We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Excellent facilities - free internet and office facilities - good food and service. Altogether a pleasant stay - close to sights and harbour.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coraliejarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    646
    255
    91
    58
See reviews for
220
824
115
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

I stayed at the Stamford Plaza with my partner in November 2008. His parents bought us a package for the night as a "thank you" for helping them with their business. On first entering the hotel I noticed the foyer and reception were very new and modern. The staff were friendly enough but seemed to think something about us was funny and they all had smirks on their faces when talking to us. Kinda rude. When we got to the room it was nice and clean but a little outdated. The bathroom was really nice and fully stocked except for toothpaste which we didn't think to bring with us.

Part of the deal was that we got Stamford Plaza robes with our names embroided on them. They spelled my name wrong even though my partners parents had spelled it out to them more than once. A little while after arriving we had a masseuse come to our room to give us personal massages. The massage was wonderful but she kept asking questions the whole time and I really didn't feel like talking, I just wanted to relax. That night we had dinner delivered to our room which was very yummy. Part of the deal though said that the meal would be delivered by "your own personal chef" but it was delivered by a waiter who could speak hardly any english.

We were given a few free movies to watch and a small bowl of popcorn which was a nice thought. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. In the morning we ordered room service for breakfast. We both ordered pancakes and bacon. It arrived quite some time later, wrapped in tin foil. The pancakes were luke warm and soggy and the bacon was extremely over cooked. It also cost a small fortune (it wasn't part of the package deal).

All in all it was okay but nothing spectacular. I wouldn't say it's a 5 star hotel, maybe a 3 star. My partners parents paid a lot for this and for what they paid it wasn't really worth it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Check in and all the yada yada stuff was fine. The room is a disgrace. Try and get between the bed and the desk and you'll bang your leg.The bed needs replacing pretty badly. This is no "heavenly bed" or similar.
Drinks at the bar was an abomination. The bar staff could not get our drinks right. The main restaurant wasn't pen for dinner ( probably a good idea it wasn't) so we ate at a little North African place up the road across from the Crowne Plaza. Don't eat there. The foods rubbish.
Breakfast in the morning at the Stamford was the straw that broke the camels back. Old stale cereal. A disood with limited fresh fruit and too much canned fruit. Tea that tasted like dish water. Dirty juice glasses. All in all,an abomination.
Oh, the Internet stopped working during the night- wonderful for business.
This hotel cannot in any way promote itself as a classy establishment. The local Best Western or Holiday Inn could do better. Give it a miss and try the Duxton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northshoregirls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We had a fab weekend and the staff were very freindly. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northshoregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the hotel for a well earned night off. From the welcome to wave goodbye - the experience was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. My wife was pampred - which is just how I like her to be treated. The meal was in keeping with the very high standard of the room and the service.

It was excellent - and we will be back !

John & Barbara

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Stayed here for our last two days in Auckland.

The hotel could not be faulted really, though the bathroom appeared as though it needed work carrying out on it. There were signs of cob webs and dirt in places that obviously the cleaners don't bother in looking at. As well as on arrival in our vehicle being asked to pay 30 dollar for valet car parking (bit dear I thought). Apart from that no complaints.

The breakfast was complimentary for us and this was exemplorary hot and cold foods available. Also, there was evening food available at what seemed a good price.

Not a lot more to say, than it is close to the harbour and downtown city so perfect location. Go for it.

Regards

Wayne and Doi Graham

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We hope to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza after a 12 night cruise from Sydney - Auckland, however on arriving at the Hotel it was extremely busy and the reception was bursting, although this may have been due to the number of people staying on after the cruise. The Hotel however was very nice, although in my view just a four star. It is well located for the Sky Tower, shopping and Harbour drinking and Restaurant area. Auckland is a very nice place to stay, visit and spend some time and the Stamford Plaza would be a very nice locatio to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Stamford Plaza Auckland team looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing