We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value central location”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Purchased on a secret hotel room deal for $109 AUD/night over a Fri/Sat night, so great value for such a central location. Top floor rooms great, check in efficient and downstairs bar/lobby good for a drink. Very close to Depot, a must do dinner spot. Wifi didn't work that well in room at top floor, good in the lobby. You can purchase premium wifi pack not sure how that works on top floors so check before purchasing. Rooms clean and have been refurbished. I probably wouldn't pay more than what I paid tho, considering a 5* secret hotel room is around $150AUD a night. All in all a pleasant enough stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincessFisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I hope you had a great weekend exploring Auckland; and you're right, Depot is certianly a must for a fantastic dinner spot just up the road from the hotel. Our STK Bar and Restaurant is a great place for a casual drink or a fantastic steak meal too and well worth a visit.
Hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,517 - 1,523 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a night here for work. The hotel managed to muck up the booking, but when this was noted, upgraded us with out any fuss. The hotel was recently renovated and was very comfortable. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was a bit disappointing at $31 for the full buffet. Book a room with a view as there are some lovely views of Auckland harbour. Stuff were very friendly and helpful. We very much enjoyed staying here and would return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rod4178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I do apologies for your booking getting mixed up but I am pleased we were able to rectify this with a room upgrade for your stay. The view of the harbour and the bridge are awesome, and at sunset can be just magical.
I hope your next stay with us is not too far away.
Kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Rydges Auckland 5 years ago and we returned In Jan 2013. The location is central to everything yet it's not noisy. The rooms facing the water in the back have great views. The staff is very professional, helpful, and friendly. The beds are great and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. I will stay here again next time I return to Auckland.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back and on the upper floors have beautiful water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, you would have noticed I'm sure how much the hotel has changed since your last stay with us 5 years ago - more rooms, upgraded bathrooms, lobby and restaurant - and they all look great!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland on your next visit to the city, hopefully sooner than 5 years.
Best wishes,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were staying one night in Auckland before catching a Celebrity cruise. Upon arrival, we had a short wait as the room was not ready. However, we were given drink chits and enjoyed a drink at the bar while waiting. The room was small, clean and well appointed. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is in a great location and it's an easy walk to the sky tower, wharf and Queen Street. It's a $12 NZ dollar cab ride - with luggage - to the cruise terminal. We noticed many pre / post cruisers staying at the hotel. Good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cascadeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased to read you had a great stay with us before going on your cruise which I hope was just magical as well.
We do get many cruise guests stay with us due to our location to both the wharf and the rest of the city to explore.
I hope we can welcome you back again for another great cruise holiday.
With kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice in last one year, with a recent stay this week. The hotel is average with few benefits as being centrally located (which quite a few of them are in Auckland), free internet available for guests and decent bar / restaurant. The restaurant offers good Italian dishes.
They also have paid internet with higher speed. However, this paid internet is suitable for one device only. At a downside, we experienced that the staff isn't regular in cleaning the rooms. Our rooms weren't cleaned the first day and realized this when we came back to hotel around late noon. We requested the staff and they mentioned that it'll be done. However, it wasn't done and was done only the next day.
Otherwise, the staff was friendly and did help us out, whenever required. One positive out of our stay - The internet charges of the paid internet were waived off.
The hotel has a direct pickup and drop from Airport Shuttle, otherwise Cab will charge around NZD 70-80 from Airport.
Overall, the hotel is average and if you get good rates, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suitcaser-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it's great to hear from our returning guests and I hope we can continue welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for bringing the housekeeping issue to my attention as this will be discussed and rectified immediately so as to not happen again.
The hotel is in a great location and our STK restaurant has some fantastic dishes and well worth a visit.
I hope your next stay with us is not too far away.
With warm regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel, room was small, housekeeping woke us up and then did a very poor job of our room, worst made bed I have ever come across in any hotel in any country I have ever stayed. Car parking is also a problem, we had to park our rental car in the Skytower car park across the road. If you give the ticket to reception you pay them $22 and give you a ticket to use when exiting the car parking building. No view from the room and breakfast was average, usual spread - cereal and fruit, bacon eggs etc, OK but certainly nothing special and the tables were a mess and I didn't find the staff particularly helpful. You have to pay for wifi, free in lobby.
On a positive note the beds were comfortable, bathroom OK shower over the bath a little small. Also the room was quiet which was good considering it was the weekend. Location is good very close to shopping and restaurants. Didn't eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on meals other than breakfast. Would definitely look for another hotel when next visiting Auckland.
Note the photo of the room was taken the day after I complained about housekeeping.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daxter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I do apologies you were somewhat disappointed with your stay with us recently and we would love the chance to change your impression of us the next time you stay. Good news regarding the bathroom is that we are in the process of removing the baths to make a large luxurious shower which opens up the bathrooms beautifully; half of the hotel has been completed with the other half due to be finished by the end of Winter this year. 
I hope when we do welcome you back you get to try our STK restaurant, the food is wonderful and it gets great reviews.
With best regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked a Deluxe King Harbour-view Room (1411) at good member-deal rates via Priority Guest Rewards. Room was on top floor on corner with a view of the harbour although view was part-obstructed by another building and across the top of other buildings. Check-in was friendly and room and facilities were OK and clean but not sure we'd have been as satisfied if paying full rate for a Deluxe room. Not having stayed in Auckland before, we didn't realise the hotel was on the hilly periphery of the CBD, but since we like to walk a lot anyway, it was tolerable.

We had a rental car and check-in was a bit of a nuisance with limited and congested parking right in front of the hotel and in nearby streets. The hotel has no on-site parking, but has a discount arrangement with a conveniently-located nearby car park associated with Sky Tower where we parked for 2 days. We decided not to take the car out until time to leave since the car park charges on a per-exit basis, ie, each time you leave, so running back and forth could be a bit expensive.

The breakfast selection was a decent range but busy when we stayed and table clean-up service was a bit slow. Even after two requests to tidy up a table, we had no result and did it ourselves.

The hotel location was relatively quiet, but a downside for our room was a close and even taller residential apartment opposite our main window. Just our luck that on our second night there was a noisy party directly opposite and we heard all of it until about 2am.

Overall the stay was fine at the rate charged, but if we were in Auckland again we might look out for somewhere a bit closer to the harbour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longplannedholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I hope you had a wonderful time exploring the city during your 2 night stay with us, it's a great city to explore by foot.
Thank for for sharing your experience with us and I will be sure to discuss the lack of service during your breakfast with the relevant managers to ensure this does not happen again.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $135 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing