We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.18*
and up
Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium Entry Ticket
More Info
$33.67*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #19 of 271 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
Lexington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had read wonderful things about this aquarium and were terribly disappointed. The cost to get in was exorbitant, and the exhibits did not justify it. I realize we are spoiled by our local aquarium (the Shedd in Chicago), but this truly felt small and unkempt. We were through the whole place in less than an hour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MuseoffireAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    764
    403
    113
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable penguins”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were there with a huge number of screaming children and babies (does a 1 yr old enjoy penguins?). Nonetheless, the penguins were cute, the sharks menacing, the giant squid disturbing, and the exhibits informative. Had a good time.

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The free bus comes only at half past the hour (9:30, 10:30, etc). The bus only seats 21 persons and if there are more waiting, the rest misses out.

You can get 10% discount booking online or use the discount coupons in the visitor’s guide,
I thought the penguins were the highlight. If you never get the chance to visit Antarctica, this is the closest you will visit the Emperor’s Penguins.

The underwater walkway was also very nice. Close ups of sharks, sting rays, etc.
The café was built with windows against the sea front so you can see the waves pounding the walls. Quite a sight.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“So much to see.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Could have spent all day there. Loads to see and learn. Great family day out. Wished the cafe was better.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a very nice place and very well done. Located on Tamaki drive between Mission Bay and Okahu Bay, it is very easy to get there. Although I went there quite a long time ago, I remember having a very good time with my friends. Not just for kids but older people can have a great time there. Seeing the sharks above us was the best.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank skampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing