We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WobbeGONG!?”

Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.50*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Kelly Tarlton’s is New Zealand’s most famous aquarium! It is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans. For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure jump into the shark tank and go snorkeling with 14 massive sharks or jump on the ice and get up close and personal with the King and Gentoo penguins!
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Another great trip to KT. Last time was 6 years ago and a lot has changed. General improvements. Great selection of local and offshore sea critters. A lot to do for kids and adults alike. The highlights had to be the Wobbegong shark (see if you can spot it) and the albino crayfish. Currently they have a great sea horse exhibition and shoe movies showing how they were captured!

Thank RodLidgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful selection of sea creatures including our one and only camouflage Wobbegong shark. It is great to hear you like the changes we’ve made through the aquarium including our seahorse exhibition. We hope to see you back for a visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,460 of 2,353 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had heard so much about how great this attraction was from fellow family members of my wive's that I maybe had too great an expectation of what it was going to be deliver. Having paid over $100 for the family entry I definitely found that in terms of value for money it no where near gave as much as say Auckland Zoo which we went to yesterday.
Seeing the Penguins made me feel kinda sad - being underground just didn't feel right them not seeing the sky ...ever. The stingrays were cool and then the underwater tunnel was okay but then that was it. Finished. Having been to other aquariums in Sydney and Birmingham (UK) KT's just did not have enough variety and exhibit's for what we paid. If you have to make a choice - go to Auckland Zoo - enough to look at for the whole day and $30 cheaper !

3  Thank SkyblueWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTs_Phil_McG, General Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. Sorry you were disappointed with your visit. Thank you for your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly Tarlton's, similar to Auckland Zoo as you mentioned, has high operating costs due to our care of the animals, which is the cornerstone of our operation. Auckland Zoo is a council-owned, not for profit entity, with significant grants which subsidise their ticket prices. Kelly Tarlton's is a private organisation and our sole source of income comes from admissions, which dictates our pricing levels. Regarding your comments about our penguins, we are regularly audited both internally and externally Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Pre purchased tickets online and saved a few $ and allowed us to jumped the as it was busy due to school holidays. Good value and educational all up only let down was the cafe with lack of choice and seating. Staff friendly and kids loved additional kids holiday treasure hunt. Good bad weather option and will go back in the future

Thank MAMFLanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for our response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. Glad to hear you booked online to receive a great discount and were able to join our priority queue. Thank you for your advice regarding our food choice and lack of seating your comments have been noted and we will look into this. Thank you for letting us know the staff are doing a great job and that you liked the treasure hunt! We hope you got to witness Bex the Mermaid on your visit as she is our special guest these school holidays. Hope to see you again soon 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just wow! I was absolutely amazed by the penguins, how well looked after they are and the amount of space they have! Plenty of windows to view these beautiful creatures! I was lucky enough to get there at feeding time so there was even more to see! A lot of interactive gadgets and information along the way so great for keeping kids entertained! Managed to watch the stingrays getting fed and was shocked by the sheer size of the two of them compared to the lady in the tank with them. Absolutely massive! I also love the underwater tunnel with all the sharks and beautiful fish swimming around you and above you! An absolutely amazing experience and would recommend to anyone!

Thank BeccaChapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous penguins and our fantastic stingrays; you are entirely correct with your view that care for our animals is the most important thing that we do here. Glad the kids enjoyed all of the interactives and information. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a great indoor activity in Auckland for those rainy days. We took our 2 young children while on holiday recently and we all enjoyed it. We went on a weekend so it was quite busy which did make it more difficult to push our pram through the crowds, but it wasn't too bad.

The highlight for us was definitely the penguins. So amazing to watch them in their beautiful enclosure. The aquarium is well set out with lots of information to view, as well as plenty of sea life to look at. There is a cute kids play area near the coffee shop which our children enjoyed too.

It isn't a huge attraction and we were in and out in around 1.5 hours and this was with 2 trips through the tunnel and a play in the play area. Was a lovely afternoon out, though a little expensive.

Thank kated28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. Wonderful to hear you and your children enjoyed your visit. Our penguins are very popular and it is great to hear you also liked seeing them. We hope you got to catch some of our animal feedings we have going on throughout the day such as our stingray fed which happen daily at 11am, 1pm and 3pm. Caring for our animals, the core of our business, does have a high cost. We are solely funded by our admissions revenue so this is reflected in our pricing. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sea Life Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing