We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great downtown location, well appointed hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Plaza Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great downtown location, well appointed hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in Mar 2014 and was very happy with the well appointed room, cleanliness, and helpful service by the staff. Great location downtown. Taxis always available at the door.
Room service food was prompt and enjoyable.

Room Tip: My room was on the 8th floor and very quiet with no noise from adjoining rooms or outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Linda H

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    623
    247
    85
    56
See reviews for
207
785
111
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balwyn, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel for business. Happy with the facilities, service provided and general ambience of the hotel (free wireless internet much appreciated). Room service dinner prompt and reasonable value as these things go.
Only complaint is the décor seemed very tired, and not befitting of a five star hotel.....having the shower tap secured by black electrical tape is not really a good look at all!
Having said that, hotel is very well located and suited me fine for a business visit, so would stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Andrew W

Many thanks for your review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I would appreciate if you could send me your stay details to allow me to further look into your bathroom feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel many times, the staff are superb - right from the moment of arrival - luggage collected and delivered to room - very helpful check in and front desk people.
The hotel is in a great location, close to the Harbour and near shopping areas.
Were given upgrade to a suite on our last stay !
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear sjpsound,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and for continually choosing to stay at Stamford Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased our team recognized your loyalty and issued an upgrade to a suite.

Our staff looks forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fantastic linen, location, view and service. I would come and stay again over any of the other accommodation I have stayed at in Auckland.

Great Location and so very clean, Staff friendly and helpful. Keep up the great work...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Usedomka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Usedomka,

Thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience and our staff look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Arrived in a hire car and found the concierge boys in overdrive. Excellent service from the start. Lovely welcome at the check-in and bags taken up to room efficiently and quickly. Already in a good mood as Booking.com had confirmed my reservation, made in November, as reduced according to their best price policy. Off to the room which was reasonable in size but not as spacious as expected. Too much brown in public areas and in room. Everything looking as if it needed a face-lift. View of central Aukland from our room was depressing to say the least. Open lift next door was a moving eyesore going up and down for half of our view. ! Derelict buildings and eyesores everywhere.....had previously seen Christchurch and that at least had had an earthquake to justify the mess of downtown.
To the bar! Drinks and service very good and evening meal with friends was very good with a good choice and no over filled plates,a common NZ practice we found annoying. Night time sleep & waking next morning was ruined by the noise of someone next door watching a porn channel on the TV. ( It was either that or his lady was voluble in extremis!)
Breakfast was fine and our maitre from the evening was in attendance, no problems there.
Our car was always ready when asked for and I cannot fault the front desk, concierge or any staff for their help was always offered with charm and enthusiasm. Overall a reasonable hotel, perhaps needing some TLC.....it can't be blamed for the location.
We were only in Aukland for flights in and out and visiting friends so didn't see much of this acclaimed city. However what I did see was disappointing, the dockside and central area where the hotel is located was scruffy, depressing and seemed just as down at heel as any other world city centre.

Room Tip: Hard to say...all seemed similar views at the front. Avoid the back of the hotel...walked there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Willewalker

Thank you for your detailed review, enjoyable reading, Auckland has had some improvements over the years however there is still a lot more room for growth.

I am pleased your found our staff attentive offering a service with charm and enthusiasm.

Agree on your comments about a well needed facelift and as such Stamford Plaza Auckland has started refurbishment of our rooms.

I would be delighted to hear your feedback about our refurbished rooms and would ask for you to contact me directly on your next visit to Auckland.

I trust you had a safe trip back home to UK.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The internet description describes the hotel as "worldclass luxury". Unfortunately I couldn't disagree more and nothing could be further from the truth.

The only positives worth noting is the location and the fact that I only paid a corporate rate of 198 per night.

Frankly I am amazed at some of the over the top positive reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. I wonder if we were staying at the same hotel?

Anyways the truth is that the rooms, although adequate in size, are seriously drab, dull and outdated. The carpets are old and everything from the hallways to the rooms has this brownish/ yellow look.

The bathroom is unappealing and the lighting is dreadful. Worst of all was the soap and shampoo and conditioner in the small bottles. Never in my years of travelling have I experienced such a disgusting smell/scent. I smelled like old bubblegum all day.

Finally the breakfast buffet was below average with poor selection and chaotic service.

All in all a poor experience so be aware of what you pay for your stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear MattCopenhagen,

Many thanks for your review.

I am pleased you found the location of our hotel advantageous, however I am disappointed to read you were less then satisfied with the room condition. We strive to improve our product and as such I can confirm Stamford Plaza Auckland has a refurbishment programme underway.

We have also made improvements to our buffet area since your last visit and look forward to your further feedback as it only through guest opinions that we can deliver the best service and offering.

I would be delighted to accommodate you in a refurbished room on your next booking and would request you contact me directly so I can look after you.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This our 3 stay. Will continue to use it. Good points are location, sevice, pool and workout facility. Low points are some rooms are tired but clean, the bar closes at midnight, and the buffet is fairly standard.

However the good definately outweighs the negative. Ask fir a renovated room

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admir_Mullaaliu, Assistant General Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Gregght,

Many thanks for your review and for choosing Stamford Plaza Auckland.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Admir Mullaaliu | Assistant General Manager
admirmullaaliu@spak.stamford.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Property: Stamford Plaza Auckland
Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. Please note that construction on the city rail link project is underway on Albert St. Stamford Plaza Auckland remains accessible to vehicles and pedestrians, all day, every day. Albert St remains open in both directions throughout the CRL upgrade. However it is limited to one way in each direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing