We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has all you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights before flying out of NZ after touring the North Island and this hotel offered all we needed. Well appointed with friendly professional staff, a great pool/spa/sauna/gym, free wi-fi in rooms, a choice of eating options and very convenient central location for the shops and harbour.
Also only 1 block walk to the Airbus Express which is the most economical way to the airport.
If any complaint, it would be the pillows were terrible but in fairness we didn't enquire about replacements.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Wilks101

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience and value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Knights restaurant in the hotel served the best eye fillet I have ever had and that's saying something. Melted in your mouth and the extra flavours from the oxtail croquettes and the little pot of jus - lovely. That was good because the table we were sitting at next to the wall had a lovely view of the dents/scratches and dirt not a good look !!!.
Room was comfortable but was very stark, no amviance at all, could have been any room any where at all.
Staff were lovely and friendly. I would happily stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear New Zealand Gypsy

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience in Knights on Albert.
I also value your feedback as we always strive for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was one of our favorite stays in Auckland--the hotel is very upscale (go checkout the gym and pool/jacuzzi area--it's awesome!), staff is very professional (we ran into a bit of trouble because for some reason our Priceline prepayment wasn't showing up in their system and they wanted us to repay the full amount at checkout--anyway, the lady at the front desk was very professional & efficient about resolving the matter). It's just blocks away from the harbour. One annoying thing that all the 5-stars suffer from is the lack of complimentary (or at least reasonable) parking rate--Valet, with no other alternatives offered, is $30NZD/night. WiFi is free in the lobby & charged in the rooms (supposedly, though our wifi from the lobby code seemed to work ok in the room as well). Rooms are very well maintained & this place definitely deserves its 5-star rating!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear JackSparrow22

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked 3 nights for a weekend away. It was in a great location in Central Auckland, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and transport. Check-in was easy and staff were polite and helpful. Room was pleasant with a comfortable king sized bed. Main downside was the desk position at the end of the bed which we consistently hit out thigh on when walking around the bed. Bathroom was large and water pressure strong. Not sure about housekeeping as the room wasn't made up till late afternoon (& the door was then left wide open) after the first night and when we went out after the second night the room still hadn't been made up at 3pm. We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment. Find it odd that they charge $9/hr or $24.95/24hrs for wifi in your room or give you a handful of vouchers for free 30min sessions in the foyer. A pleasant stay but nothing outstanding. We'd stay again if we got a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear TravellerToowoomba

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in Mar 2014 and was very happy with the well appointed room, cleanliness, and helpful service by the staff. Great location downtown. Taxis always available at the door.
Room service food was prompt and enjoyable.

Room Tip: My room was on the 8th floor and very quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms or outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Linda H

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel for business. Happy with the facilities, service provided and general ambience of the hotel (free wireless internet much appreciated). Room service dinner prompt and reasonable value as these things go.
Only complaint is the décor seemed very tired, and not befitting of a five star hotel.....having the shower tap secured by black electrical tape is not really a good look at all!
Having said that, hotel is very well located and suited me fine for a business visit, so would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Andrew W

Many thanks for your review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I would appreciate if you could send me your stay details to allow me to further look into your bathroom feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel many times, the staff are superb - right from the moment of arrival - luggage collected and delivered to room - very helpful check in and front desk people.
The hotel is in a great location, close to the Harbour and near shopping areas.
Were given upgrade to a suite on our last stay !
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear sjpsound,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for continually choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased our team recognized your loyalty and issued an upgrade to a suite.

Our staff looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $145 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing