We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Auckland Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Auckland Hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Rydges Auckland this past weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 8th floor had a nice view and was very pleasant. Extremely comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast at STK was good as was their selection of desserts which we enjoyed the end of an evening out. Great central location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased to read your enjoyed your weekend with us while visiting the city and found the location very central for your needs in town.
Our STK Restaurant really is fantastic so am I glad you loved the selection of wonderful desserts to enjoy at the end of your evenings.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland for another deserved weekend away very soon.
Warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    885
    289
    89
    32
See reviews for
273
850
140
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
putaruru
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for the night to see the Mary Poppins show. Hotel nice and clean we were on the 9th floor with a view overlooking the harbour bridge. Very quiet. The morning paper on the sunday morning was not expected but apprecieated as were the chocolates on the bed. Will stay again.

Room Tip: If possible I would get a room higher up overlooking the harbour side was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I heard many great reviews on the Mary Poppins show so I hope you enjoyed your night out in town too.
I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland for another night away very soon.
With kindest regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recently stayed for one night on a work trip from Sydney.
Arrived abit before the standard 2pm checkin and was told room wasn't ready (full the night before) and was told it would be 20-30 minutes. Sure enough it was ready 20 minutes later.
While the room was small (and you need to remember that a king-size bed in Australia is bigger than it's NZ counterpart) it was clean and functional.
However it was the room service that was absolutely superb. While garlic bread wasn't on the menu it was no problem to order it. The hotel-standard beef burger was the best I have had compared to anywhere else. The presentation was also superb - something that Australian hotels can/should aspire to. Real salt and pepper shakers plus other condiments were greatly appreciated.
The staff were very helpful even before I arrived (suggesting airport shuttle service) was of a high standard.
I can't recommend the Rydges Auckland highly enough for either a business or holiday stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentOzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it certainly sounds like you had a great stay with us and I am so pleased you found your room service to be absolutely superb – the staff here really are fantastic and love what they do and this shows in their great service.
I do hope you will be back to stay with us again very soon.
With best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights on the second floor on the left hand side of the building. Was woken between 4 and 5 every morning by a noisy rubbish truck emptying bins. The hotel itself was great. Good size rooms. The shower drainage was not good as the water seemed to run out of the shower into the toilet area and the shower mat couldn't cope with it all. The chocolates were a lovely touch the week I stayed as were the M2 magazines. The only thing I objected to were the bottles of water beside the bed. I thought they were free as opened one, only to find on the back of it a slip that said that it cost $5. I think all drinks that need to be paid for should be kept in the minibar fridge/ area. I wasn't charged but did complain when checking out and the lady said that they had discussed it with the manager but nothing had happened. I left my luggage with the desk staff. Had no problems. Very convenient to town and the Sky Tower convention Centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up and not on the left hand side (west) of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluelady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you thought the chocolates and magazines were a lovely touch and found the hotel to be in a convenient location for your needs in town. Please be assured that all reviews and comments are taken very seriously and regularly reviewed and discussed within the hotel.
I do hope you had a great 3 nights in Auckland and I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With best wishes,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed in the Rydges as my son was competing in the Triathlon World Championships. Excellent customer service through out especially when we got stuck in the lift on our first evening. Must make a special mention for the member of the housekeeping staff who serviced our room he went out of his way to help and the exceptionally attentive restaurant manager from Argentina. The only negative, but it is quite a big negative, was that i was very ill after eating a seafood risotto despite reporting this to the hotel they refused to accept responsibility but we have since heard that other people also experienced similar problems after eating in the restaurant. Also the chef refused to facilitate my son's request for plain pasta with tomato sauce - he told him to have the spaghetti from the buffet and take the meatballs out not very good in an a la carte restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. How exciting to have your son competing in the Triathlon World Championships in Auckland, I hope he had a great time competing and you had a great time cheering him on, it was certainly an exciting time in the city and we had a great time catering for all the athletes staying in the hotel.
I hope your son will be back next year to compete again as we would love to welcome you all back to Rydges Auckland again.
With best regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A good place to stay in Auckland, room were typical Rydges quality, good size, service was excellent, recommend staying here when visiting Auckland. It is in the middle of CBD area and about 5 minutes walk to the Casino and about 10 to the harbour area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found the service of the staff here at the hotel to be excellent and the location fantastic for your needs in town. I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With kindest regards,

Quenton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located for all the action in Auckland, a five minute walk to harbour ferries, five minutes to the main shops in Queen Street and 30 seconds from the Sky Tower. It is also handy for exploring north of Auckland and down as far as Rotorua. Need a hire car, the hotel staff will sort it.
The hotel itself is clean, well decorated with a good bar and reasonable restaurant (not sure it is as good as they claim though). The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and there is always that broad Kiwi smile. I had a twin room and the beds were big enough to sleep.
Negatives - cannot remember a single one.
If I am lucky enough to visit this great country again then this hotel will be the base for the Auckland and northern are visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiggerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. You are spot on with all your review highlights – we are very centrally located and so close to anything you may want to see and do in town, the staff will help with anything you may need and our STK Restaurant and Lounge Bar are as good as they claim; so hopefully the next time you are in New Zealand to visit the Northen end you can try it out for yourself, you will not be disappointed.
I do hope you are lucky enough to visit this great country again as we would love to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
Warm regards,

Quenton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Property: Rydges Auckland
Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing