We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel in city”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“Good business hotel in city”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good hotel in a very central location. Good options for food in walking distance. Hotel restaurant exceptionally good. Order the steak! No on site parking which is a downside, adds another NZ$20 to the daily bill for 'valet parking' in parking garage just across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Yes, order the steak! Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland and your recommendation to our stk Lounge Bar and Restaurant, the food is superb and we are very well known for our fantastic steak meals; very much worth a visit whether staying in house or just looking for a great meal out in town.
I am glad you found the hotels location to be very central for your business needs while in Auckland and I sincerely I hope your next stay with us is not too far away.
Regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    901
    292
    93
    32
See reviews for
281
864
141
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I travel a lot for business and it has been a while since I have stayed at Rydges Auckland. Location of the hotel is great, walking distance to SkyCity – ideal if you have a convention there and still want to be close but have the chance to get out and have some fresh air. Easy to get in and out on the main roads for meetings / appointments.

Check in was swift and easy, being a Priority Guest certainly has it’s advantages with you only having to sign your creditcard slip.

Valet Parking, no drama.

I was lucky to have an upgrade and the suite was great, modern but with plenty of colour and warmth. The furniture is practical but homely. A plus for me was the wooden desk (over a glass one), I am still old school and when using my laptop I like to use my mouse which can be impossible without a mouse pad on a glass desk – some thumbs up.

Good food and beverage specials, although I just ended up having room service. Good timing, hot, presentation was very good and most importantly – it was tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Welcome back to Rydges Auckland! I am so pleased we could have you stay with us again. It’s great to read you found the hotel so convenient for your working needs and you are right, signing up to be a Priority Guest has many advantages and well worth becoming a member.
I hope your next stay with us is not too far away.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Rydges Auckland is well located for the CBD and the Sky Tower. We were in Auckland for a show at the Aotea Centre, which was a 10 minute walk from the hotel - as was the Viaduct and the ferry terminals. The hotel is very clean, the room was well appointed with a full mini bar and a good selection of TV stations including in-house films. The bed was big and extremely comfortable. The staff we encountered were all very professional, efficient and courteous. The breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of selection (hot and cold).
Downsides were that the jug (kettle) did not fit under the tap and had to be filled using a cup, and there was some street noise around 6am due to shops opening across the road and refuge collection, (we were on the 2nd floor). But these were not a big problem.

I would recommend Rydges as a place to stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the higher floors would be less effected by the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Rydges Auckland is in a great location in town and I am so pleased you found it so easy to get to your show in Aotea Square and so many other great attractions in the city. Thank you so much for your review, it’s great to read you found the bed big and comfortable, the staff to be great and our breakfast buffet to have plenty of selection for you in the morning.
We would love to welcome you back to the hotel and I hope this is not too far away.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I arrived at Rydges around 9pm on a Friday night, checked in without hassle, the parking isn't exactly on-site which is a nusiance but not a dealbreaker by any means. Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, the place was quiet, bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The next morning when I phoned the front desk for some extra towels (Room was booked for 4 but only 2 towels provided, go figure..) at 7.15am nothing turned up. I checked out at 8.40am and still nothing had arrived - perhaps a communication problem amongst staff but annoying as it's a simple request. It was a nice suprise for a 4.5 star mystery deal but I probably wouldn't pay full price for a night in the future. What constitutes 4.5 stars? The $4.50 bottles of water for sale in the room or the shower curtains in the bathroom? Or the horrendous buildup of dirt in the windows?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Those Mystery Deals are a lot of fun to get a great deal staying in the city. I am so pleased you had a good night sleep after your hassle free check in and I do apologise about the miscommunication with the towels, I know this can be frustrating when trying to get ready in the morning and I will be sure to discuss with the staff to ensure it is an isolated incident. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend in town and I sincerely hope to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Where do I start. We arrived at 6pm and was not greater by any staff members for our luggage. We proceeded to reception where we checked in and took our own luggage up to our room. We paid over $1500 for 8 nights so I had high expectations. We were not happy with our room as we paid for a Kind Harbour View room and we got a Marine View and our bed was not king size. I went back to reception and complained the lady didn't care and i expressed that our bed was not a king size, she proceeded to tell me that its a little bit smaller then a king size which we have in Australia, she still proceeded to tell me that it was a King Size. It was not a king size to be carefull when you book. The manager then took me to the other room where we stayed but still didn't have a harbour view we had a marine view and still not a king size bed. We found the staff not to be polite and we never got greeted by staff when walking past them in the hotel. We also paid $35 per day for valet parking as this was there only option. What a rip off. They tell you to call and give them 10 minutes to get your car then come down. Every single morning we did this and when we arrived at reception they had not even got our car. We found the staff to be lazy and not friendly at all. We also found reception and concierge disorginized. Quite a lot of Airlines use this hotel which is frustrating when in reception as there is so many of them. The only possitive thing from our stay was you get free Wi Fi however this wasn't working for 2 out of the 8 days we were there which was frustrating again they didn't even offer a free internet service for these 2 days. We ordered room service for 1 of the nights which was lovely. The hotel is central if thats what you need but far from a 4 star thats for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your very detailed review on Rydges Auckland, I am so sorry that the staff were not their usually fantastic selves during your stay with us, we always get rave reviews about how great they are so it really disappoints me that on this instance they did not live up to expectation. I will most definitely discuss this with all the staff to ensure we keep up our usual great service all of the time.
8 nights is a great long stay in Auckland so I hope you were able to see everything the city has to offer, Waiheke Island is just a short ferry ride away and they have some great wineries and restaurants over there, there are also some lovely beaches around Auckland and heaps of shows in town to keep you entertained for the week.
I hope we get to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland again very soon for another long city getaway.
Warm regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great staff.
I stayed there more than once due to work and the hotel is good.
One block away from Sky Tower the position offers a lot of options for dinner, bar and everything that city center offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am so glad you found the location of the hotel to be great, it is so close to so many of the things you would want to see and do in the city, all within a short walking distance from the front doors. I hope we get to see you again very soon as we would love to have you back for work or just a fun weekend away.
Kindest regards,
Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here in a Superior King room and had a enjoyable stay. Room was a corner room with an unobstructed view of the SkyTower and the city. Very centrally located but wasn't noisy. Comfortable bedding and a very presentable modern "Rydges typical" room. Flat screen TV with all the channels you could want. Bathroom was very clean and modern.

We had breakfast included in our rate and the variety and quality was excellent. The usual suspects with the hot selection, but not dried out like you find with some buffets. The selection of juices was awesome. Plenty of fresh fruit and they also had self serve bottles of flavoured milk for the kids (but big kids can get them too !) You can purchase an espresso coffee, which was very good.

If your hiring a car the Avis city office is an easy 2 minute walk away in Nelson st.

I would have no issues staying here again.

Room Tip: High (above level 4) corner rooms will have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
The views are great from all different ends of the hotel, but the Sky Tower I think is one of the best! During the day you can see the thrill seekers jump and at night it is lit up and looks rather beautiful.
I am so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast in the morning; we try and have as many options for all of our guests as we can, even a few things for the kids (and big kids) too.
I hope your next stay with us is not too far away as we would love to welcome you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing