We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quite central located hotel, good breakfast and free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice, quite central located hotel, good breakfast and free wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really needed good sleep after a very long flight from Jakarta to Auckland with a long transit in Sydney. We, fortunately, found what we needed in this nice hotel :-) The location of this hotel was quite central; even within walking distance to the restaurant we were planned to have our first dinner in New Zealand. The room was clean and spacious with a good and big bed for a good sleep and a sufficient size of bathroom. The staff were nice, helpful and friendly. This hotel provided also a free wifi connection; so it was very helpful to inform our family that we had arrived in Auckland safely :-) The breakfast served was also good with sufficient choices :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    887
    289
    89
    32
See reviews for
274
850
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve as our first stop in NZ and it was by far the worst place we stayed - the front desk staff were very rude and although we had booked a superior double room we were allocated a standard twin room - which they resolved by pushing the beds together. Nobody bothered to congratulate or even welcome us for our honeymoon stay - needless to say we won't be staying at another Rydges hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JKPR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Queensland - Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Booked in here for 3 nights after cruise from Sydney, Check in was chaotic and getting off cruise ship meant we got there early and room not available until after 2pm, so we dropped our luggage and spent the day in the Auckland library which was great, quiet and air con with nice chairs. Finally we got to our room, but luggage took a further 2 hours, which meant we couldnt really have showers etc as we had no clothing. Room was great with excellent view of harbour, we had requested this when booking after reading others tips on tripadvisor, otherwise we would have looked out onto offices or apartments. Air con was great, bed was really soft. Our deal included breakfast which was OK. Hotel was well positioned within city and is surrounded by a great variety of restaurants. Check out was good. They even packed us a takeaway breakfast as we had to leave at 4am for our flight so missed breakfast. Would stay here again. Only issue was room servicing wasnt done until after 2pm, which was a pain as we had gone out after breakfast and returned after lunch to a messy room, so we had to go out again until 4pm which was really inconvenient. There didnt seem to be a concierge as we never had assistance from one when we arrived or left, or went out each day.

Room Tip: Definately ask for Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andromedainfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, Social Media and Marketing Co-ordinator at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the late reply.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us, especially with the room not being tidy on time. We assure you that such issue will not arise in the future.

Hoping the rest of your stay was satisfactory.

Regards

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is geared more to the business person rather than tourists. From check in to check out the staff were not friendly or welcoming. I was travelling with my mother who was visiting from the UK and we had to get housekeeping to split the bed, even this was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, Social Media and Marketing Co-ordinator at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Hi Evelyn,

Sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Our staff will be more considerate. We assure you such issues will not arise in future.

Your feedback is much appreciated.

Regards,

Fiona Dpenha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania...Abington Township
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Rydges and had the best room possible. we were very fortunate because only a very few had both the view of the Waitamata Harbor AND Sky Tower for the New Year's fireworks. We really lucked out here. Bathroom was clean, had a shower and tub and plenty of dressing room. Enough towels for the 2 of us. Terrence was our concierge and he was a wealth of knowledge about Auckland and New Zealand on the whole. He showed us around our room and shared the views of Auckland while explaining about it. That was quite nice of him. Great Scottish man, ex teacher who moved to NZ years ago. Ask for him.. great guy. We were given a code for internet that we could use throughout our stay but we would have to keep logging on. No problem there.. it was free and you'll find that's a rarity with large hotel chains. Service in STK for New Year's Eve dinner started out very nicely but they fouled up the order, ended up giving us a free appetizer but as the night wore on, they got EXTREMELY busy and it took a long while for us to get a bill. They just seemed overwhelmed as if there wasn't enough staff that night. We were in no hurry so it wasn't a problem but we actually had to get up to get their attention. The food was outstanding and the wine pairing was near perfect. Both the lamb and the steak was spectacular and the saffron shrimp risotto with scallop was to die for!!! You can watch the sky walkers and jumpers all day long if you like ( from this room) and yes you can see the apts. next door but just close the sheers and no problem. It's a city so you get people around you. It didn't take away from our experience at all. We just waved at them and smiled. Heck, they don't want us looking in at them either and they live there. Some nearby restaurants that we suggest highly are My Mother's Cafe for great breakfast or lunch. Lovely Chinese woman, very friendly and makes great tasting food with perfect portion size, very good prices and is very entertaining. Also the Mexican Cafe is a second floor restaurant with very good food, generous portions and wonderful drinks. Both are on Victoria St about 2 blocks from the hotel.
Be advised to double check your bill when checking out. We were charged for a movie we didn't watch but we didn't fight it. Probably should have but we thought maybe we hit a button by accident. After thinking about it, we realized it would have double asked us if we wanted to purchase it... oh well.. it was only $20 NZD. We did use their valet parking but you can probably check into local car parks as well. The elevators are great in this hotel except for the one to the far right which is also for staff. that one is a bit jumpy and if you're bothered by movement then avoid this one. Just use the other two. My husband is a little motion sensitive and we learned this the hard way. Oh... Sky Tower seems to change color each night. At least it did while we were there. It's a nice change. We had a phenomenal.. read PHENOMENAL view of the fireworks and couldn't back up enough to take pictures. ITS THAT CLOSE. only one block away but people let me tell you that if you want to see fireworks up close> this is the room. It is higher than the rooftop lounge by 3 floors and has way nicer views. Having said that, if you don't have a corner room at the top of this hotel, go to the rooftop venue for new year's eve. We just didn't have to that's all. We really liked this hotel and everyone in it. Highly recommend it. I hope the pictures help some.

Room Tip: We were far from the elevators so the room was fairly remote. The two elevators on the left side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onamauihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Wow, it certainly sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us at Rydges Auckland over New Years Eve! I loved reading your review and how happy you were with your room and other services in the hotel. Yes we did get quite busy in the restaurant that evening which slowed us down a bit, I apologise for that, but I am so happy you loved all the food and wine pairing, our restaurant staff sure know how to put a meal together.
I will most definitely pass on your wonderful words to all the staff, they will be pleased they made such a great impact on your stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you both back to Rdyges Auckland again very soon.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was kept waiting for my room from 08:30 until 14:05 hours, although being told every 40 minutes or so that it would be ready within the next 40 minutes. I was also told that normally rooms were not available until 14:00 hours.

If they had admitted at the beginning that I could not have my room until 14:00 hours I could have done something with my morning, such as a trip or sight seeing, instead of hanging around.

The second point was that the towels were left on the floor for changing, after day 1, but the maid only hung them back on the rack, not even folded. The shampoo was not renewed either, even though the current one was empty. We finished up buying a shampoo.

I would not choose this hotel again, although I had already booked one night in February- it will be the last night I stay in a Rydges hotel.

Room Tip: do not go for the expensive harbour view room. The view is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
You are absolutely right, we should have let you know from the moment you arrived that check-in was not until 2pm so you could enjoy your morning. I am sure the staff had every intention of getting you settled into your room early but other circumstances prevented this and let you down.
I hope your stay with us next month is much more enjoyable and stress free, we look forward to having the chance to change your initial impression of us and give you the experience you deserve.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Whilst there was nothing 'wrong' with this hotel, we found it to be a little strange. I think the architect might have been on something when designing parts of this hotel. For instance, part of the restaurant area was closed of by big curtains leading me to wonder if there was a stage behind. Another touch of the dramatics can be found in reception with a projection of flames promoting the in-house restaurant (are flames a good image for either a hotel or a restaurant???).
The room was on the smallish size, but just about adequate for us. To get there involved a slightly tortuous corridor to navigate with suitcases, especially when there people (and their trolleys) servicing rooms.
Despite being modern and relatively comfortable, I really think the designers could have done a much better job.
Whilst there is nothing seriously wrong with the hotel, there is also nothing special. I would imagine that there are better hotels of a similar type in Auckland. I would certainly stay elsewhere if I were to visit the city again.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we find the hotel can be quite quirky sometimes which can be interesting and fun for our guests, obviously not to your liking though for which I apologise, it can be difficult to appeal to everyone’s taste.
Thank you again for your comments, we take all reviews and suggestions very seriously so you can be assured your experience with us will be discussed to see if and where changes may need to be made within the hotel.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing