We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the whole family”

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.99*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
Ranked #18 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
244 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

There are plenty to great features at Kelly Tarlton's that make it worth a visit - the penguins, the tunnel with fish/sharks, the chance to touch some sea stars, etc., test your ability to withstand freezing cold water, and much, much more. There is a quiz of sorts the kids can complete as they go through which makes it even more fun for them and gives the adults more time to read the displays in detail. So worthwhile, in our opinion, that we bought annual passes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    739
    382
    111
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss this !!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great aquarium - not only is there a moving travelway with sharks, stingrays and other fish swimming on both sides and overhead, but there is a great "hands-on" penguin section. Younger kids will enjoy the crabs, sea-horses, and other sea-life displays, and for those who are interested in Captain Scott's expedition to Antarctica, there is a a walk through exhibition of how these pioneers lived in this unforgiving climate and many artifacts from the original expedition. If small children get bored there is also a play area - we couldn't get our 2 year old grandson off the motor bike!! A cafeteria caters for adults and children. It's not cheap, but when you visit you will understand the amount of on-going maintenance needed, and your ticket allows you to stay all day if you want to. A regular bus service from the city stops right outside the aquarium.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kelly Tarleton's”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The first time we visited Kelly Tarleton's we were a little bit disappointed, but at that time they were doing some renovations. We went again recently and were so impressed by the upgrade. The penguin enclosure is just so much better and so delightful - we could have watched them for hours. It is a great place to visit if you are in Auckland.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bit of a rip off”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sorry, but this place just feels old and tired and small and therefore a real rip-off compared to other things to do in Auckland. Sydney Aquarium is 100x better. Go to the Auckland Zoo instead!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fascinating”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would suggest any visitors to Auckland go and see Kelly Tarlton's underwater world, especially for children, go early as sometimes there are queues. This place would be first on the list " to see" in Auckland

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank b_sharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing