We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Zealand Maritime Museum

New Zealand Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.05*
and up
Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruise
Ranked #15 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With the largest maritime collection in New Zealand, the Maritime Museum tells the remarkable stories of epic voyages and journeys that have shaped New Zealand's history and identity. The Museum's exhibitions explore the history and stories of the Polynesian people's migration across the Pacific, European exploration, immigration and trade, NZ's modern yachting success and our relationship with the Sea.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wonderful experience to visit this museum so full of history including Maori,Immigrants and modern stories.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    313
    54
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent range of exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This museum covers several floors of several buildings, with exhibits dealing with America's Cup competitions, the history of ship construction, sailing and fishing in New Zealand, and other focused aspects of New Zealand's maritime past. A very knowledgeable volunteer guide added to the experience for part of the tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The amount of money and effort they have invested into this attraction is amazing, well worth your time and money.

Nice collection of NZ history.

Helpful?
Thank Stephan Magda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“boating history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very large display of boats and all things maritime. Im not particularly a fan - but had a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank raphaello343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

To be honest I only went in here as I thought I won't be back in Auckland in the near future so thought I'd better give it a visit, even though ships and sailing mean nothing to me. There is an interesting section on migration to New Zealand and the Yachting section on the America's cup was more interesting than I expected. There are some technical exhibits (I found the history of navigation unique - sailing the globe in the pre-GPS era) as well as interesting artefacts. Spent a little over an hour here, but could easily have been here longer. Funny that, especially as I wasn't really planning on visiting!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank --D--UK--70--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Zealand Maritime Museum also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to New Zealand Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing