our room immediately.

The room was of a very high standard with a lovely view over the city.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there are several small eateries within one block - we had three breakfasts for the price of one in the hotel!

The hotel is very conveniently located adjacent to the sky tower and all amenities of central Auckland.

We loved the hotel so much, that we checked in again after touring the north island and stayed for another couple of nights. At this point we had hired a car and this was efficiently parked for us at a very reasonable rate. Our second room looked out directly onto the sky tower which was a truly magnificent view.

I would definitely recommend this hotel should you be staying in Auckland.

  • Liked — A quality hotel with friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMRydgesAuckland, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
Dear LeicestershireKaren,
Thank for your great feedback on your stay at Rydges Auckland. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you chose to stay with us on a return stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing