We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for biz trip”
Review of Rydges Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Auckland
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location, friendly staff. Great value. Stayed in town for business and arch up with friends. Upgraded on arrival - nice surprise.
Wifi in rooms is average & water bottles bedside should be free or not there - only improvements to be made

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, we take all comments and suggestions from guests extremely seriously so I thank you for your comments. I do hope you enjoyed your time in town and had a great catch up with your friends.
With best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed three nights for a conference and would happily return. The room was spacious and modern and the staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. Arriving at 2.45pm and not having access to my room was a little frustrating when the conference opened at 3.45pm. I was not the only person waiting for a room and I felt particularly sorry for visitors from across the Tasman who had been travelling many hours. However the rest of my stay was stress free and comfortable. Comfy bed, lovely breakfasts and handy to most amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hello,
Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, firstly I would like to apologise for your wait upon arrival for your room, I can understand how this can be frustrating, especially when you have a conference to attend.
But I am pleased that the rest of your 3 night stay was stress free and comfortable and you enjoyed the comfy beds and lovely breakfasts. Your title also says a lot as we are extrememly proud of the conferencing options available at Rydges Auckland so I am so pleased you found it to be a perfect venue for your event.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland soon.
With kind regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

You usually know what you are getting with a Rydges hotel. So had another pleasant Rydges stay. Nice location in Central Auckland, acceptable food and friendly staff. Great beds! Lovely bathroom. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased you had another great stay with us. I am glad you mentioned the lovely bathroom as we are currently in the process of refurbishing them in the original tower , so I am very pleased you liked it.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland for another great stay.
Best wishes,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I wish I could comment on the hotel as a whole but unfortunately I can only comment on the customer service as after a long day of travel we arrived at the hotel where we were told they had overbooked their rooms and our reservations were no longer there. Please note that we booked our rooms 6 months in advance and paid in full. Their managers were not only rude and unapologetic about the whole situation but they did not provide us with any "make good" items for our troubles. They tries to put us in a lessor hotel and we would not stand for it. This was not an isolated incident as they were telling six more rooms that night they wouldn't have accommodation and when we spoke to our travel guide in the morning he said that he had just had the same thing happen to a group he toured earlier in the month. There are a ton of hotels in the area at the same price range that I would give my money to instead of these jerks!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eryka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I enjoyed our stay at Rydges Auckland,I live in Auckland went to a conference & decided to stay in the city,great food & service.
The one thing I do have a beef about is the cost of valet parking & self parking, valet is $30.00 a night,if you park yourself & then want to go out you have to pay $20.00 everytime you take out your car & return,a bit over the top I thought.
The hotel was very comfortable though & you can walk to most places in the inner city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, it pleases me to read that you found the hotel to have great food and service and very comfortable for your needs in town. In regards to your parking comments; parking can be an issue when staying in the city which is why we give our guests many different options regarding their vehicles – valet is obviously the most convenient but guests also have the option of self parking which can work out cheaper if requiring their vehicles many times over the course of their stay.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.

Warm regards,
Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great central location with good sized rooms with great service. Hotel restaurant is also fantastic. Overall a great place to stay on business or pleasure in Auckland. Very handy location only one block over from Sky City.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland, I am so pleased to read you found the hotel to be in a great location with great service, I am also pleased you found our STK Restaurant fantastic as we think it is too and are very proud of it.

I looked forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Auckland very soon.
With best regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I just stayed at the Rydges for the weekend.

We had a suite which was huge! it was clean tidy and modern. We would definately recommend this hotel and use it again in the future. Good service and very handy to everything in AKL CBD.

Room Tip: Book a suite! they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Auckland, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on Rydges Auckland. I am so pleased you enjoyed your suite and found it very modern and huge. The hotel is on a great location as you said and so close to everything you need for a great weekend away in the city.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon for another great weekend in Auckland.
Warm regards,

Quenton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $128 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing