We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent our last night at Rydges. Though it's located in the central shopping area, we didn't have a hard time getting a street parking right in front of the hotel. It's just minutes walk to the casino and the main shopping street. Service was prompt and friendly. We liked the room even though it faces another apartment and you can see everyone in that building doing their own business. And obviously they can see you too.

The bed was comfortable and the rooms were of a moderate size. We were happy to end our 3 week holiday in NZ here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluefish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I do hope you had a wonderful time travelling around New Zealand and saw as much of the country as possible in your 3 weeks here. There really is a lot to see and do so I hope you were able to fit it all in.
I hope you had a safe trip home and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland again in the future.
Kind regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a great stay in Sept 2012. The location is right in the heart of the city and we had a room in the corner of the building with a fantastic view of the Sky Tower and the Auckland harbor. The bed and shower were both very clean and nice. All of our experiences with the staff were pleasant and they were eager to help whenever we asked.

One thing to note is that one side of the building, facing the Sky Tower, looks onto a huge apartment building. As a result, there about 40 different units that can see into your room if you have the windows open. Wasn't really an issue for us because the views were sensational, but if you're seeking privacy, you might have an aversion to the setup.

Overall great experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenkarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you had a great stay with us in September of this year and found the hotel to be in a fantastic location and loved the views from your room. The hotel is very central and close to everything you may need in town; as such we do have other city buildings around, but we also have fantastic views of the SkyTower, the city and the harbour, each with their own unique qualities.
I do hope e can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon for another great stay.
Best wishes,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 3-5 October. Got a nice room with plenty of space for our 4 suitcases and bags with two very comfortable double beds. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was very nice with reasonable prices. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the viaduct and Queen Street. The staff are very helpful. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you enjoyed your room and found it to have plenty space for you both and your belongings. Our STK Restaurant truly is wonderful so I am glad you thought so too.
We would love to welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With Best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Courteous and attentive front desk staff that acknowledge me as soon as I walk through the door. Spacious room with modern interior settings as expected from 4.5 star hotel, loving the rain shower head. Gym available but no pool. Great selection at buffet breakfast bar. Free wifi in public area is a great plus as most hotels charge astronomical fees for it. Close to Sky Tower and Queen Street.

Room Tip: Join Priority Guest Rewards for better deals and late checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolf1437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you found so many positive attributes to write about the hotel during your stay with us. We are very proud of what we have to offer our guests and I am pleased you think so too.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland again very soon.

Best wishes,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Rydges was a nice place to stay. The bed was comfortable, and the room had all the amenities you would expect from a big chain hotel. The room service food was okay, but nowhere near as good as the food available from nearby restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. The valet parking was well worth it, as I didn't see any nearby parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor - absolutely beautiful at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westgirl_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. The Rydges Dream Beds really are fantastic and we do get a lot of positive feedback from guests having great night sleeps so I am pleased you found them comfortable also. Being inner city we are very close to so many wonderful restaurants around town but make sure to try out our STK Restaurant the next time you stay as it really is fantastic.
Your room tip is great, the view of the Harbour is stunning at night, especially as the sun is going down.
Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for our first 2 nights in NZ. The location was gerat - walking distance to many great places. The buffet breakfast was great. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to an issue in the first room - the 2nd room was much bigger (but didn't have a great view). Big enough for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids (6 and 3). The service we received was fantastic. Would stay again when in Auckland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it sounds like you had a great time with the family while in town and I am so pleased we were able to contribute to the start of your holiday. I do hope the rest of your holiday was excellent and the kids behaved themselves!
I do hope we can welcome you and your family back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

Best wishes,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Concierge - attentive
Room size - good
Bathroom - clean and good shower
Valet parking - cheaper than parking in the carpark next door

Initially a bit tricky to find Federal Street in Auckland with the one way direction flow of some streets, but location is convenient!

Room Tip: Become a member of their loyalty club, which is free, to receive further discounts when making a boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_sensei83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your room and found our location to be convenient for your needs in town. I hope the rest of your NZ trip fantastic and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

With kind regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $151 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing