We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All manner of things”

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.66*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #19 of 269 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All manner of things”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Well worth the visit. Yes it is an aquarium but it is so well presented and informative for all ages. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and it was wheelchair friendly which my wife liked as it made it easy to view all the exhibits and activities. I especially enjoyed the accurate atmospheric mock up of Scott's Base in Antartica. Well Done.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. It is fantastic to hear our facilities were able to make yours and your wife’s visit easy and accessible. We completed a large upgrade throughout the aquarium in 2012 including new exhibits and displays it is great to hear you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    757
    400
    112
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still awesome!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Would visit every 7 years with our children who are all now adults. Thought it would be pertinent to re-visit on our recent trip to Auckland with all four adult children in late teens, early 20's. They were just as thrilled and bubbly with excitement as they were at ages 6 years, 13 years - cool to see. New exhibitions with the Seahorse sanctuary, and whilst they were looking forward to the penguin ride, it no longer exists, but I think it's much better for the penguins that way. The epitomy is always the conveyer belt ride around the waters. Beautiful Maori artefacts decorate the inside tanks, giving it a mystical, cultural flavour to the environment belonging to the children of Tangaroa - much appreciated by us as Maori. Nga Mihi Nui Kelly Tarlton.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are pleased to hear you and your family still enjoy visiting the aquarium. Glad to see you enjoyed many of our highlights – the famous tunnel through the ocean tanks, amazing seahorses and our wonderful penguins. Great to hear you like the changes we’ve made to our penguin colony area. We hope to see you back for a visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Take your children there !”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Educational, family friendly and not too large - perfect for a 2-3 hours family outing. Excellent penguin show.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Runar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and found it educational – which is something we try really hard to achieve. We’re glad you enjoyed the penguin show, we run our penguin feed every day at 11.30am and many guests tell us it’s a highlight of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Penquins are divine”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wow! A great place to visit for any age. Kids(& adults) absolutely besotted by the penguins. Excellent educational experience. Highly recommended

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRWakaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, and found it educational – which is something we try really hard to achieve. We hope to see you back here again 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sea Life Thriller”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A trip or Holiday to Auckland without a visit to Kelly Tarltons Sea Life Aquarium would be an opportunity lost. Whilst I found entance fee's a little on the high side $36 (though I must admit I paid as a senior $28) I would have thought that to encourage parents to bring thier children for a visit that child fee's of $18 are a little in excess. However that aside It is a marvellous experience with over 30 animal displays, the largest collection of sharks in NZ ,the biggest species of stingray, which can be observed at really close quarters, and the World's largest Penquin colony display with daily snow created to encompass the surounds. all within 3 million litres of sea water,this attraction is a wonderful experience which you would comfortabley spend at least 1 to 2 hours enjoying.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank justso78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit.
I appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly Tarlton's, has high operating costs due to our care of the animals, which is the cornerstone of our operation. Unlike other animal based attractions which receive council funding, Kelly Tarlton's is a private organisation and our sole source of income comes from admissions, which dictates our pricing levels.
We are glad to see you enjoyed many of our highlights – our large display of sharks, our wonderful penguins and our majestic stingrays. We hope you got to experience our penguin feed which happens every day at 11.30am. If not we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing