We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good location, modern hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane
1 review
“Great service, good location, modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

For my first trip to Auckland we stayed at the Stamford and we were really looked after. The staff are great, the rooms were nice and the hotel is in a great location - walking distance to the ferries, good restaurants etc. I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and colleagues and I will definately stay there when I return to Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We hope to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    623
    248
    85
    57
See reviews for
208
787
111
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Bought 4 months in advance for only 120NZD per night, and after my currency exchange, it was a bargain. Location is good, central to everything, especially ferry terminal and westfield. Staff are all friendly and helpful, which you do expect for this type of hotel. Across the road there is some Japanese Night club or something, and there was a big street brawl at around 3am, like 100 people all starting these fights. Interesting to watch, but I guess it can be annoying to some. Staff seem to be on the front desk 24/7, always someone around, and it seems very safe, safer than my own house even! Room was comfy, TV is nothing fancy, but they are going to upgrade them soon. To much my surprise, they even make your bed and clean your room everyday for free, and for the price I paid, I couldn't have been happier or felt safer. Will be back when I come to Auckland again providing the price is good again. It would be great if they offered free wireless internet though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOCAT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

I recently stayed two nights at the Stamford Plaza in Auckland and would stay there again. The location is brilliant. The check-in staff are fantastic. The buffet breakfast is heavenly. The Valet Parking staff are great too, really good senses of humour. The rooms themselves are OK, pretty standard for this type of hotel. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

After having stayed at a Stamford in North Ryde, Australia, I vowed I would never ever stay at a Stamford hotel again. The service at the North Ryde branch was appealing.

But.. this hotel was good!
The room was not perfectly cleaned, but after we called reception there was immediately someone dispatched to correct the situation. The room (I believe a standard room) was big enough, not oversized with view on the main road. There was no noise from the outside.

Breakfast was good, not a very wide range but definitely enough to please most guests. We also had dinner one night at the Japanese restaurant.. really nice and fun experience.

The location is perfect for city visitors. In the heart of the CBD and shopping district you are only minutes away from everything

Overall service was good and ambiance was personal

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and whilst on this occasion we did not meet your expectations we hope to meet if not exceed your expectations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We booked this hotel as a 'secret deal' on lastminute.com.au
Well worth the secret!

Fantastic 5 star hotel, beautiful rooms and decor, staff we very helpful.
Could not fault it.
King size bed and an assortment of pillows!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weens9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Could only spend one night, with the friendliness and service I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We had a 2 night stay at the Stamford and it was one of the more enjoyable I have had at any hotel for a long time.

Breakfast was included in our rate but even if it wasn't I would recommend spoiling yourself.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best regards
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing