We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Auckland Zoo

Auckland Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.39*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #11 of 268 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Auckland Zoo is home to the largest collection of native and exotic animals in New Zealand, set in 17 hectares of lush parkland and just minutes from central Auckland. Auckland Zoo is open every day (except Christmas Day) from 9.30am.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The zoo put British zoos to shame. You would need a complete day to get around the zoo. Food outlets were good, and at certain times you could see the animals getting fed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank susanconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,523
    868
    209
    55
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Average visit this time round.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

A fair part of the zoo was under construction / animals hiding / unavailable to public when we went. Park was very clean. The cafe areas and playground were incredibly over crowded! Photographer at the entrance didn't know how to take a photo and was too pushy in making us buy an expensive, overpriced and poorly taken photo pack. Would recommend taking your own lunch etc. unless you have a sack of gold with you. Gift shop over priced. Seeing the tiger and elephant made my day. Average experience for me but my little sister was stoked so ill leave it at that.

Helpful?
Thank CappyRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
242 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A First Class Zoo Experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a fabulous time we had at the zoo! Hadn't been for many years and it has been upgraded with beautiful enclosures. There are different animal encounters every day which are well worth experiencing eg. Orangutan's are 12.30 on Tuesday, Saturday, Sunday and public holidays. Lots of open areas for a picnic plus a small playground, food outlets are quite expensive! We were there for just over 3 hrs and saw everything. The zoo also has a nice gift shop. The kiwi exhibit is really great, so much better than the one we saw a few weeks ago at Rainbow Springs! An enjoyable day abeit a little expensive at $25 per adult however we were proud to see these animals so well looked after and housed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank funfoodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamunanagar, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This has to be one of my best experiences.The Cheetas were on the walk around the zoo and there were feeding sessions too. It was very nice visit. Takes a complete day to tour it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivekgolecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids love it”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This zoo is a great way to while away a few hours with the family. The zoo has done a great job upgrading over the last couple of years, so if you haven't been recently you won't recognise it. Some favourites of my son are the alligators, the meerkat tunnels, the sea lion under water viewing and captain the talking cockatoo. We decided to get a annual pass again and have already made back the cost.
The summer activities of the trump cards has been a great way to engage him on reading on top of the animals. Also the fly buy prize bus has been a treat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank shane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Zoo also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing