We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch convenient place to stay... (and they have a furry wall!)”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I always stay here when in Akld on business. Super convenient location and top quality, clean, comfy rooms. Check in is always a breeze and as a club member I generally get a welcome letter... no goodies though... not yet!
My only minor niggle this time was the shower over the bath. It's not a hugh bath and the last person "kindly" left the shower nozzle pointing out of the bath... instant wet floor!
Breaky was great as usual and great to see they have replaced the free flow condiments with little jars of jam etc... still no marmite or vegemite though!
Perfect place for a quick business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We do have a furry wall! To go with the restaurants stk (steak) theme the walls are lined with faux cow hide to give it that authentic steakhouse feel, we get many great comments on it so I am pleased you like it too.
It’s great to hear you love staying with us while in town on business and I am happy to let you know those baths under the showers are on their way out. We have nearly completed the last half of the hotel to be fitted with wonderfully large luxurious showers where hopefully we notice the wrong facing shower heads before another guest checks in next time.
I look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,127)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in a Harbour view room on floor 7 for two nights and was very happy with this hotel. The room was nicely decorated in a simple modern style & had a nice view out to the harbour (it's about 2-3 blocks walk to the harbour). The room wasn't big but was ok & had a desk with chair, plus an armchair. The bathroom was a little cramped but clean & again modern. Good heavy curtains to block morning light & good sized flatscreen tv. Could walk to the Viaduct in 5mins or less which was great as theres loads of cafes & restaurants to choose from. About the same distance or even closer to Sky City Casino. Breakfast had a good array of hot foods (sauages, scrambeled eggs, hashbrowns, mushrooms in sauce etc) plus various types of bread & several sweet treats. Also the standard cereals, some fruit, juices, tea & coffee. They also had small bottles of flavoured milk which seemed to be very popular with the kiddies. Overall hotel decor was very pleasant, as were staff. There was no balcony which was a shame but not sure if any rooms had a balcony. I also have to mention that it's only a 2min walk to The Mexican Cafe which has a great happy hour if you are into mexican!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siglo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

The view of the Harbour is truly wonderful but some evening sunsets can be absolutely magical, I hope you were able to enjoy this during your 2 nights with us.
Rydges is located in such a great spot in the city for so many of the great restaurants and bars for happy hour, but don’t forget our stk Restaurant and Lounge Bar has a fabulous Happy Hour as well and is well worth a visit for a relaxing drink before dinner.
I hope to see you back at Rydges Auckland very soon.
Regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving at the airport nearly 33 hours after we stepped out of our front door at home, we needed to crash out. The Supershuttle into town deposited us at the front door of Rydges and literally within 5 minutes we were checked in, bags were brought to the room and we were passed out in a super comfortable bed. Not bad for 1am!

Jet lag of course woke us up too early to be ideal, so after a power shower the likes of which I've not encountered before (that's a good thing by the way), we were very please to find some excellent service, coffee and breakfast. Great start!

The hotel is perfectly suited for everything, from fine dining (The Grove is 2 minutes walk), the sky tower (2 minutes walk the other way) and 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street, Queens Street.

It's not the most lavish hotel and the nature of Auckland means it's downhill to the fun stuff and up hill to the hotel, but it's a seriously good value hotel, perfectly situated and really helpful staff.

Recommended highly (note for the Les Mills crowd- if you're going to the "home of Les Mills" for a class or filming, you can't get much more ideally suited, it's about 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apfromstalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

How great of a relief is it after such a long time travelling to just go straight to your hotel room and sleep?! I am so pleased this was made especially easy for you and our newly refurbished showers worked their magic to help revive you in the morning, they are truly great.
Rydges is situated in such a perfect location in the city for all sorts of shows with the Civic Theatre just down the road, Vecter Arena about a 15min walk away and of course Sky City is literally on the next block.
I hope the rest of your travels have been just as smooth and exciting and I look forward to the next time we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland.
Warm regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the Rydges over a weekend. The Rydges is a modern 4 star hotel with good facilities. Centrally located near Sky City yet it is also quiet. The rooms are well appointed and if you can get up on a high floor you can get views of the harbour. One more thing....the food in the restaurant is very very good and that includes the room service meals. If you are a PGR member you also get 20% of food and beverage (not including room service).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I hope you had a wonderful weekend in Auckland and I am so pleased we could be such a positive part of your trip. Our stk Restaurant and Lounge Bar really is fantastic and well worth a visit whether staying in house or just looking for a great meal in town, or a quiet drink before bed.
You are right; our Priority Guest Rewards program has some great benefits and is definitely worth signing up to for some really great deals.
I hope your next weekend in Auckland is not too far away as we would love to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location - for all city sights and activities. We were only here for one night after "Disney on Ice"! Room was perfect for a one night stay with the four of us in one room. Nice, modern room. Nice bathroom. TV didn't work all that well, but for one night we handled it. Service was good. Would definitely stay again. Super handy to Sky City/Tower, and close to Queen St. Only downside was hadn't read anywhere that there wasn't parking onsite. Parking is available right next door but you have to pay for it. Otherwise a lovely classy hotel with lots of benefits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in town, even Vector Arena is just a short stroll away! I hope you loved Disney on Ice; I took my 3 year old daughter last weekend and she absolutely loved it! I hope your next visit up to Auckland isn't too far away as we would love to have you all back for another great family weekend in town.
Kindest regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Checking in -brilliant service also taking our bags up to our room. Restaurant staff were amazing thank you. Valet parking excellent made our trip that much easier - Room was a bit of a let down - could have been a bit cleaner - beds were very comfortable and great view of sky tower - very handy to Civic Theatre

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

It's so great to read that you found the staff and service at Rydges Auckland to be brilliant and amazing! We love what we do so it's easy to give great and happy service to all our guests, I will most definately pass on your wonderful comments to all the staff though as we love to hear it! I hope you and the girls had a fantastic weekend in town and we so look forward to your next deserved weekend away very soon.
Warm regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

stayed here three nights for a Conference amazing service and food.Handy location close to Sky City Casino shops, buses and trAins.
countdown supermarket close by for wine, food and everything else you may require

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemaryc438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased you had a great conference with us and I will share with the staff your lovely comments on their service and food; creating great events for our guests is a pleasure and we loved having you all here.
I look forward to having you here again for your next conference, hopefully it's not too far away.
Best regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $128 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing