We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience but overpriced”

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.40*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Ranked #19 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Kelly Tarlton's is a must see for any visitor to Auckland. The penguin enclosure is awesome, and the aquarium itself is very good with undersea habitats really well recreated. Unfortunately the pricing is way over the top. If the entry fee had been reasonable I would have rated this attraction far higher. Presumably the pricing is targeted at overseas tourists who are in the country with money to spend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. I am really glad to hear that you had a great visit. I appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly Tarlton's, has high operating costs due to our care of the animals, which is the cornerstone of our operation. Unlike other animal based attractions which receive council funding, Kelly Tarlton's is a private organisation and our sole source of income comes from admissions, which dictates our pricing levels. . We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the penguin enclosure, it’s a highlight for many of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    730
    377
    110
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great place to take your grandchildren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a fun time I had with my Grandson. He just loved the whole day and did not want to leave. We went round and round all the areas. The penguins were the high light for me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are pleased to hear you and your grandson had fun at our aquarium!! Our cheeky penguins are very popular and entertaining in front of a crowd. We hope to see you both back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“K T's- A Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Special experience for whole family and right on the Auckland waterfront. Hands on participation with the sea creatures and fun activities for the kids. A+++

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the interaction with our animals and displays. We hope you got to experience our unique animal feeds and talks which happen daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Must see when in Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very informative and an interactive one of a kind aquariam. The King Penguins are a treat to watch (especially if you are lucky and see some babies/chicks too) a good way to start or end your day in Auckland and to take in the Mission Bay sights.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEALIFE Aquaruim. Glad you enjoyed our penguins – our King chick was hatched at the end of January and will be in his ‘baby clothes’ for a wee while to come yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spectacular and involving - a really imaginative use of space under the road. The underwater tunnel is a real highlight. THe penguins are thriving!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTSLA, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your response regarding your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton’s SEA LIFE Aquarium. . We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous penguins, and the underwater tunnel, which was the vision of Kelly Tarlton, still one of our highlights after 29 years. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing